General Directories and LinksOpen Access JournalsSubscription Journals and PublicationsBooks on Teaching and Learning
OrganizationsConferencesListservs and Bulletin Boards
Instructional Materials and Teaching ModulesOnline Collections and Open Textbook ResourcesTeaching and Learning BlogsVideos, Webinars, Podcasts, and AppsVirtual Libraries
Access and Retention in Higher EducationActive-Learning and Project-Based LearningAdaptive LearningClassroom Response SystemsFaculty DevelopmentGlobal EducationHigher Education (Policy and Administration)Instructional DesignIntellectual Property and CopyrightNon-Cognitive Variables in LearningVendors of Emerging Technologies
Highlights of Great Resources Pages from TLCsDirectory of TLCs in United States by State (A-G)Directory of TLCs in United States by State (H-M)Directory of TLCs in United States by State (N-P)Directory of TLCs in United States by State (Q-Z)Teaching and Learning Centers in Canada
Intellectual Property (IP) Agreements at USM InstitutionsUSM Resource PagesUSM Teaching and Learning CentersInnovation at USM
Map of State Higher Education Systems
Structure of the LibGuideGuide to Editing the LibGuide: Logging InEditing the LibGuide: Editing Rich Text BoxesEditing the LibGuide: Editing Links and Lists BoxesAdding Books to a “Books from the Catalog” boxResizing Page ColumnsReordering/Moving PagesReordering Boxes Within and Between PagesAdding a PageReusing a PageAdding a Box to a PageUploading Images to the LibGuideEditing Page InformationEditing Box InformationChanging the LibGuide's Style
This is the "Videos, Webinars, Podcasts, and Apps" page of the "Resources on Teaching and Learning in Higher Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Links to resources on teaching and learning in Higher Education, including journals, publications, conferences, directories, and links to other resource pages.
Last Updated: Jul 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ischoool.umd.edu/teachandlearn Print Guide RSS Updates

Videos, Webinars, Podcasts, and Apps Print Page
  Search: 
 

Videos and Webinars

Apps

See also Classroom Response Systems and Vendors of Emerging Technologies.

  • Edmodo
    Facebook-like app for use in the classroom.
  • EverNote
    Evernote makes it easy to remember things big and small from your everyday life using your computer, phone, tablet and the web.
  • Flubaroo
    An app for grading online assignments.
  • ITunes U (Apple)
    The free iTunes U app gives you access to the world’s largest online catalog of free education content from leading institutions — on your iPad, iPhone, or iPod touch.
  • Jing (TechSmith)
    Try Jing for a free and simple way to start sharing images and short videos of your computer screen. Whether for work, home, or play, Jing gives you the ability to add basic visual elements to your captures and share them fast.
  • Kaizena Voice Comments App (Google)
    At Kaizena, we understand that effective feedback is an extremely important part of the learning process. From book reports to math assignments, students rely on their teachers and peers to guide them in the pursuit of improvement.
  • LeafSnap
    Columbia University, the University of Maryland, and the Smithsonian Institution are working on visual recognition software to help identify species from photographs. Leafsnap is the first in a series of electronic field guides being developed to demonstrate this new technology. This free mobile app helps identify tree species from photographs of their leaves and contains beautiful high-resolution images of their flowers, fruit, petiole, seeds, and bark created by the conservation organization Finding Species. Leafsnap currently includes the trees of the Northeast and will soon grow to cover the trees of the entire continental United States.
  • Mobile Learning Database, American University
    Sponsored by American University's Center for Teaching, Research, and Learning. Reviews mobile apps and software used in the classroom. Developed by AU's Mobile Learning Task Force. A Mobile Learning Task Force (with faculty, CTRL, OIT, the Library, and UCM representatives) worked over the past year with faculty and students to explore mobile learning opportunities at American University. The task force met intensively for two days in June 2013 and mapped out core principles for a mobile learning strategy based on what was learned from colleagues at AU and at other universities.
  • PollEverywhere
    On the surface, Poll Everywhere is a simple application that works well for live audiences using mobile devices like phones. People participate by visiting a fast mobile-friendly web page for your event, sending text messages, or using Twitter. Instructions are displayed on-screen. The poll that is embedded within the presentation or web page will update in real time. Advanced uses include texting comments to a presentation, texting questions to a presenter, web voting, and SMS interactivity in print, radio, and TV.
  • Prezi
    Free presentation development software.
  • Quipper School
    Quipper’s main product – Quipper School – lets teachers and educators set and track assignments, answer students’ questions via IM, push out feedback and grading, and monitor individuals’ learning progress.

    The free cloud software is cross-platform and cross-device, so students can access it on smartphone, tablets or PCs. While Quipper’s educational content (lectures and quizzes) is localized to regional curricula. To date its services have been used by more than 8.5 million learners, and it currently offers more than 7,000 educational courses.
  • ResponseWare (Turning Technologies)
    ResponseWare - the revolutionary response system for mobile devices - turns a participant's web-enabled mobile device into a virtual ResponseCard. ResponseWare allows students and participants to respond using a Wi-Fi or data connection.

    Turning's mobile response solution allows alphanumeric entry via a cell phone style input or a QWERTY style keyboard. ResponseWare allows the user to respond to multiple styles of questions, such as: multiple-choice, alphanumeric, multiple response and even essay questions.
  • Socrative
    Socrative is a smart student response system that empowers teachers to engage their classrooms through a series of educational exercises and games via smartphones, laptops, and tablets.
  • Teacher's Aide
    Take control of attendance and grading with A+ Teacher's Aide (TA). With an interface that is simple and intuitive, TA provides a full set of tools for managing these tedious classroom tasks. The current version 2.0 is a universal app (for the iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch) that runs on iOS 6.0 and higher.
  • Voice Thread, Center for Interactive Teaching, Emory University
    VoiceThread is a free cloud-based application that allows users to group conversations around images, documents, and media. A piece of media such as an image, video or a sound file is presented in a slide-like container. Users viewing this media are able to have a discussion by entering comments via text, webcam video, computer’s microphone, or uploaded audio file, which are then ‘pinned’ to the slide containing the discussions focus.
  • Yugma
    Yugma is the leader in affordable instant web conferencing solutions. Yugma provides Free, Professional, and Enterprise web conferencing software-as-a-service (SaaS) solutions to individuals, small businesses, and large enterprises across a diverse range of industries.

    The core Yugma product technology is a secure, easy-to-use, feature-rich, web conferencing and collaboration software service that allows users to host or attend online meetings using Windows, Mac, or Linux computers at a fraction of the cost of comparable technologies. Yugma technology is scalable from 1 to 1 desktop sharing to conferences for 1000+ attendees.

Other Resources

Podcasts

  • "Best Practices" Podcast series, Center for Teaching and Learning, Georgia Perimeter College
    Podcast series on such topics as active learning, assessment, learning styles, and using Twitter to engage students.
  • 50 Educational Podcasts You Should Check Out, Getting Smart Blog
    Podcasts are a great way to get information when you’re driving in your car, making dinner at home, or waiting at the DMV to renew your license. Podcasts don’t force you to find more time in your day; they give you the opportunity to capitalize on all the dead time that already exists in your day by simply downloading the .mp3 or syncing a podcast to your iTunes account on your smartphone.
  • Academic Podcasting Guide
    Introduction and guide to creating and using podcasts in the higher education classroom. Developed by the Center for Teaching and Learning at Indiana University-Purdue University, Indianapolis.
  • CAT Food for Thought Podcasts, Xavier University (LA)
    Archived podcasts on teaching and learning topics on the blog, CAT Food, of the Center for the Advancement of Teaching at Xavier University in New Orleans, Louisiana.
  • CIRTLCasts/CIRTL Cross-Network Events
    CIRTL (the Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning) is a network devoted to STEM education comprised of 23 institutions, including the University of Maryland. CIRTL sponsors monthly webcasts and online discussions on STEM teaching topics.
  • Creating a Podcast Episode Using Audacity
    Simple guide to creating a podcast using the software Audacity. Composed by Brian Smokler at Vanderbilt University.
  • David Raths, "Can You See Me Now: Collaborating Via Web Conference"
    Appeared in January 2013 issue of Campus Technology (pp. 27-30). Issue may be downloaded for free through signing up for online account.
  • Introduction to the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (iTunes)
    Listen to a podcast of "Introduction to the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning" by Denise Domizi on the University System of Georgia's iTunes site
  • Podcast Alley
    Welcome to the best place to find all information relating to podcasts and podcasting. We are striving to develop the biggest and best directory of podcasts (podcast directory) available on the Internet. Podcasting is a great way for professionals and individuals alike to create audio news files (podcasts) that people can download to their iPods or other portable media devices and listen to when they are away from their computers. Heck, some people even listen to these podcasts directly from their computers, no mp3 player needed!
  • Podcasting (resource page), Center for Teaching, Vanderbilt University
  • Podcasting and Vodcasting: A White Paper by Peter Meng
    An introduction to podcasting (audio webcasting) and vodcasting (video webcasting) written by Peter Meng of the University of Missouri in 2005.
  • Podcasting in Education Resources compiled by Gary S. Stager
    Not since the advent of the World Wide Web has such an easy and exciting communications medium been within reach of the masses. Podcasting offers educators and students remarkable opportunities for their voices to be heard in their local communities or the around world. One could think of podcasting as blogging without writing or as a way for every class to have its own radio station. You have the power to get in on the ground-floor of this new media phenomena and express yourself today!
  • Podcasting Tools: Resources for Podcasting
    This site is a comprehensive podcasting resource detailing everything you need to know about Podcasting

    Podcasting is the process of creating an audio show of some sort available in MP3 format via an RSS 2.0 feed that supports enclosures. Podcasts are designed to include talk shows, tutorials, music, or other audio content.

    Users select the podcasts (audio feeds) they wish to subscribe. Please feel free to contact us to suggest any additional podcasting resources or podcast categories.
  • Podcasts, Center for Teaching, Vanderbilt University
    Archive of podcasts produced by the Center for Teaching covering a wide range of topics on teaching and student learning. Includes interviews with visiting authors and scholars on teaching and learning topics.
  • PoducateMe: Practical Solutions for Podcasting in Education
    The PoducateMe guide details the processes and procedures Micah and Leslie learned, and continue to learn with Craig, in producing CareerChat. Micah has spent more than a year writing the guide and building this Web site in his free time, with the hope that PoducateMe will help educators to explore and implement podcasting in the classroom. The guide is updated as needed, with revision dates and notes compiled on the PoducateMe blog.

    PoducateMe.com is maintained and operated by Micah Ovadia, a digital designer at the University of Cincinnati (UC). Prior to joining UC in 2006, Micah was a Marketing Coordinator for Career Services at Miami University (MU) in Oxford, Ohio; a multimedia developer for Time Warner Cable; and a print and Web designer for The Cincinnati Enquirer/Cincinnati.com.
  • Recommended Podcasting Tools, Brian Smokler Blog
    Brian Smokler, the manager of instructional systems at Vanderbilt’s Peabody College has assembled information on equipment involved in podcasting.
  • Teaching and Learning Matters, University of North Carolina-Charlotte
    This podcast is a Center for Teaching and Learning initiative designed to help you enhance teaching and learning. The Center’s Faculty Fellows host the series. We hope that you will use these podcasts to reflect upon what you are doing in your courses and how you may design certain aspects of your courses to best meet the learning needs of your students. Music by Kevin MacLeod.
  • Two-Minute Teaching Podcasts
    Virginia Tech's Center for Instructional Development and Educational Research (CIDER) has put together several informative podcasts on a number of topics including in-class review, dealing with student cheating, grading rubrics, etc.
  • Virginia Tidewater Consortium for Higher Education Podcasts
 

How-to Books on Webinars and Podcasts

Cover Art
The New Virtual Classroom - Clark, Ruth Colvin; Ann Kwinn
Call Number: UMCP McK Stacks Book and CD rom HF1106 .C57 2007
ISBN: 9780787986520
Publication Date: San Francisco, CA : J. Wiley & Sons, ©2007.
The New Virtual Classroom draws on current research in multimedia learning as well as practitioner experience to show how to effectively harness the power of the virtual classroom. Written by Ruth Clark and Ann Kwinn - both recognized experts in instructional design and workforce learning, this resource includes guidelines, research, and illustrative examples that clearly show how to leverage the powerful instructional features in the new virtual classroom." "A practical resource, the book includes the key guidelines for initiating and maintaining participant engagement in virtual classroom sessions. Specifically, you will learn how to leverage the whiteboard with meaningful visuals, create social presence with audio, and maintain involvement with frequent effective interactions using polling, whiteboard, application sharing, audio and chat facilities. Beyond these fundamentals, you can learn how to manage cognitive load, blend your virtual classroom with other learning events, and adapt problem-based learning designs to virtual classroom technology." "The book also outlines the seven principles of effective virtual classroom design and offers tested techniques for converting face-to-face classroom courses into virtual classroom events as well as creating virtual classroom events from scratch.

Cover Art
Great Webinars - Clay, Cynthia
Call Number: Ebook available from USMAI Libraries
ISBN: 9781118228456
Publication Date: San Francisco : Pfeiffer, 2012.
"Great Webinars provides a structured approach to designing and delivering web workshops that replicate the engagement and interactivity of the classroom experience in a virtual setting. Beginning with an understanding of the audience and objectives, the book demystifies the web conference technology, and shows how to use various platforma to maximize interaction and collaboration. The author has taken a complex topic and provided a step]by-step plan for successfully repurposing training for the virtual environment that are memorable, collaborative, and truly engaging web workshop experiences. Features helpful tips and techniques throughout the book, self assessments, Interactivity Tools, and special sections on Assessing a Virtual Training Programs and delivering webinars to large groups. Topics covered include: addressing poor preparation and content; capturing attentions, creating and using interactive tools effectively; adult learning applications; writing objectives; using chat, poll and raise hand for participant; Having fun with collaborative learning; improving slide design; repurposing errors; icebreakers; conducting peer]to]peer discussions; presenting with PowerPoint slides; using videos; anticipating things that can go wrong; presenting an existing workshop for the first time; scripting your presentation; web platforms; and more"-

Cover Art
Podcasting: Do-It-Yourself Guide - Cochrane, Todd
ISBN: 9780764597787
Publication Date: Extreme Tech series. Indianapolis, IN : Wiley, ©2005.
Listen up! Podcasting, which has taken the online world by storm, involves recording a broadcast and embedding it in an RSS feed so listeners can download it to their PCs, iPods, MP3 players, or even their cell phones
Written by one of the first and most popular podcasters, this cutting-edge book will have readers not only finding, downloading, and listening to podcasts, but creating and broadcasting their own
Shows how to find podcasts to subscribe to; use podcasting software including ipodder, doppler, and more; create a podcast with just a PC or Mac; or build a professional studio for recording podcasts
Addresses copyright issues and music ownership and offers helpful advice on understanding the "geeky stuff": RSS, XML, and Enclosures
Mainstream media, including MSNBC and Time magazine, have recently started advertising on podcasts

Cover Art
Podcast Solutions - Geoghegan, Michael W. ; Dan Klass
Call Number: TK5105.887 .G46 2005 EBook available from UMCP Libraries
ISBN: 9781430200543
Publication Date: Berkeley, Calif. : Apress, ©2005.
This book is a shrewd and comprehensive guide to podcasting. From downloading podcasts to producing your own for fun or profit, it covers the entire world of podcasting with insight, humor, and the unmatched wisdom of experience.

Cover Art
The Synchronous Trainer's Survival Guide - Hofmann, Jennifer
Call Number: UMCP Mck Stacks LB1027.47 .H64 2004
ISBN: 9780787969431
Publication Date: San Francisco : Jossey-Bass, ©2004
The Synchronous Trainer's Survival Guide is a hands-on resource for enhancing your real-time e-learning sessions. Written by Jennifer Hofmann, a synchronous training leader, it is the first and only book focusing solely on this emerging training method. If you're new to synchronous training, everything you need to know is right here. If you're a seasoned pro the practical tips, tools, and customizable templates in this book will ensure the success of your online training courses, meetings, and events.Chapter 8 includes section on webinars.

Cover Art
Webinar Manifesto - Muller, Treion
ISBN: 9780795333576
Publication Date: New York : RosettaBooks, 2013.
The Webinar Manifesto provides 7 strategies essential to captivate your audience, push the limits of your technology, and transform webinar design and delivery.

Unlike traditional how-to books, this manifesto digs deep into principles and behaviors--not just tactics--required for a revolutionary change of yesterday's ugly webinars

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip