General Directories and LinksOpen Access JournalsSubscription Journals and PublicationsBooks on Teaching and Learning
OrganizationsConferencesListservs and Bulletin Boards
Instructional Materials and Teaching ModulesOnline Collections and Open Textbook ResourcesTeaching and Learning BlogsVideos, Webinars, Podcasts, and AppsVirtual Libraries
Access and Retention in Higher EducationActive-Learning and Project-Based LearningAdaptive LearningClassroom Response SystemsFaculty DevelopmentGlobal EducationHigher Education (Policy and Administration)Instructional DesignIntellectual Property and CopyrightNon-Cognitive Variables in LearningVendors of Emerging Technologies
Highlights of Great Resources Pages from TLCsDirectory of TLCs in United States by State (A-G)Directory of TLCs in United States by State (H-M)Directory of TLCs in United States by State (N-P)Directory of TLCs in United States by State (Q-Z)Teaching and Learning Centers in Canada
Intellectual Property (IP) Agreements at USM InstitutionsUSM Resource PagesUSM Teaching and Learning CentersInnovation at USM
Map of State Higher Education Systems
Structure of the LibGuideGuide to Editing the LibGuide: Logging InEditing the LibGuide: Editing Rich Text BoxesEditing the LibGuide: Editing Links and Lists BoxesAdding Books to a “Books from the Catalog” boxResizing Page ColumnsReordering/Moving PagesReordering Boxes Within and Between PagesAdding a PageReusing a PageAdding a Box to a PageUploading Images to the LibGuideEditing Page InformationEditing Box InformationChanging the LibGuide's Style
This is the "Innovation at USM" page of the "Resources on Teaching and Learning in Higher Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Links to resources on teaching and learning in Higher Education, including journals, publications, conferences, directories, and links to other resource pages.
Last Updated: Jul 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ischoool.umd.edu/teachandlearn Print Guide RSS Updates

Innovation at USM Print Page
  Search: 
 

Articles in the Press

Links to programs at USM institutions

  • 24-Hour PlaySlam, Department of Theatre Arts, College of Fine Arts and Communication, Towson University
    Theatre students from Morgan State University and Towson University collaborated to produce a 24-Hour PlaySlam on September 27th and 28th. 50 undergraduate students collaborated as playwrights, directors, actors, designers, and technicians to make theatre happen in one day. The plays were written overnight Friday into Saturday in Towson’s Center for the Arts and produced at Morgan State’s Turpin-Lamb Theatre on Saturday evening.
  • Academy for Innovation and Entrepreneurship, University of Maryland at College Park
    The Academy is a signature initiative to infuse the University with a culture of innovation and entrepreneurship across all colleges, building on the institution's excellence as a research university. Exciting new initiatives are coming soon, but in the meantime, there are dozens of exciting entrepreneurial programs, events and competitions across campus year-round. We encourage everyone to learn more about such programs as Innovation Fridays, UMD Startup Boot Camp, Cupid's Cup, Social Value Symposium, Do Good Challenge, UMD Business Model Competition, ACC Clean Energy Challenge, and the annual Invention of the Year. Details on all of these programs—and more—can be found on this website.
  • AgriScience Education Summer Program, Department of Agriculture, UMES
    Under-represented youth exposed to careers in agricultural sciences through a five-week summer course
  • Annie's Project: Risk Management Education for Farm and Ranch Women, University of Maryland Agricultural Extension Service, School of Agricultural and Natural Sciences, UMES
    With this increase in farm women in farming and agriculture related fields, the University of Maryland Extension adapted a curriculum from the MidWest Annie’s Project, which is a farm management course for women involving the five areas of risk management (production, marketing, human resources, legal, financial).
  • Apocrypha Mod Design, Simulation and Digital Entertainment (Video Game Design), University of Baltimore
    In a game design course during the fall 2012 semester at the Universities of Shady Grove, Brian Doyle, lecturer, led 28 students in UB's B.S. in Simulation and Digital Entertainment program in devising a mod—a video game content modification—called Apocrypha for the 3-D role-playing game The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, which weaves a story and takes place in a world marked by magic, war, epic battles and dragons.
  • Asian Arts and Culture Center, College of Fine Arts and Communication, Towson University
    The Asian Arts & Culture Center opened its doors in 1971 in the College of Fine Arts and Communication at Towson University when local business owner Frank Roberts bequeathed his collection of Chinese and Japanese ivory carvings to the university. Since its introduction in 1971 the collection has grown to house nearly 1,000 works of art including ivory, wood, and jade carvings, paintings and prints, and ceramics and textiles from all over Asia. In addition to objects of antiquity, the collection features a selection of contemporary work. Highlights from the permanent collection are regularly on display in the gallery. Today we continue to serve the university and the Baltimore-Washington communities as a museum, an informational resource center, and a performing arts center.
  • B-HIPP Program, Department of Social Work, Salisbury University
    B-HIPP aims to support the efforts primary care providers (PCPs), including pediatricians, family physicians, nurse practitioners and physician’s assistants, in assessing and managing mental health concerns in their patients from infancy through the transition to young-adulthood. B-HIPP is supported by funding from the Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene and Maryland State Department of Education and is conducted through a partnership among the University of Maryland School of Medicine/Department of Psychiatry, the Johns Hopkins University School of Public Health, and Salisbury University Social Work Department.
  • Baltimore Business Review, College of Business and Economics, Towson University
    This marks the fourth year the College of Business and Economics has collaborated with the CFA Society of Baltimore to produce this valuable resource. The journal has gained attention for its unique collaboration and contributions to the business environment in Maryland.
  • Baltimore Excellence in STEM Teaching (BEST), Towson University Center for STEM Excellence, Fisher College of Science and Mathematics
    Funded by a grant from the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), Towson University’s Baltimore Excellence in STEM Teaching (BEST) Project aims to improve high school and middle school science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) instruction throughout the Baltimore metropolitan area. The BEST Project focuses on improving the content knowledge and pedagogical effectiveness of its participating teachers. A 6-week summer research experience at a local university or research institution will be followed by academic year professional development workshops on topics such as implementing inquiry, incorporating technology, and differentiated instruction strategies.
  • BEACON (Business Economic and Community Outreach Network), Perdue School of Business, Salisbury University
    The Business Economic and Community Outreach Network, of the Franklin P. Perdue School of Business at Salisbury University, offers business, economic, workforce, and community development consulting and assistance services to a variety of organizations, including businesses, government agencies, and non-profit community-based organizations. Initiatives sponsored by BEACON include GrayShore (aging and elder issues), Bienvenidos a Delmarva, ShoreTrends (business and policy development for Eastern Shore), and ShoreEnergy (energy needs).
  • Bill and Helen Murray Jazz Residency, Department of Music, College of Fine Arts and Communication, Towson University
    Each semester, the Bill and Helen Murray Jazz Residency program brings internationally recognized artists to our campus who coach and perform with Towson students.
  • Black Male Initiative, Bowie State University
    Describes lecture series at Bowie State University in 2013, part of the campus' Black Male Initiative.
  • BWTech@UMBC: University Research Park
    First university research park in the state of Maryland.
  • Center for Creative Writing, Frostburg State University
    CCW is located off-campus in downtown Frostburg. Among its innovative programs include a One-Act Play Festival/competition, an Indie Lit festival for independent writers, workshops, and publications (such as the Backbone Mountain Review).
  • Center for Leadership in Education, Department of Instructional Leadership and Professional Development, College of Education, Towson University
    The Center for Leadership in Education at Towson University (CLE) will be the premier resource for quality comprehensive leadership and organizational development support for schools, school systems, and education-related organizations throughout the Mid-Atlantic region. Using a combination of formal degree programs; residential and drive-in institutes; web-based and distance-learning opportunities; and ongoing field support, coaching, and technical assistance, the mission of the Center for Leadership in Education is to develop leadership capacity in individuals, schools, and school systems in Maryland and surrounding regions, empowering them to exceed rigorous student achievement standards and stakeholder expectations.
  • Center for Women in Technology, College of Engineering and Information Technology, UMBC
    Supports women in engineering and IT with a range of programs including the CWIT Scholars (awards for undergrads), the Bits to Bytes Summer Program for high school girls, and K-12 outreach.
  • Children's Literature Center, Frostburg State University
    Hosts programs in children's literature including Summer Author Institute and annual Children's Literature Festival. Has an Adopt-A-School program where Center staff visit and read to students and also arrange visits from children's authors and illustrators.
  • Cybersecurity Academy, UMBC Training Centers
    UMBC Training Centers launched the Cybersecurity Academy in 2010, building on 10 years of experience in providing IT and cyber training to industry and government. The Cybersecurity Academy provides highly focused skills training and practical experience to address the cyber workforce training needs of the military, the intelligence community, federal civilian agencies, and the commercial sector in the Mid-Atlantic region.
  • Cybersecurity Initiatives, BWTech@UMBC
    Cybersecurity initiatives at UMBC's business park include the Cyber Incubator, Northrup Grumman's Cync Program, CyberHive, and CyberMap.
  • Debate Team, Forensics Program, Department of Mass Communication and Communication Studies, Towson University
    In October at the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, Towson debaters were unstoppable, winning the competition and bringing home the coveted West Point Sabre, a traveling trophy bestowed on tournament champions since 1967. This spring, the team finished in the top 16 in the two most elite national competitions—the Cross Examination Debate Association (CEDA) National Tournament and the National Debate Tournament.
  • Dentistry Today Program for Undergraduates, University of Maryland School of Dentistry, University of Maryland Baltimore
    Program exposes undergraduates to the field of dentistry
  • Department of Engineering and Aviation Science, School of Business, UMES
    The department offers a Bachelor of Science degree in Engineering with specialization in Aerospace, Computer, Electrical, or Mechanical. The department also offers a Bachelor of Science program in Aviation Sciences with concentration in Aviation Electronics, Aviation Management, Aviation Software, or Professional Pilot. The laboratories in the department are equipped with state-of-the-art instrumentations, developmental hardware, and software tools for teaching and research. The curricula and undergraduate research activities in the department combine strength of engineering fundamentals with hands on and laboratory experiences to reinforce the principles and concepts used in the classroom and to apply the knowledge learned to solve real-world problems in an environment that emphasizes leadership and teamwork.
  • Development of Robo Raven III Solar-Powered Robot, Maryland Robotics Center, Institute for Systems Research, A. James Clark School of Engineering, University of Maryland College Park
    University of Maryland engineering professors S.K. Gupta and Hugh Bruck and their students in the Maryland Robotics Center have developed and demonstrated a new version of the Robo Raven micro air vehicle (MAV) that incorporates solar panels in its wings.
  • Dietetic Internship Program, Department of Human Ecology, UMES
    Students intern in area hospitals and health centers to learn about diabetes management and care
  • Doctoral Program in Educational Leadership (ORLD), Department of Social Sciences, UMES
    The University of Maryland Eastern Shore (UMES) initiated a Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Organizational Leadership in Fall 2002. The Ph.D. program in Organizational Leadership offered strands in Academics, Government Agencies and Health and Human Services. Beginning in Fall 2007, the Organizational Leadership "Specialization" replaced these strands.
  • Dual Degree Doctoral Program in Gerontology, Graduate Programs in Life Sciences, UMB and UMBC
    Interdisciplinary program in gerentology with concentrations in epidemiology, policy, and social, cultural, and behavioral sciences
  • ECI Program, Dept. of Philosophy, Salisbury University
    In the ECI Program, students meet with inmates in a book discussion group at a nearby medium-security prison. There they discuss thinkers such as Socrates and Sartre, and themes such as love, freedom, and justice. In the process, students learn unexpected lessons about themselves and the world beyond the classroom.
  • Edward H. Nabb Research Center for Delmarva History and Culture, Department of History
    The mission of the Nabb Research Center is to cultivate and sustain the advancement of scholarly research through collecting, preserving, disseminating and providing access to records and artifacts which illustrate the rich historical and cultural heritage of the greater Delmarva region. The Center is open to all scholars, historians and genealogists of all skill levels with an interest in the region of the Eastern Shore of Delaware, Maryland, and Virginia.
  • Entrepreneurship Fellows Program at UB, Merrick School of Business, University of Baltimore
    The Entrepreneurship Fellows Program at UB offers a new way to educate the next generation of entrepreneurs. The program balances classroom theory with periods of practical, hands-on experience prior to graduation. Through the Fellows Program, students are able to engage in an alternative academic study—gaining practical experience by working side-by-side with expert entrepreneurs and faculty. Students can compete for seed money to start small businesses. Students in the program complete apprenticeship with gazelles (rapidly growing new ventures). “Gazelles” were identified by M.I.T. small business researcher David Birch as a those high-growth firms that generate most of the new jobs in an economy. George Mason professor Zoltan Acs has argued that “gazelles” must double their revenues every four years to qualify, and have at least 20 employees.
  • Ethnobotany Program, Frostburg State University
    The Ethnobotany program is one of two undergraduate programs in the country which explores the role of plants in human culture. Frostburg is home to the Appalachian Center for Ethnobotanical Studies, an inter-institutional center for the study of cultivation of sustainable medicinal plants in Appalachia. ACES is also home to the Frostburg Grows Project, where a 5-acre greenhouse/shadehouse has been built on reclaimed mining land for local sustainable food production.
  • Fashion Study Abroad and Tour Program, Department of Human Ecology, UMES
    Students travel to London and Paris to learn about the fashion industry
  • Frostburg Sustaining Campus & Community Dialogue Series, Department of Communication Studies, Frostburg State University
    Maryland Judiciary's MACRO Project (Media and Conflict Resolution Office) is sponsoring a two-year program to help improve campus and community relations in Frostburg. Aspects of the project include mediated conflict resolution workshops for members of the community, improving race relations in the community, an "Adopt a Student" project, and managing off-campus housing.
  • Hawk Institute for Space Sciences, Maryland Hawk Project, Rural Development Center, UMES
    Students and faculty at UMES have the opportunity to work on space sciences projects through Hawk and NASA's launch facility at Wallops Island
  • Human-Computer Interaction Laboratory, Department of Computer Science, University of Maryland College Park
    The Human-Computer Interaction lab has a long, rich history of transforming the experience people have with new technologies. We believe it is critical to understand how the needs and dreams of people can be reflected in our future technologies. To this end, the HCIL develops advanced user interfaces and design methodology. Our primary activities include collaborative research, publication and the sponsorship of open houses, workshops and symposiums.
  • Hussman Center for Adults with Autism, College of Health Professions, Towson University
    The Hussman Center for Adults with Autism brings together Towson students and young adults on the autism spectrum to create a mutually-rewarding learning environment. Social, educational and fitness programs support student learning and adults with autism as they develop the tools needed to lead meaningful lives as engaged members of their communities. New programs addressing work and life skills are being developed, allowing students at Towson to work with adults on the autism spectrum.
  • INNoVATE Program, UMBC
    The INNoVATE™ program provides applied training for post-doctoral fellows, research scientists, and other professionals who want to start life science-based companies. The program was launched in 2010 with a 3-year funding grant from the National Science Foundation (NSF). For the 2013 INNoVATE class, the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC), will offer the program at The Universities at Shady Grove's campus in Montgomery County, Maryland. The program is intended for scientists interested in commercializing biomedical technology. Partners in the program are the BioHealth Innovation, Inc. and the Montgomery County Department of Economic Development.
  • Integrated Arts Major, Yale Gordon College of Arts and Science, University of Baltimore
    In this Bachelor of Arts program, you’ll learn about the cultural, political and economic aspects of the arts while concentrating on the art that interests you most: visual art, music, theater, dance, creative writing, filmmaking and more. When you graduate, you’ll be prepared to work for businesses, nonprofit organizations and government agencies that deal in, represent or interact with artists and the arts—perhaps in addition to managing your own freelance artistic career.
  • Internatonal Business Initiative, Bowie State University
    International initiative organized by Bowie State's College of Business.
  • Internship Program, Political Science, Frostburg State University
    Founded in 1971, it is the first of its kind in the state of Maryland. Students gain full-time internship experience in federal and state government.
  • Jones Falls Research Project, Environmental Sustainability and Human Ecology Program, Yale Gordon College of Arts and Science, University of Baltimore
    The Jones Falls is a unique green space for the city's citizens and a wildlife corridor in heavily urbanized central Baltimore; it's also the main tributary to the Inner Harbor, one of the city's main tourism attractions. The Jones falls is a tributary to the Chesapeake Bay ecosystem, impacting the bay's greater watershed; this is especially important in light of a new approach to bay restoration that focuses on individual tributaries.Students at University of Baltimore have participated in the project through undergraduate research and classwork, and the Jones Falls serves as an excellent introduction to the real challenges of modern urban society. Students in UB's Environmental Sustainability and Human Ecology major can design and conduct their own studies on the Jones Falls.
  • Jurisprudence Major, Yale Gordon College of Arts and Science, University of Baltimore
    While our Bachelor of Arts program is designed as pre-law education that combines philosophy, government, history, literature, communication and other fields in the humanities and social sciences, it is not strictly for those students who plan to continue their educations in law school. Many of our alumni have gone on to law schools to earn their J.D.s and become lawyers, but others have gone to graduate school to become public servants, mediators, negotiators, entrepreneurs, managers and business leaders.
  • Life Sciences Incubator Program, BWTech@UMBC
    The Life Sciences Incubator@bwtech (LSI) is a nationally recognized life-science and technology business incubation program that is home to over 40 early-stage bioscience and technology companies. Clients enjoy access to affordable office and wet lab space, flexible lease arrangements, and access to resources and networking opportunities to help their businesses succeed. Since its inception in 1989, the LSI has graduated over 50 companies, including Celsis In Vitro Technologies, Next Breath, LLC, Profectus Biosciences, Inc., Amethyst Technologies, LLC, Plant Sensory Systems, LLC, and Noxilizer, Inc.
  • Literature/Film Quarterly, Department of English, Salisbury University
    Established in 1973, for the past twenty years Literature Film Quarterly has focused upon problems of adapting and transforming fiction and drama into film. It has also covered film genre, theory, and criticism and has featured interviews with screenwriters (such as Daniel Taradash, Horton Foote, and Joan Tewkesbury) and directors (such as Robert Altman, Robert Wise, Alain Robbe-Grillet, Louis Malle, and others). It circulates coast-to-coast in the United States and Canada and has nearly 200 subscribers in nearly thirty foreign countries beyond North America.
  • MARC U*STAR (Minority Access to Research Careers Undergraduate Student Training in Academic Research)
    Supports minority student preparation for graduate study in biomedical research and behavioral sciences
  • Maryland Clean Energy Technology Incubator (CETI), BWTech@UMBC
    Maryland Clean Energy Technology Incubator@bwtech (CETI) is designed for early-stage companies working with solar power, wind power, biofuels, electric grid, and energy management and storage. CETI has a joint venture with the Maryland Clean Energy Center to encourage statewide networking of clean energy entrepreneurs. CETI is a natural fit with UMBC’s strengths in and support of the environmental sciences and engineering.
  • Meyerhoff Scholars Program, UMBC
    The Meyerhoff Scholars Program has been at the forefront of efforts to increase diversity among future leaders in science, engineering, and related fields. The UMBC Meyerhoff family is now more than 1200 strong, with 800 alumni across the nation and nearly 300 students enrolled in graduate and professional programs. The program has been recognized by the National Science Foundation and The New York Times as a national model.
  • Minor in Animal Behavior, Department of Psychology, Frostburg State University
    Interdisciplinary minor between Psychology and Biology. Students work with FSU's colony of cotton-top tamarin monkeys. Students can design a research project using the tamarins through PSYC 499 - "Psychology Projects"
  • Minority Biomedical Research Support Research Initiative for Scientific Enhancement, Department of Natural Sciences
    Program supports minority students in careers in biomedical research
  • Nonprofit Leadership Program, Coppin State University
    The Bachelor of Science in Nonprofit Leadership is designed to provide graduates with a broad understanding of the role of philanthropy and not-for-profit organizations in addressing major areas of social functioning in society. Students will acquire the requisite skills and perspectives to assume leadership roles in a variety of not-for-profit organizations. Students will acquire competencies in Board Relationships, Agency/Organization Administration, Community Outreach and Program Planning. Students will gain a targeted understanding of the role of nonprofit organizations in extending the promise of democracy beyond the usual scope and capabilities of government to provide services and civic leadership.
  • Opera Theatre Workshop, Frostburg State University
    FSU students have opportunity to participate in annual opera workshop incorporating both music and theatre. Opera students perform opera scenes, full operas, and operettas from all centuries.
  • PACE (Institute for Public Affairs and Civic Engagement), Salisbury University
    PACE is a non-partisan institute committed to undergraduate learning that sparks interest in public affairs and civic engagement, and acts as a resource center for local government, nonprofits and public groups. Distinguished faculty bolster our efforts by teaching courses in diverse disciplines, such as philosophy, political science, biology, history and communication arts. PACE impacts the civic life of the Eastern Shore by hosting public forums, events, leadership training sessions for local citizens, and motivating our students to use their talents and energy to become tomorrow's civic leaders.
  • Panama Program, College of Business and Economics, Towson University
    The business administration program at Quality Leadership University in Panama City offers students the opportunity to pursue a Bachelor of Science degree in business administration with a concentration in management from Towson University while studying in Panama. Students in the program also have the option to transfer to the Towson University campus to complete their degree. The program currently enrolls 167 students.
  • Perdue School of Business Entrepreneurship Competition, Salisbury University
    SU students have a chance to win prize money and business start-up awards to fund a business venture they dream of launching.
  • Perdue Student Investment Fund, Perdue School of Business, Salisbury University
    Starting the Fall 2000 semester, the Perdue School joined a growing number of Business Schools which offer students an opportunity to manage and administer an investment portfolio. The Perdue School of Business at Salisbury University haslong been a strong proponent of experiential learning, and is widely recognized as a leader in the state and region in providing experiential learning opportunities for its students, primarily through its Applied Business Learning Experience (ABLE) program.The student managed investment portfolio is an excellent addition to the range of experiential learning opportunities at the Perdue School.
  • PGA Golf Management Program, School of Business and Hotel Management, UMES
    The PGA Golf Management Program at the University of Maryland Eastern Shore prepares students for a career in the golf industry. The PGA Golf Management Program attracts and educates bright, highly-motivated men and women to service all aspects of this developing industry while working toward membership in the Professional Golfers’ Association of America.
  • Post-BA Certificate Program in Autism Studies, College of Health Professions, Towson University
    The interdisciplinary post-baccalaureate certificate Program in Autism Studies is designed to enhance the knowledge and subsequent practice of professionals working with individuals on the autism spectrum and their families, across the life span. As part of its interdisciplinary focus, emphasis is placed on the ability to work collaboratively with individuals on the autism spectrum, their families, other professionals, and community members in multiple environments to advocate for and provide needed resources. The program requires completion of 16 units of coursework and is designed to accommodate students with at least a baccalaureate degree, who are interested in or already working in the field of autism.
  • Recreation & Parks Management Online Graduate Program, Frostburg State University
    The graduate program in Recreation and Parks Management is graduating its first online cohort of students. Students meet face-to-face once for an orientation and complete ten classes online with their cohort.
  • Richard A. Henson Medical Simulation Center, Henson School of Science and Technology, Salisbury University
    Simulation experiences typically involve high-fidelity medical mannequins which can be remotely controlled to enact planned scenarios demonstrating various clinical events. The simulation experiences are video-taped (typically with multiple cameras) for later review by instructor and students. Alternatively, ‘standardized patients’ (trained actors) may interact with student clinicians and portray various illnesses (e.g. mental health symptoms). The interactions between student and ‘standardized patient’ are filmed for later review and feedback.
  • Salisbury Symphony Orchestra, Salisbury University
    Dedicated to providing the Delmarva Peninsula with live orchestral music, the Salisbury Symphony Orchestra was founded in 1986 by Dr. Thomas Elliot with the support of then Salisbury State College President Thomas Bellavance. Different from other area orchestras, the SSO is a partnership comprised of university students, community members and professionals. Now under the baton of Dr. Jeffrey Schoyen, the orchestra is still supported by Salisbury University and President Janet Dudley-Eshbach. With the help of dedicated volunteer musicians and the financial generosity of Eastern Shore residents, especially Dr. Peter and Judy Jackson, the SSO continues to thrive.The Salisbury Symphony Orchestra is supported by a grant from the Maryland State Arts Council, an agency dedicated to cultivating a vibrant cultural community where the arts thrive.
  • SERF Building (Sustainable Energy Research Facility) & FSU Renewable Energy Center, Frostburg State University
    SERF is a completely off-grid building constructed at Frostburg State University The building houses FSU Renewable Energy Center, where a wide variety of renewable energy research projects and instructional classes are conducted by FSU faculty and students. In addition SERF is a designed as a demonstration and test site for technologies that allow buildings to be separate from the power grid.
  • Simulation and Digital Entertainment (Video Game Design), University of Baltimore
    Video games and simulations are a multibillion-dollar industry, and in our bachelor's program you'll gain the hands-on experience and theoretical knowledge necessary to land an exciting and fulfilling career in the field. Among the concepts studied in the program are basic game concepts and design, the fundamentals of computer programming, 3-D modeling and animation, usability design, the application of simulation to education and other nonentertainment fields, and design of multiplayer games.
  • Small Farm Outreach Initiative, University of Maryland Agricultural Extension Service, School of Agricultural and Natural Sciences, UMES
    The University of Maryland Eastern Shore has formed a partnership with the USDA to implement a Small Farm Outreach Initiative for farmers in Southern Maryland and along the Delmarva Peninsula. The overall goal of the project is to provide ongoing outreach, educational programs, and training opportuni-ties that will help small-scale and underserved farmers and ranchers become successful ag-riculture entrepreneurs as well as ensure they have fair access and participation in USDA farm programs.
  • Soaring with Online Learning Program, Office of Instructional Design & Delivery, Salisbury University
    Soaring with Online Learning (Soaring) is a four week faculty development program to prepare Salisbury University faculty to design, develop and deliver courses in a fully online or hybrid environment through the campus course management system, MyClasses. Faculty apply to the program designating the course they plan to deliver as hybrid or online. Priority is given to courses within one of the following foci: General Education courses, Gatekeeper courses to undergraduate academic programs, High demand courses, and Graduate program courses. The Faculty Development Studio in the Instructional Design Office is also available for faculty to use.
  • Speech, Hearing, and Language Center, Institute for Well Being, Department of Audiology, Towson University
    The Speech, Language and Hearing Center is part of the new Institute for Well-Being. The center has four audiology sound booths for testing that are outfitted with new state-of-the-art equipment. We also have a vestibular evaluation center that includes a rotary chair. There are numerous speech language pathology treatment rooms for small to large groups, and two large Children’s Therapeutic Program rooms with an adjoining outside playground.
  • STEM Club, Coppin State University
    The National Science Foundation (NSF) has awarded the Mathematics and Computer Science department and the Natural Sciences department a $2.5 million Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) grant. The grant enables Coppin to award stipends to STEM majors, offer summer programs for incoming STEM students, and update our STEM courses. Students in the STEM Club/Program also participate in faculty research, attend workshops and conferences, take part in an exposure program with Johns Hopkins University and National Institute of Health, take part in a facilitated tutoring program, and experience technology infusion in courses.
  • Student Affairs Program, Counseling, Higher Education, and Special Education, College of Education, University of Maryland College Park
    Considered to be the best (or among the best) programs in training students affairs/college personnel professionals in the country
  • T. Rowe Price Finance Lab, School of Business and Economics, Towson University
    The T. Rowe Price Finance Lab replicates the functionality of Wall Street’s top trading firms, providing an advanced teaching and research environment. It gives students the ability to value complex securities and investment opportunities in real-time, using the latest numerical algorithms powered by Bloomberg, a global leader in business and financial information.
  • The Associate Competition, School of Business and Economics, Towson University
    The Associate is the College of Business and Economics' signature business case competition adapted from the NBC series The Apprentice. Held each spring, the competition provides students with a memorable, once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to showcase their business acumen, while learning invaluable lessons from successful business leaders. Throughout the course of the competition, area companies pose real-world business cases to eight graduating seniors, who split into two teams.One candidate is let go from the competition on a weekly basis until the final boardroom session when "The Associate" is named. Examples of weekly cases include planning round table events, organizing the consolidation of office space and developing a marketing plan. Participating companies have included Bank of America, McCormick and Company, r2Integrated, Sherwin Williams, Target, and UBS Financial Services.
  • The Debra L. Spunt Clinical Simulation Labs, University of Maryland School of Nursing, University of Maryland Baltimore
    24 labs at Baltimore (18) and USM-Shady Grove (6) that simulate a wide variety of clinical settings for nursing students
  • The Dr. Samuel D. Harris National Museum of Dentistry, University of Maryland School of Dentistry, University of Baltimore
    Museum dedicated to the history of dentistry; Maryland was the first to establish a dental school in 1840
  • Towson University Investment Group, School of Business & Economics
    Students in the Towson University Investment Group manage a portfolio of more than $100,000 of real money for the Towson University Foundation.
  • UMES Department of Human Ecology Fashion Institute of Technology Dual Degree Program Option
    Students earn dual degree with Fashion Institute of Technology in New York
  • University of Danang Partnership (Vietnam), College of Business and Economics
    The College of Business and Economics offers an undergraduate degree for students enrolled at the University of DaNang in Vietnam. Students study two semesters at the University of DaNang, and two at Towson University to receive a degree from both universities. This cross-continental partnership provides a unique academic experience for students from Vietnam to take upper-level courses at Towson. Students are also encouraged to participate in student organizations and other extracurricular activities to enhance their experience while studying at Towson. Since 2006, dozens of students from Vietnam have completed their degrees through both institutions.
  • Urban Studies degree program, Coppin State University
    The Bachelor of Sciences in Urban Studies degree is a multidisciplinary program that draws on Coppin State University’s current course offers and faculty strengths to provide students with a comprehensive generalist approach to the study of urban life. Upon completion of the degree, graduates will be able to approach urban issues from a multidisciplinary perspective, and demonstrate an appreciation for the diverse nature of urban populations and the unique issues they face. The urban studies program will prepare students for entry to mid-level public sector positions, as well as private nonprofit and for profit careers that will utilize urban studies program skills and knowledge. The program will give students an overall understanding of problems and opportunities for change across metropolitan areas. Urban studies majors will be encouraged to perform community service throughout the program, which will culminate in a required comprehensive internship.
  • Virtual Reality Laboratory, Bowie State University
    Special teaching and research lab in the Computer Science Department at Bowie State University.
  • Ward Museum of Wildfowl Art, Salisbury University
    The Ward Museum of Wildfowl Art is nestled next to Schumaker Pond in Salisbury, Maryland. Surrounded by wildlife in the heart of the Atlantic Flyway, the Museum features the world's largest and finest public collection of decorative and antique decoys.
  • Writers on the Shore Series, Department of English, Salisbury University
    For more than thirty years the Writers on the Shore series has showcased emerging and established writers on the Delmarva Peninsula and has provided a venue for spirited and entertaining celebrations of fiction and poetry with an occasional scholarly lecture tailored to a general audience. We have been honored over the years to have presented such writers as Raymond Carver, Robert Bly, Mary Oliver, David Bradley, Robert Stone, Lee K. Abbott, John T. Irwin, Milton R. Stern, Richard Ford, Hershel Parker, Grace Paley, Tama Janowitz, Elizabeth Spires, Madison Smartt Bell, Nyla Ali Khan, Carol Frost, James Welch, Jeffrey Skinner, Sarah Gorham, Richard Peabody, Carlos Fuentes, and John Barth, among many others.
  • Writing Across the Curriculum, Department of English, Salisbury University
    Since 1984, Salisbury University has been committed to assisting our students to improve their writing via writing assignments in every academic course per a national program known as Writing Across the Curriculum. The program has been enhanced through faculty training seminars, the Student Excellence in Writing publication of outstanding student efforts, and support from the Provost, Deans, Department Heads, and the WAC Board.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip