General Directories and LinksOpen Access JournalsSubscription Journals and PublicationsBooks on Teaching and Learning
OrganizationsConferencesListservs and Bulletin Boards
Instructional Materials and Teaching ModulesOnline Collections and Open Textbook ResourcesTeaching and Learning BlogsVideos, Webinars, Podcasts, and AppsVirtual Libraries
Access and Retention in Higher EducationActive-Learning and Project-Based LearningAdaptive LearningClassroom Response SystemsFaculty DevelopmentGlobal EducationHigher Education (Policy and Administration)Instructional DesignIntellectual Property and CopyrightNon-Cognitive Variables in LearningVendors of Emerging Technologies
Highlights of Great Resources Pages from TLCsDirectory of TLCs in United States by State (A-G)Directory of TLCs in United States by State (H-M)Directory of TLCs in United States by State (N-P)Directory of TLCs in United States by State (Q-Z)Teaching and Learning Centers in Canada
Intellectual Property (IP) Agreements at USM InstitutionsUSM Resource PagesUSM Teaching and Learning CentersInnovation at USM
Map of State Higher Education Systems
Structure of the LibGuideGuide to Editing the LibGuide: Logging InEditing the LibGuide: Editing Rich Text BoxesEditing the LibGuide: Editing Links and Lists BoxesAdding Books to a “Books from the Catalog” boxResizing Page ColumnsReordering/Moving PagesReordering Boxes Within and Between PagesAdding a PageReusing a PageAdding a Box to a PageUploading Images to the LibGuideEditing Page InformationEditing Box InformationChanging the LibGuide's Style
This is the "Structure of the LibGuide" page of the "Resources on Teaching and Learning in Higher Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Links to resources on teaching and learning in Higher Education, including journals, publications, conferences, directories, and links to other resource pages.
Last Updated: Jul 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ischoool.umd.edu/teachandlearn Print Guide RSS Updates

Structure of the LibGuide Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Structure of the LibGuide

Structure of the LibGuide:

1.      The LibGuide is basically a content management system (CMS) for a website that is organized by a database. It has been built in Drupal (an open-source CMS) specifically for easily-creating reference guides for libraries. It is structured in a way that you can add new pages, represented by tabs, and also group sub-pages under the main tabs.

2.      On the home page on the right hand side is a table of contents for the entire site. This will automatically update to reflect any new tabs or pages that are added or deleted. Each main tab also has its own table of contents with links to subpages.

Description of Sections and SubsectionsThis is a brief “tour” of the LibGuide.

Journals and Publications – Journals and Publications related to teaching and learning in higher education.

  • General Directories and Links-Online directories to journals and publications. Many of these directories were developed by teaching and learning centers and professional organizations.
  • Open Access Journals-Open access journals are those that are published online and do not require a paid subscription to access. Some journals do require that you sign up for a free account to access these journals.
  • Subscription Journals and Publications-Journals and publications that required a paid subscription to access. UMCP Libraries has institutional access to some of these journals – you can check to see whether you have access to these journals by going to the UMD Libraries Research Port (Research Port is the first option under Research Tools on the UMD Libraries homepage, http://www.lib.umd.edu/).
  • Books on Teaching and LearningThis page has profiles of general books on teaching and learning in higher education and on the scholarship of teaching and learning (SoTL), but other book profiles can be found in other sections of the LibGuide (see box titled “More Teaching and Learning Books”).
    • Book profiles include thumbnails of the book’s cover, publication information, whether the book is held by a USM library, call numbers, and an abstract or description. The highlighted title of the book links to the book’s record in WorldCat, where you can find out which libraries hold that book in their collections.
    • Some books are available in EBook form through the UMD Libraries—in these cases, the link from the book profile will take you to UMD’s Central Authentication Service (CAS) login screen where you can access the book with your UMD login and password.  There are also books that are available for free online in ebook and PDF form—just click on the book’s title in the profile to access.
    • This page also has a box titled “Bibliographies, Databases, and Recommended Reading Pages.” This includes links to online bibliographies and recommended reading lists compiled by teaching and learning centers and organizations.
    • “SoTL Resources and Links” has online directories and bibliographies on the scholarship of teaching and learning (SoTL).
    • The “Online Publications” box has other online book- and article-length resources on teaching and learning.

 

Publications of Data and Reports—Information and links to data on higher education.

  • Data on Higher Education—These are links to data sets and reports on higher education data on the websites of government agencies (such as the U.S. Department of Education) and of non-profit and professional organizations such as the American Association of University Professors or the College Board.
  • Higher Education Data by State—This section is organized alphabetically by state and contains links to higher education data in selected states. Reports on Students, Reports on Higher Education Faculty, and Other Reports contain links to selected data on these populations

 

Organizations, Conferences, and Listservs

  • Organizations—This sub-page contains an alphabetical list to national organizations and centers related to higher education.
  • Conferences—This section has information on regional, national, and international conferences in higher education.
    • Conference Directories and Listservs—Links to directories of annual teaching and learning conferences and to pages listing upcoming conferences.
    • Annual Conferences on Teaching and Learning in Higher Education—This is only a partial list of annual conferences on teaching and learning in higher education.
  • Listservs and Bulletin Boards
    • Listservs—These are links to a number of listservs about topics in higher education. By signing up for the listserv, you can receive daily emails or email digests from that listserv. It is a great way of keeping abreast of events, conferences, and publications in the T & L community.
    • Online Communities and Bulletin Boards—These are links to online communities where you can engage in discussions of T & L topics. Most require users to set up a login and password to access content.

 

Open Educational ResourcesResources useful to faculty and teaching assistants for the higher education classroom.

  • Instructional Materials and Teaching Modules
    • Online Instructional Materials—Websites where you can download free exercises, tests, visualizations, and other teaching tools.
    • Online Teaching Modules—Links to free online courses as well as teaching modules instructing faculty on how to design an online course.
    • Self-study Resources—Online exercises that can help students to master science and math concepts.
  • Online Collections and Open Textbook Resources
    • Open Textbooks—Directories and collections of online open access textbooks.
    • E-Book Collections—Online repositories of digital books and e-books. These books are not necessarily textbooks.
    • Open Textbook and EBook Resources and Guides—Guidelines to using e-books and online textbooks.
    • Pinterest Pages—Collections of teaching resources on Pinterest, a social media application
  • Online/Hybrid and Instructional Technology Resources—See separate section on this topic.
  • Teaching and Learning Blogs
    • Blogs—Blogs about teaching and learning, most maintained by college and university teaching and learning centers.
    • Resources about Blogs—How-to guides and software (WordPress) for creating your own blogs.
  • Videos, Webinars, Podcasts, and Apps—Links to online videos, webinars, podcasts, and apps dealing with teaching and learning topics as well as resources on creating your own T & L multimedia presentations.
    • Videos and Webinars—Online collections of videos and regularly-scheduled webinars (online conferences or seminars) produced and/or sponsored by teaching and learning centers on T & L topics.
    • Podcasts—This section provides links to podcasts (online audio files on a certain topic) about teaching and learning subjects as well as technical resources on creating your own podcasts.
    • How-to Books on Webinars and Podcasts—Books that cover the technical aspects and requirements of producing webinars and podcasts.
  • Virtual Libraries—These are online collections of born-digital and digitized books, articles, photographs, videos, sound recordings, archival documents, and manuscripts, many of which can be useful in designing traditional, hybrid, and online courses.

 

Online/Hybrid and Instructional Technology Resources—This section of the LibGuide deals primarily with resources that can help faculty develop online and hybrid courses. Keep in mind that other resources elsewhere on the LibGuide that are helpful for online/hybrid course development (such as podcasts and webinars on the flipped classroom and online course development in the “Videos, Webinars, Podcasts, and Apps” section or the “Online Teaching Modules” sub-section).

  • Glossaries and Dictionaries—Online dictionaries of technology terms.
  • Journals about Online Learning Topics—This links back to the Journals and Publications section of the LibGuide.
  • Websites and Resources—Many college and university teaching and learning centers offer excellent resource guides for faculty seeking to design an online/hybrid course.
  • Books on Online/Hybrid Teaching and Learning—Has profiles on books covering online, hybrid, and distance learning.
  • Bibliographies on Online Learning—Bibliographies about online learning.

 

Grants and Funding Opportunities—This is a partial list of organizations, agencies, and foundations that offer grants and funding for higher education.

 

Topical Literature Reviews/Resources—Resources and bibliography on special topics in higher education:

 

Teaching and Learning CentersThis is a directory of teaching and learning centers and faculty development pages/resources at colleges and universities throughout the United States and Canada. Although every effort has been made to create a comprehensive directory, some teaching and learning centers may be absent from this list. The main page has “Directories/Links Pages for Teaching and Learning Centers” (directories of TLCs on other websites) and “Articles on Teaching and Learning Centers.”

 The following subsections include links to teaching and learning centers arranged alphabetically by institution and by state. If a state has a teaching and learning center at a system-level, it is listed at the top of that state’s section:

 

USM System Resources—Resources and links specific to the University System of Maryland and its member institutions:

  • Intellectual Property (IP) Agreements at USM Institutions—Links and summaries about individual intellectual property agreements at USM institutions. Faculty members should keep IP agreements in mind when developing courseware for online/hybrid courses, as different institutions have varying policies on who “owns” courseware.
  • USM Resource Pages—Links to resource pages on USM-member institution-websites as well as links to the websites of member institutions.

 

State Higher Education Systems—A “snapshot” summary of state higher education systems around the country.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip