- Almanac of Higher Education, Chronicle of Higher Education
The Chronicle takes the measure of higher education in the 2013-14 Almanac, our annual compendium of data on colleges. This year’s Almanac features many new tables and charts along with familiar ones.
- American Association of University Professors, Resources for Researching Higher Education
- College Board, Trends in Higher Education
A report series that provides the latest information on student financial aid, tuition and other expenses associated with attending college and illustrates trends over time.
CollegeMeasures' 4-year college data tool presents key performance measures for four-year colleges in the United States. Areas of interest include: student success, college efficiency, college productivity and employment outcomes. Our goal is to present data that are informative, thought-provoking and easily understood.
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data
Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Contains publicly-accessible data sets from federal agencies.
Since 1960, Grapevine has published annual compilations of data on state tax support for higher education, including general fund appropriations for universities, colleges, community colleges, and state higher education agencies. Each year’s Grapevine survey has asked states for tax appropriations data for the new fiscal year and for revisions (if any) to data reported in previous years.
- Higher Education Arts Data Services (HEADS) Project
The Higher Education Arts Data Services (HEADS) Project is a joint effort of the National Association of Schools of Music, the National Association of Schools of Art and Design, the National Association of Schools of Theatre, and the National Association of Schools of Dance. The HEADS Project is designed to provide comprehensive management data on the arts in higher education.
The HEADS Project, officially established in 1982, is a statistics system that compiles and reports data from member and non-member institutions. Compiled data is published annually in the form of HEADS Data Summaries. Participation in the project is mandatory for institutional members of the National Association of Schools of Music, the National Association of Schools of Art and Design, the National Association of Schools of Theatre, and the National Association of Schools of Dance.
- Higher Education Data Center, American Federation of Teachers
Find data on any institution in the United States, including hiring trends, salary data, student enrollment and much more. Also, get comparable information about your peer institutions. All data comes directly from the Department of Education, based on information reported annually by the institutions. Get an overview of your state's financial situation as it pertains to higher education, including higher education expenditures, changes in those expenditures over a five-year period, student enrollment trends, information on average incomes in a particular state, and more. View trends in your state's higher education faculty salaries, staffing and enrollments.
- Higher Education Data Dashboards, National Governors Association
- Higher Education Data Sharing Consortium (HEDS)
The Higher Education Data Sharing Consortium serves the needs of private higher education for institutional research, decision support, assessment, and the advancement of liberal learning.
- Higher Education Data System (HES), American Speech-Language-Hearing Association
The Higher Education Data System (HES) is an innovative online system that allows academic programs in communication sciences and disorders (CSD) to directly input their responses to ASHA and Council of Academic Programs in Communication Sciences and Disorders (CAPCSD) surveys and Council on Academic Accreditation in Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology (CAA) applications and annual reports. Some of the survey responses serve to create a program profile for graduate level programs in CSD in ASHA's search engine, EdFind.
The HES was developed by ASHA in collaboration with CAPCSD and CAA to collect and report critical CSD program data in a consistent and usable manner.
- See more at: http://www.asha.org/academic/HES/default/#sthash.agcYZ5EW.dpuf
- Higher Education Data Warehousing Forum (HEDW)
The Higher Education Data Warehousing Forum (HEDW) is a network of higher education colleagues dedicated to promoting the sharing of knowledge and best practices regarding knowledge management in colleges and universities, including building data warehouses, developing institutional reporting strategies, and providing decision support.
The Forum meets once a year and sponsors a series of listservs to promote communication among technical developers and administrators of data access and reporting systems, data custodians, institutional researchers, and consumers of data representing a variety of internal university audiences.
- Higher Education Research and Development (HERD), National Science Foundation
This series provides current and historical trends on the amounts and types of research and development activities at U.S. colleges and universities. Beginning with 2010, data are collected using the Higher Education R&D (HERD) Survey, successor to the Survey of R&D Expenditures at Universities and Colleges.
- Higher Education Research Institute/Cooperative Institute Research Program
The Cooperative Institutional Research Program (CIRP) is a national longitudinal study of the American higher education system. It is regarded as the most comprehensive source of information on college students. It is based at HERI at the University of California Los Angeles.
Established in 1966 at the American Council on Education, the CIRP is now the nation's largest and oldest empirical study of higher education, involving data on some 1,900 institutions, over 15 million students, and more than 300,000 faculty. CIRP surveys have been administered by the Higher Education Research Institute since 1973. The CIRP longitudinal program consists of the Freshman Survey (TFS) , Your First College Year (YFCY) Survey, Diverse Learning Environments Survey (DLE), and the College Senior Survey (CSS).
- Integrated Postsecondary Data System (IPEDS), National Center for Education Statistics
IPEDS is the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System. It is a system of interrelated surveys conducted annually by the U.S. Department’s National Center for Education Statistics (NCES). IPEDS gathers information from every college, university, and technical and vocational institution that participates in the federal student financial aid programs. The Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended, requires that institutions that participate in federal student aid programs report data on enrollments, program completions, graduation rates, faculty and staff, finances, institutional prices, and student financial aid. These data are made available to students and parents through the College Navigator college search Web site and to researchers and others through the IPEDS Data Center.
- Lumina Foundation: A Stronger Nation Through Higher Education Annual Report
Lumina Foundation is an independent, private foundation committed to increasing the proportion of Americans with high-quality degrees, certificates and other credentials to 60 percent by 2025. Lumina’s outcomes-based approach focuses on helping to design and build an accessible, responsive and accountable higher education system while fostering a national sense of urgency for action to achieve Goal 2025. - See more at: http://www.luminafoundation.org/about_us/#sthash.STJEE8OY.dpuf
- National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
- National Information Center for Higher Education Policymaking and Analysis
The mission of the National Information Center for Higher Education Policymaking and Analysis is to provide state policymakers and analysts timely and accurate data and information that are useful in making sound higher education policy decisions.
By navigating the links on the left, you'll find comparative data for states and counties, and useful contextual information.
Thanks to Lumina Foundation for Education, the Ford Foundation, and the National Postsecondary Education Cooperative for supporting the development of this website.
- Open Doors Data: International Students, Enrollment Trends
International student enrollment in U.S. higher education from 1948 to 2013. Data on website of Institute for International Education.
- Regional Factbook for Higher Education in the West, Western Interstate Commission for HIgher Education (WICHE)
The Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education is a regional organization created by the Western Regional Education Compact and adopted in the 1950s by Western states. WICHE was created to facilitate resource sharing among the higher education systems of the West. It implements a number of activities to accomplish its objectives.
- Southern Regional Education Board Education Data
The program publishes the SREB Fact Book on Higher Education, one of the nation's most comprehensive collections of comparative data, and updates it online continually. The Fact Book includes data on the population and economy, enrollment, degrees, student tuition and financial aid, faculty and administrators, revenue and expenditures. Fact Book Bulletins keep policy-makers informed on key issues. In all but the specialized cases of data based on SREB's regional survey (see below), figures for each of the 50 states are available online.
- State Postsecondary Data Systems, State Higher Education Executive Officers Association (SHEEO)
SHEEO’s involvement in data issues dates back to its initial contract with the National Center for Education Statistics in 1976, one of the early examples in which the organization has acted as a liaison between states and the federal government. SHEEO’s longstanding commitment to these issues continues today with a primary focus on state postsecondary data systems with student level data and the role they play in increasing educational attainment as well as the value they provide in our increasingly P-20W conversations.
Regardless of sector, state-level data systems serve two primary purposes: 1) they can monitor the progress of individual students as they move through our educational system; and 2) they can help assess the effectiveness of policies and practices to promote student success. These systems provide valuable feedback to both educators and policy makers seeking to improve educational outcomes.
- World Higher Education Database (WHED) Online
Welcome to World Higher Education Database (WHED) Online the most comprehensive and up-to-date collection of information on higher education systems and institutions worldwide.
WHED Online is published by the International Association of Universities (IAU) in partnership with Palgrave Macmillan. This partnership of high quality publishing standards of Palgrave Macmillan and the global perspective of higher education of the UNESCO-based IAU provides institutions and students alike with an invaluable resource on higher education around the world.