General Directories and LinksOpen Access JournalsSubscription Journals and PublicationsBooks on Teaching and Learning
OrganizationsConferencesListservs and Bulletin Boards
Instructional Materials and Teaching ModulesOnline Collections and Open Textbook ResourcesTeaching and Learning BlogsVideos, Webinars, Podcasts, and AppsVirtual Libraries
Access and Retention in Higher EducationActive-Learning and Project-Based LearningAdaptive LearningClassroom Response SystemsFaculty DevelopmentGlobal EducationHigher Education (Policy and Administration)Instructional DesignIntellectual Property and CopyrightNon-Cognitive Variables in LearningVendors of Emerging Technologies
Highlights of Great Resources Pages from TLCsDirectory of TLCs in United States by State (A-G)Directory of TLCs in United States by State (H-M)Directory of TLCs in United States by State (N-P)Directory of TLCs in United States by State (Q-Z)Teaching and Learning Centers in Canada
Intellectual Property (IP) Agreements at USM InstitutionsUSM Resource PagesUSM Teaching and Learning CentersInnovation at USM
Map of State Higher Education Systems
Structure of the LibGuideGuide to Editing the LibGuide: Logging InEditing the LibGuide: Editing Rich Text BoxesEditing the LibGuide: Editing Links and Lists BoxesAdding Books to a “Books from the Catalog” boxResizing Page ColumnsReordering/Moving PagesReordering Boxes Within and Between PagesAdding a PageReusing a PageAdding a Box to a PageUploading Images to the LibGuideEditing Page InformationEditing Box InformationChanging the LibGuide's Style
This is the "Vendors of Emerging Technologies" page of the "Resources on Teaching and Learning in Higher Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Links to resources on teaching and learning in Higher Education, including journals, publications, conferences, directories, and links to other resource pages.
Last Updated: Jul 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ischoool.umd.edu/teachandlearn Print Guide RSS Updates

Vendors of Emerging Technologies Print Page
  Search: 
 

Vendors and Providers of Higher Education Teaching & Learning Tools & Services

  • Academic Impressions (AI)
    Academic Impressions (AI) serves higher education professionals by providing educational products and services that help institutions tackle key, strategic challenges.

    Each year we serve thousands of colleges and universities through webcasts, conferences, and on-campus workshops. We also produce three electronic news publications under the title of “Higher Ed Impact” and various other print publications (monographs, research reports, etc.).

    Blending and Online Learning is one of the areas of expertise of AI.
  • Adobe Connect for Webinars
    Popular software for use in producing webinars.
  • Advanced Distributed Learning (ADL)
    The vision of the ADL Initiative is to provide access to the highest quality learning and performance aiding that can be tailored to individual needs, and delivered cost effectively at the right time and at the right place.

    The ADL Initiative has laboratories in two locations: Alexandria, VA and Orlando, FL. These Collaborative Laboratories (Co-Labs) provide the opportunity to prototype and test the latest learning technologies and innovations for the development and delivery of ADL technologies for the DoD. Research and prototyping at the two Co-Labs is primarily focused on various efforts to enhance the next-generation learning environment for the next-generation learner under the umbrella of a comprehensive Training and Learning Architecture.
  • Audacity (SourceForge)
    A free software that can be used on both Macs and Windows. Can be used for recording and producing podcasts.
  • Audience Response Systems, Turning Technologies
    Founded in 2002, Turning Technologies is headquartered in Youngstown, Ohio. The company began with three goals in mind: to make response technology more affordable, user-friendly, and better documented so that users could easily grasp its benefits. Products include polling solutions (TurningPoint, Triton, RemotePoll, and QuestionPoint), Response Solutions (ResponseWare, ResponseCards), and presenterware.
  • Audio Hijack Pro
    Audio recording and editing software recommended by Micah Ovadia's Poducate Me web guide to podcasting.
  • Big Blue Button
    Open source teleconferencing software for distance learning and videoconferencing. Originally developed by Carleton University (Canada).
  • Business Strategy Game
    In The Business Strategy Game, 1 to 5 class members are assigned to operate an athletic footwear company that produces and markets both branded and private-label footwear and competes head-to-head against footwear companies run by other members of the class. As many as 12 companies can compete in a single industry grouping (class sizes above 50 are typically divided into two or more industry groups). The companies compete in a global market arena, selling in four geographic regions—Europe-Africa, North America, Asia-Pacific, and Latin America.
  • CamStudio Desktop Screen Recorder
    Screencasting tool. CamStudio is able to record all screen and audio activity on your computer and create industry-standard AVI video files and using its built-in SWF Producer can turn those AVIs into lean, mean, bandwidth-friendly Streaming Flash videos (SWFs).
  • CATME Smarter Teamwork
    Instructors use the CATME Smarter Teamwork system because they care about their students’ success. The CATME tools help students succeed in their class-related team experiences and develop one of the skills that employers value most: the ability to work effectively in teams.
  • Diigo
    Much of our information consumption and research, whether at home or at work, has shifted online. We are now spending a big part of our day working with online information - reading and researching related to travel, health, shopping, career, hobbies, news, online learning, smart investing, school papers, work projects, you name it.

    Yet the workflow with information, from browsing, reading, researching, annotating, storing, . organizing, remembering, collaborating, sharing, to connecting dots into knowledge, is still largely ad-hoc and inefficient. Diigo is here to streamline the information workflow and dramatically improve your productivity. Our users include law firms, marketing agencies, consultants, recruiters, web designers, researchers, students, teachers … -- basically anyone who consume lots of online information, either individually or as a team.
  • EverNote
    Evernote makes it easy to remember things big and small from your everyday life using your computer, phone, tablet and the web.
  • ExitTicket Student Response System
    Free classroom response system app for teachers.
  • Flubaroo
    An app for grading online assignments.
  • GIS Cloud Mobile Data Collection
    Collecting field data or completing field surveys has never been easier. With GIS Cloud Mobile Data Collection, all you need is a few taps of the finger and you have media enriched location information available from anywhere. You are simply populating data into a map layer created in GIS Cloud in real time and data can immediately be analyzed, shared and published. It makes accurate, timely information available to the enterprise faster and easier than ever before, increasing productivity and reducing response times.
  • Glogster EDU
    Glogster allows users to create free interactive posters, or Glogs. A "Glog", short for "graphics blog", is an interactive multimedia image.
  • Google Images
  • IClicker (vendor for student response systems)
  • IDEA Education
    A non-profit higher education association in Manhattan, KS, IDEA Education offers several feedback services for higher education institutions including an interface for student rating of instruction and feedback systems for chairs and administrators.
  • Inkscape
    Inkscape is an open-source vector graphics editor similar to Adobe Illustrator, Corel Draw, Freehand, or Xara X. What sets Inkscape apart is its use of Scalable Vector Graphics (SVG), an open XML-based W3C standard, as the native format.
  • ITunes U (Apple)
    The free iTunes U app gives you access to the world’s largest online catalog of free education content from leading institutions — on your iPad, iPhone, or iPod touch.
  • Kaizena Voice Comments App (Google)
    At Kaizena, we understand that effective feedback is an extremely important part of the learning process. From book reports to math assignments, students rely on their teachers and peers to guide them in the pursuit of improvement.
  • Learning Catalytics
    A “bring your own device” student engagement, assessment, and classroom intelligence system.
  • Microsoft Photo Story
    Microsoft Photo Story is a photo presentation program for Windows XP. If you're looking for a similar program for Windows Vista or 7, check out Windows Movie Maker or Windows Live Movie Maker. Can be downloaded for free from website.

    Microsoft Photo Story lets you drag photos onto a window, arrange them as needed, then provide custom narration, transitions, zooms, pans, audio soundtracks and/or custom auto-generated music, then export the result as a WMV file.
  • Nearpod (by Panarea)
    The Nearpod platform enables teachers to use their iPads to manage content on students' iPads, iPhones or iPods. It combines presentation, collaboration, and real-time assessment tools into one integrated solution.
  • Omeka
    Free, open access software for designing online exhibits and managing online collections. Developed by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.
  • Panopto Classroom Video Recording
    Video recording program used at UMCP.
  • Piazza
    Piazza is a free online gathering place where students can come together to ask, answer, and explore under the guidance of their instructors. With Piazza, you can easily answer questions, manage course materials, and track student participation.
  • Podcast Generator
    Free web based PHP podcasting script: publish podcasts uploading audio/video files via a web form and automatically create podcast w3c-compliant feeds including iTunes specific tags. The script also features a comprehensive web administration.
  • Podcast Producer (Apple)
    Podcast Producer, software developed by Apple, runs on the OS X Lion Server.
  • PollEverywhere
    On the surface, Poll Everywhere is a simple application that works well for live audiences using mobile devices like phones. People participate by visiting a fast mobile-friendly web page for your event, sending text messages, or using Twitter. Instructions are displayed on-screen. The poll that is embedded within the presentation or web page will update in real time. Advanced uses include texting comments to a presentation, texting questions to a presenter, web voting, and SMS interactivity in print, radio, and TV.
  • Prezi
    Free presentation development software.
  • ProfCast
    ProfCast is a versatile, powerful, yet very simple to use tool for recording lectures including PowerPoint and/or Keynote slides for creating enhanced podcasts. ProfCast provides a low cost solution for recording and distributing lectures, special events, and presentations as podcasts. For both Windows and Macs.
  • Quipper School
    Quipper’s main product – Quipper School – lets teachers and educators set and track assignments, answer students’ questions via IM, push out feedback and grading, and monitor individuals’ learning progress.

    The free cloud software is cross-platform and cross-device, so students can access it on smartphone, tablets or PCs. While Quipper’s educational content (lectures and quizzes) is localized to regional curricula. To date its services have been used by more than 8.5 million learners, and it currently offers more than 7,000 educational courses.
  • Screencast-O-Matic
    Online free software for creating screencasts.
  • SmarterServices
    SmarterServices was founded in 2002 as DECADE Consulting (Distributed Education Consulting And Development Experts). Our initial mission was to identify common problems in leading distance education programs and then develop low-cost yet robust resources. After doing that for four years, we had crafted a “tool box” of resources that many schools were using to make their distance education programs stronger. In 2006 we changed the name of the company to eLearningToolBox to denote the set of tools that we provided to distance learning leaders. Toward the end of that decade, schools were using our tools across the enterprise and not just in their eLearning programs. At that point we recognized that the name eLearningToolBox was a limiting descriptor. In 2010 we changed the name to SmarterServices.

    Since 2002 over 2.5 mill
  • Soundslides
    Soundslides allows storytellers to concentrate on the story, rather than the application. Created for journalists and other storytellers on deadline, Soundslides is designed to make quick work of slide show production. Soundslides operates in a single window on your Windows or Mac OS X computer, with a straightforward interface that leads you through importing your images and audio. Editing tools are familiar and behave the way you'd expect.
  • SourceForge.net
    SourceForge.net is an online directory of open source software programs that may be downloaded from its website.
  • Storify
    Storify allows you to compile social media from various platforms (e.g., Twitter, YouTube, Instagram, newspapers, blogs) to build a single narrative from the sources.
  • Study Habits
    Created by a Doctor of Education, Study Habits is the first app to utilize motivation and learning strategies to help high school and college students improve memory, boost motivation, and much more! Featured by the Press Telegram, CBS2 & KCAL9 news, and currently the subject of a scientific study at the University of Southern California, Study Habits is a comprehensive tool for academic success!
  • Subtitle Workshop
    Subtitle Workshop is a free application for creating, editing, and converting text-based subtitle files. It supports all the subtitle formats you need and has all the features you would want.
  • Teacher's Aide
    Take control of attendance and grading with A+ Teacher's Aide (TA). With an interface that is simple and intuitive, TA provides a full set of tools for managing these tedious classroom tasks. The current version 2.0 is a universal app (for the iPhone, iPad, and iPod Touch) that runs on iOS 6.0 and higher.
  • VoiceThread
    VoiceThread is a multimedia-enabled virtual discussion board for asynchronous group conversations and collaboration. Users can create or comment on a discussion thread by uploading a text, image, audio and/or video file.
  • VoiceThread
    VoiceThread bridges the gap between real-time discussions and standard video lectures or online presentations. This makes VoiceThread the platform for teaching, learning, training, and collaborating, on-demand.
  • WebEx Meetings
    Produced by Cisco Systems. Web meeting/webinar software.
  • Wiley Learning Institute
    Subscription-based. Wiley Learning Institute advances and supports online professional development for higher education faculty and campus leaders. Through an unlimited access subscription to professional development content, faculty and chairs can attend interactive, live events led by higher education thought leaders; access an entire library of on-demand workshops, and connect with peers, Jossey-Bass authors, and thought leaders through an online community space.

    Through partnerships with college and university systems, campuses, and faculty development centers, Wiley Learning Institute enables faculty to excel in their work, fulfill the education mission of their institutions, and provide additional opportunities to enhance teaching and learning. With a Wiley Learning Institute subscription, get an entire year of unlimited access to on-demand workshops, live workshops, free chapters, and other resources from a rich library of professional development content.
  • Wimba Classroom for HIgher Education
    Wimba Classroom 6.1, cornerstone of the Wimba Collaboration Suite, is a live, virtual classroom environment with robust features that includes audio, video, application sharing and content display. Its pedagogical design and ease-of-use ensures that educators and students engage as if they were meeting face-to-face.

    Capabilities such as support of audio, video, application sharing, and content display are just the starting point of Wimba Classroom. Advanced features such as polling, whiteboarding, presenter on-the-fly, resizable chat areas and participant lists, usage analytics tools, and now both MP3 and MP4 downloads enable further dynamic interaction between students and educators. Recent enhancements include improved video and security capabilities.
  • Windows Movie Maker
  • WordPress
    WordPress.com lets you easily create your own blog and write about the things that interest you. It is a blogging community managed by makers of the open source WordPress software. WordPress.com blogs are free with the option of adding upgrades such as personalized domain names, custom CSS, video storage, and more. In comparison, a self-hosted WordPress.org blog does not have upgrades and must be installed on a web hosting account separately.
  • Yugma
    Yugma is the leader in affordable instant web conferencing solutions. Yugma provides Free, Professional, and Enterprise web conferencing software-as-a-service (SaaS) solutions to individuals, small businesses, and large enterprises across a diverse range of industries.

    The core Yugma product technology is a secure, easy-to-use, feature-rich, web conferencing and collaboration software service that allows users to host or attend online meetings using Windows, Mac, or Linux computers at a fraction of the cost of comparable technologies. Yugma technology is scalable from 1 to 1 desktop sharing to conferences for 1000+ attendees.

Tutorial, Resource, and Help Pages for Specific Software and Apps

  • Audacity, Center for Interactive Teaching, Emory University
    Audacity is a free software that allows users to record and edit audio. In ECIT, Audacity is used to record live audio with a microphone or mixer, edit existing sound files, mix the sounds together, and change the speed or the pitch of a recording.
  • Camtasia, Center for Interactive Teaching, Emory University
    Camtasia Studio is software that enables a user to capture a computer screen and add audio narration. The file can then be exported into a video so that students can view it online.
  • Data Visualization LibGuide, Georgetown University Library
    Comprehensive LibGuide with ideas and instructions on how to visually present data in presentations/graphics.
  • Edudemic: Connecting Education and Technology
    A blog and online resource center for educational technology. Includes reviews of mobile and online teaching apps.
  • Global Education Database
    Online database of resources for teaching and learning, including software, apps, resources for the flipped classroom, etc.
  • Glogster, Center for Interactive Teaching, Emory University
    Glogster allows users to create free interactive posters, or Glogs. A "Glog", short for "graphics blog", is an interactive multimedia image. The user inserts text, images, photos, audio (MP3), videos, special effects and other elements into their Glogs to generate a multimedia online creation. Posters can be shared with other users on the site, embedded in external wikis or blogs, and shared via many social networks such as Facebook and Twitter.
  • How-To Guides, Instructional Technology Services, Texas A & M University
    How-to guides for such applications as Camtasia, iClicker, Respondus, Turnitin, etc.
  • Inkscape: Guide to a Vector Drawing Program by Tavmjong Bah
    Free online guide to using Inkscape, an open-source graphics editor which can be used in developing presentations and visualizing data.
  • Introduction to Google Apps
    A series of blog posts about Google Apps by Amanda Haruch and Carie Saunders of the Doceo Center for Innovation and Learning at the University of Idaho.
  • Mobile Learning Database, American University
    Sponsored by American University's Center for Teaching, Research, and Learning. Reviews mobile apps and software used in the classroom. Developed by AU's Mobile Learning Task Force. A Mobile Learning Task Force (with faculty, CTRL, OIT, the Library, and UCM representatives) worked over the past year with faculty and students to explore mobile learning opportunities at American University. The task force met intensively for two days in June 2013 and mapped out core principles for a mobile learning strategy based on what was learned from colleagues at AU and at other universities.
  • PowerPoint Tutorial-Design Tips
    Produced by the University of Pennsylvania Library.
  • Storify, Center for Interactive Teaching, Emory University
    Storify allows you to compile social media from various platforms (e.g., Twitter, YouTube, Instagram, newspapers, blogs) to build a single narrative from the sources. Users can create their own headlines, text, and incorporate their commentary with social media illustrations and examples.
  • Teaching Tools page, Center for Teaching Excellence, Texas Christian University
    The CTE at Texas Christian University has a very good list of teaching tools and technologies listed by type. Some are available through commercial vendors and other are available free-of-charge.
  • Voice Thread, Center for Interactive Teaching, Emory University
    VoiceThread is a free cloud-based application that allows users to group conversations around images, documents, and media. A piece of media such as an image, video or a sound file is presented in a slide-like container. Users viewing this media are able to have a discussion by entering comments via text, webcam video, computer’s microphone, or uploaded audio file, which are then ‘pinned’ to the slide containing the discussions focus.
  • Wimba Voice Tools, Center for Interactive Teaching, Emory University
    Wimba is a set of online voice recording tools available within Blackboard. To record your voice all you need is a web browser, a Blackboard course, and a microphone connected to your computer.

Articles and Reviews of Emerging Technologies

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip