General Directories and LinksOpen Access JournalsSubscription Journals and PublicationsBooks on Teaching and Learning
OrganizationsConferencesListservs and Bulletin Boards
Instructional Materials and Teaching ModulesOnline Collections and Open Textbook ResourcesTeaching and Learning BlogsVideos, Webinars, Podcasts, and AppsVirtual Libraries
Access and Retention in Higher EducationActive-Learning and Project-Based LearningAdaptive LearningClassroom Response SystemsFaculty DevelopmentGlobal EducationHigher Education (Policy and Administration)Instructional DesignIntellectual Property and CopyrightNon-Cognitive Variables in LearningVendors of Emerging Technologies
Highlights of Great Resources Pages from TLCsDirectory of TLCs in United States by State (A-G)Directory of TLCs in United States by State (H-M)Directory of TLCs in United States by State (N-P)Directory of TLCs in United States by State (Q-Z)Teaching and Learning Centers in Canada
Intellectual Property (IP) Agreements at USM InstitutionsUSM Resource PagesUSM Teaching and Learning CentersInnovation at USM
Map of State Higher Education Systems
Structure of the LibGuideGuide to Editing the LibGuide: Logging InEditing the LibGuide: Editing Rich Text BoxesEditing the LibGuide: Editing Links and Lists BoxesAdding Books to a “Books from the Catalog” boxResizing Page ColumnsReordering/Moving PagesReordering Boxes Within and Between PagesAdding a PageReusing a PageAdding a Box to a PageUploading Images to the LibGuideEditing Page InformationEditing Box InformationChanging the LibGuide's Style
This is the "Classroom Response Systems" page of the "Resources on Teaching and Learning in Higher Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Links to resources on teaching and learning in Higher Education, including journals, publications, conferences, directories, and links to other resource pages.
Last Updated: Jul 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ischoool.umd.edu/teachandlearn Print Guide RSS Updates

Classroom Response Systems Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Bibliography

The links below are to abstracts for articles as well as to open source journal articles and resources. They have been divided into two categories: "how to" resources and more research-oriented journal articles, studies, reports, and bulletins.

Some articles are available online in HTML or PDF form through links provided below. Full text PDFs of other articles are available through the ERIC bibliographic database. You must log into UMD Research Port with your university ID and password in order to access ERIC and other databases.

The journal articles section also include posters presented at CIRTL (Center for the Integration of Research, Learning, and Teaching) Forums.

The Fies article (in bold) provides an overview of the literature on classroom response systems.

HOW-TO ARTICLES AND RESOURCES:

Bruff, Derek. (2009-10). Multiple-Choice Questions You Wouldn't Put on a Test: Promoting Deep Learning Using Clickers. Essays on Teaching Excellence: Towards the Best in the Academy 21 (3). http://podnetwork.org/content/uploads/V21-N3-Bruff.pdf. A publication of the Professional & Organizational Development Network in Higher Education (www.podnetwork.org).

Caldwell JE. 2007. Clickers in the large classroom: Current research and best-practice tips. Life Sciences Education, 6(1):9-20. http://lifescied.org/content/6/1/9.full.pdf

EDUCAUSE Learning Initiative. (2005). Seven things you should know about clickers. Retrieved June 13, 2007. https://net.educause.edu/ir/library/pdf/ELI7002.pdf

Fusch, Daniel. (Sept. 28, 2012). Showcase: Examples of Mobile Technology Used for Teaching and Learning. Higher Ed. Impacthttp://www.academicimpressions.com/news/showcase-examples-mobile-technology-used-teaching-and-learning?qq=14543w221285nA

Hodges. Linda C. (2009-10). Engaging Students, Assessing LearningJust a Click Away. Essays on Teaching Excellence: Towards the Best in the Academy 21 (4). http://podnetwork.org/content/uploads/V21-N4-Hodges.pdf. A publication of the Professional & Organizational Development Network in Higher Education (www.podnetwork.org)

Newbury, P., & Heiner, C. (2012). Ready, Set, React! Getting the most out of Peer Instruction using Clickers. http://ctd.ucsd.edu/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/ReadySetReact_3fold.pdf

Sikorski, Janelle. Engaging Students Using "Clickers" in Large Enrollment Courses. Engaged Teaching and Learning Expo, March 30, 2011. Miami University (Ohio). Center for the Enhancement of Learning, Teaching, and University Assessment (CELTUA). http://www.units.miamioh.edu/celt/events/docs/CELTUA  Expo 2011 Materials/sikorski_clickers.pdf

University of Colorado Science Education Initiative & University of British Columbia Carl Wieman Science Education Initiative. (2008). Clicker resource guide: An instructors guide to the effective use of personal response systems (clickers) in teaching. http://www.cwsei.ubc.ca/resources/files/Clickers_Final_Version_04_08.pdf

PEER-REVIEWED JOURNAL ARTICLES:

Achila, D. (2012). Impacts of peer discussion on student performance on in-class concept questions. TAR Project, Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning (CIRTL). http://www.cirtl.net/node/7542.

Amstelveen, R.H. The effect of "clickers" on attendance in an introductory statistics course: An action research study. Ph.D. thesis, Capella University. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/124891.

Avraamidou, L. (2008). Prospects for the Use of Mobile Technologies in Science Education. AACE Journal, 16(3), 347-365. Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 12, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/24434.

Bachman, L. & Bachman, C. (2011). A study of classroom response system clickers: Increasing student engagement and performance in a large undergraduate lecture class on architectural research. Journal of Interactive Learning Research, 22(1), 5-21. Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/30542.

Bailey, D. (2011). Clickers and active learning strategies: A synergistic approach to evaluate student learning in an advanced level biology class. TAR Project, Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning (CIRTL). http://www.cirtl.net/node/7292.

Bartsch, R.A. & Murphy, W. (2011). Examining the Effects of an Electronic Classroom Response System on Student Engagement and Performance. Journal of Educational Computing Research, 44(1), 25-33. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/51195.

Beatty, Ian. (February 3, 2004). Transforming Student Learning with Classroom Communication Systems. EDUCAUSE Center for Applied Research Bulletin Vol. 2004 Issue 3. https://net.educause.edu/ir/library/pdf/ERB0403.pdf

Beatty, I.D. & Gerace, W.J. (2009). Technology-Enhanced Formative Assessment: A Research-Based Pedagogy for Teaching Science with Classroom Response Technology. Journal of Science Education and Technology, 18(2), 146-162. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/76302.

Ben-David Kolikant, Y., Drane, D., & Calkins, S. (2010). Clickers as catalysts for transformation of both students and teachers. College Teaching, 58(4),127-135.

Bode, M., Drane, D., Ben-David Kolikant, Y., & Schuller, M. (2009). A clicker approach to teaching calculus. Notices of the American Mathematical Society,56(2), 253–256.

Briggs, C. & Keyek-Franssen, D. (Dec. 15, 2010). Clickers and CATs: Using Learner Response Systems for Formative Assessments in the Classroom. EDUCAUSE Review Onlinehttp://www.educause.edu/ero/article/clickers-and-cats-using-learner-response-systems-formative-assessments-classroom

Brinkley, D. (2008). The Effect of Handheld Classroom Response Devices on Graduate Student Interactions. In C. Bonk et al. (Eds.), Proceedings of World Conference on E-Learning in Corporate, Government, Healthcare, and Higher Education 2008 (pp. 278-282). Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/29618.

Bruck, A.D. & Towns, M.H. (2009). Analysis of Classroom Response System Questions via Four Lenses in a General Chemistry Course. Chemistry Education Research and Practice, 10(4), 291-295. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/73487.

Burns, A. (2008). A Practical Approach to Question Design for Classroom Response Systems. In K. McFerrin et al. (Eds.), Proceedings of Society for Information Technology & Teacher Education International Conference 2008 (pp. 3293-3297). Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/27743.

Chasteen S, Pepper R, Pollock S, Perkins K. (2011). But Does It Last? Creating and sustaining a Research-Based Curriculum in Upper-Division Physics. CIRTL Forum 2011: Teaching, Learning and Research: Preparation of the Nation’s Future Faculty. Forum 2011 poster. http://www.cirtl.net/files/ChasteenCIRTL-poster.ppt.pdf

Cheesman, E. & Winograd, G. (2008). Classroom Response Systems: Student Perceptions by Learning Style, Age, and Gender. In K. McFerrin et al. (Eds.), Proceedings of Society for Information Technology & Teacher Education International Conference 2008 (pp. 4056-4062). Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/27888.

Cheesman, E., Winograd, G. & Wehrman, J. (2010). Clickers in Teacher Education: Student Perceptions by Age and Gender. Journal of Technology and Teacher Education, 18(1), 35-55. Chesapeake, VA: SITE. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/29317.

Cheong, C., Bruno, V. & Cheong, F. (2012). Designing a Mobile-app-based Collaborative Learning System. Journal of Information Technology Education: Innovations in Practice, 11(1), 94-119. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/111726.

Clarke, P., Keing, C., Lam, P. & McNaught, C. (2008). Using SMSs to Engage Students in Language Learning. In J. Luca & E. Weippl (Eds.), Proceedings of World Conference on Educational Multimedia, Hypermedia and Telecommunications 2008 (pp. 6132-6141). Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/29232.

Cole, S. (2010). Quit Surfing and Start "Clicking": One Professor's Effort to Combat the Problems of Teaching the U.S. Survey in a Large Lecture Hall. History Teacher, 43(3), 397-410. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/76720.

Commendador, K. & Chi, R. (2009). Integration of Interactive Classroom Respond System for Teaching: Nursing Students Perspectives. In G. Siemens & C. Fulford (Eds.), Proceedings of World Conference on Educational Multimedia, Hypermedia and Telecommunications 2009 (pp. 3552-3557). Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/31993.

Cook, R., & Calkins, S. (2013). More than recall and opinion: Using clickers to promote complex thinking. Journal of Excellence in College Teaching(24)2.

Cotner, S.H., Fall, B.A., Wick, S.M., Walker, J.D. & Baepler, P.M. (2008). Rapid Feedback Assessment Methods: Can We Improve Engagement and Preparation for Exams in Large-Enrollment Courses?. Journal of Science Education and Technology, 17(5), 437-443. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/76377.

Crews, Tena; Ducate, Lara; Rathel, Jeanne Marie; Heid, Karen; & Bishoff, Stephen. Clickers in the Classroom: Transforming Students into Active Learners. EDUCAUSE Center for Applied Research (ECAR) Bulletin 9. Boulder, CO: EDUCAUSE, 2011. https://learningspaces.unl.edu/Educause SRS success.pdf

Dalton, D. (2009). Using Audience Response Systems for Formative Evaluation in a Standards-Based Instructional Model. In G. Siemens & C. Fulford (Eds.), Proceedings of World Conference on Educational Multimedia, Hypermedia and Telecommunications 2009 (pp. 2146-2151). Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/31774.

Davis, S. S. (2003). Observations in classrooms using a network of handheld devices. Journal Of Computer Assisted Learning, 19(3), 298-307. doi:10.1046/j.0266-4909.2003.00031.x. Available from UMD Libraries Research Port through Education Research Complete, http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy-um.researchport.umd.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ehh&AN=10723911&site=ehost-live

Deaton, B. (2013). The Design and Implementation of Campus-wide Mobile Learning Initiative. In . Jan Herrington et al. (Eds.), Proceedings of World Conference on Educational Multimedia, Hypermedia and Telecommunications 2013 (pp. 1946-1951). Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/112235.

Draper, S. W., & Brown, M. I. (2004). Increasing interactivity in lectures using an electronic voting system. Journal of Computer Assisted Learning, 20(2), 81-94. Retrieved from http://www.psy.gla.ac.uk/~steve/ilig/papers/draperbrown.pdf

Dunn, P.K., Richardson, A., McDonald, C. & Oprescu, F. (2012). Instructor Perceptions of Using a Mobile-Phone-Based Free Classroom Response System in First-Year Statistics Undergraduate Courses. International Journal of Mathematical Education in Science and Technology, 43(8), 1041-1056. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/92395.

Emenike, M.E. & Holme, T.A. (2012). Classroom Response Systems Have Not "Crossed the Chasm": Estimating Numbers of Chemistry Faculty Who Use Clickers. Journal of Chemical Education, 89(4), 465-469. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/72920.

Espey, L. & Brindle, S. (2010). Click, Click, WOW! Engaging Students with Student Response Systems. In D. Gibson & B. Dodge (Eds.), Proceedings of Society for Information Technology & Teacher Education International Conference 2010 (pp. 2708-2714). Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 12, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/33779.

Fallon, M. & Forrest, S.L. (2011). High-Tech versus Low-Tech Instructional Strategies: A Comparison of Clickers and Handheld Response Cards. Teaching of Psychology, 38(3), 194-198. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/65306.

Fies, C. & Marshall, J. (2006). Classroom Response Systems: A Review of the Literature. Journal of Science Education and Technology, 15(1), 101-109. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/76325.

———. (2008). The C[superscript 3] Framework: Evaluating Classroom Response System Interactions in University Classrooms. Journal of Science Education and Technology, 17(5), 483-499. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/76374.

Fisher, C.M. (2006). Automated Classroom Response Systems: Implications for Sexuality Education and Research. American Journal of Sexuality Education, 1(4), 23-31. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/72067.

Gok, T. (2011). An Evaluation of Student Response Systems from the Viewpoint of Instructors and Students. Turkish Online Journal of Educational Technology - TOJET, 10(4), 67-83. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/53325.

Gyoba, E. & Nakajima, T. (2009). Effects of Students’ Feedback on Memory Performance for learned contents. In G. Siemens & C. Fulford (Eds.), Proceedings of World Conference on Educational Multimedia, Hypermedia and Telecommunications 2009 (pp. 2809-2814). Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 12, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/31879.

Hamm, S. (2012). Using the iPad & iPhone for Education-- A Report from Abilene Christian University's 4th Year of Mobile Learning Research. In P. Resta (Ed.), Proceedings of Society for Information Technology & Teacher Education International Conference 2012 (pp. 1817-1821). Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/39852.

Heider, K. (2011). Who Says Library Instruction Can't Be Fun? Using Games to Engage and Motivate Students. In M. Koehler & P. Mishra (Eds.), Proceedings of Society for Information Technology & Teacher Education International Conference 2011 (pp. 2129-2134). Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/36619.

Hoppe, H. U., Joiner, R. R., Milrad, M. M., & Sharples, M. M. (2003, September). Guest editorial: Wireless and Mobile Technologies in Education. Journal of Computer Assisted Learning. p. 255. Available from UMD Libraries Research Port through Education Research Complete, http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy-um.researchport.umd.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ehh&AN=10723915&site=ehost-live

Hunter, A., Rulfs, J., Caron, J.M. & Buckholt, M.A. (2010). Using a Classroom Response System for Real-Time Data Display and Analysis in Introductory Biology Labs. Journal of College Science Teaching, 40(2), 19-25. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/54006.

James, M.C., Barbieri, F. & Garcia, P. (2008). What Are They Talking about? Lessons Learned from a Study of Peer Instruction. Astronomy Education Review, 7(1), 37-43. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/105819.

Johnson, T. & Meckelborg, A. (2008). Student Response Systems: A Cure for Lecturalgia?. In J. Luca & E. Weippl (Eds.), Proceedings of World Conference on Educational Multimedia, Hypermedia and Telecommunications 2008 (pp. 4709-4717). Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/29042.

Jones, K.D. Classroom response systems: Using task technology fit to explore impact potential. Ph.D. thesis, The University of Texas at San Antonio. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/118599.

Judson, E. & Sawada, D. (2002). Learning from past and present: Electronic response systems in college lecture halls. Journal of Computers in Mathematics and Science Teaching, 21(2), 167-181.

Ke, C.H., Sun, H.M., Yang, Y.C. & Sun, H.M. (2012). Effects of User and System Characteristics on Perceived Usefulness and Perceived Ease of Use of the Web-Based Classroom Response System. Turkish Online Journal of Educational Technology - TOJET, 11(3), 128-143. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/55771.

Kegolis, J. & Reboli, D. (2006). The Impact of Interactive Polling Technology (TurningPoint) and Teaching Styles on Student Learning in Smaller College Classrooms. In C. Crawford et al. (Eds.), Proceedings of Society for Information Technology & Teacher Education International Conference 2006 (pp. 2295-2300). Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/22413.

Kyei-Blankson, L., Cheesman, E. & Blankson, J. (2009). The value added effect of using clickers in a graduate research methods and statistics course. In I. Gibson et al. (Eds.), Proceedings of Society for Information Technology & Teacher Education International Conference 2009 (pp. 1947-1952). Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/30905.

Lam, S.L., Wong, K., Mohan, J., Xu, D. & Lam, P. (2011). Classroom communication on mobile phones – first experiences with web-based ‘clicker’ system. In Proceedings of ASCILITE - Australian Society for Computers in Learning in Tertiary Education Annual Conference 2011 (pp. 763-777). ascilite. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/43621.

Langman, J. & Fies, C. (2010). Classroom Response System-Mediated Science Learning with English Language Learners. Language and Education, 24(2), 81-99. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/76151.

Lee, H., Feldman, A. & Beatty, I.D. (2012). Factors that Affect Science and Mathematics Teachers' Initial Implementation of Technology-Enhanced Formative Assessment Using a Classroom Response System. Journal of Science Education and Technology, 21(5), 523-539. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/76298.

Levesque, A.A. (2011). Using Clickers to Facilitate Development of Problem-Solving Skills. CBE - Life Sciences Education, 10(4), 406-417. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/111088.

T.C. Liu, J. J., H.Y. Wang, J. J., J.K. Liang, J. J., T.W. Chan, J. J., H.W. Ko, J. J., & J.C., Y. (2003). Wireless and mobile technologies to enhance teaching and learning. Journal Of Computer Assisted Learning, 19(3), 371. doi:10.1046/j.0266-4909.2003.00038.x. Available from UMD Libraries through Education Research Complete, http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy-um.researchport.umd.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ehh&AN=10723904&site=ehost-live

Lucas, A. (2009). Using Peer Instruction and I-Clickers to Enhance Student Participation in Calculus. PRIMUS, 19(3), 219-231. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/65999.

MacArthur, J., Jones, L. & Suits, J. (2011). Faculty Viewpoints on Teaching Large-enrollment Science Courses with Clickers. Journal of Computers in Mathematics and Science Teaching, 30(3), 251-270. Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 12, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/35978.

Martyn, M. (2007). Clickers in the Classroom: An Active Learning Approach pdf. EDUCAUSE Quarterly, 30(2), 71-74. http://net.educause.edu/ir/library/pdf/EQM0729.pdf

McNally, M.R. The effects of classroom response systems on student learning and engagement. Ph.D. thesis, Duquesne University. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/127186.

Nelson, M.L. & Hauck, R.V. (2008). Clicking to Learn: A Case Study of Embedding Radio-Frequency Based Clickers in an Introductory Management Information Systems Course. Journal of Information Systems Education, 19(1), 55-64. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/105759.

Nicol, D.J. & Boyle, J.T. (2003). Peer Instruction versus Class-wide Discussion in Large Classes: A comparison of two interaction methods in the wired classroom. Studies in Higher Education. 28(4): 458-473. (Available via Taylor & Francis Online through UMD Libraries, http://www.tandfonline.com.proxy-um.researchport.umd.edu/doi/abs/10.1080/0307507032000122297).

Norman, C., Pastel, R. & Stockero, S. (2013). Classroom Communication Platforms: The Changing Interactivity of Large Lecture Instruction. In . Jan Herrington et al. (Eds.), Proceedings of World Conference on Educational Multimedia, Hypermedia and Telecommunications 2013 (pp. 1761-1766). Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/112205.

OBrien, K. (2011). Enhancing Student Engagement and Achievement with Audience Response Systems. In T. Bastiaens & M. Ebner (Eds.), Proceedings of World Conference on Educational Multimedia, Hypermedia and Telecommunications 2011 (pp. 3143-3149). Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/38306.

Orr, D., Mrazek, R. & Meadows, J. (2009). Emergent Technologies for Environmental Education: Assessing the Efficacy of the Level of Adoption On-Line Survey. In T. Bastiaens et al. (Eds.), Proceedings of World Conference on E-Learning in Corporate, Government, Healthcare, and Higher Education 2009 (pp. 1026-1035). Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/32590.

Paulo Kushnir, L. (2013). The Clicker Way to an “A”! New Evidence for Increased Student Learning and Engagement: Understanding the Pedagogy behind the Technology. In . Jan Herrington et al. (Eds.), Proceedings of World Conference on Educational Multimedia, Hypermedia and Telecommunications 2013 (pp. 2212-2221). Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/112280.

Pelton, T. & Francis Pelton, L. (2005). Helping students learn with classroom response systems. In C. Crawford et al. (Eds.), Proceedings of Society for Information Technology & Teacher Education International Conference 2005 (pp. 1554-1559). Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/19263.

Penuel, W. R., Roschelle, J., Crawford, V., Shechtman, N. (2004). CATAALYST workshop report: Advancing research on the transformative potential of interactive pedagogies and classroom networks. Journal of Educational Computing Research. 30 (4)):331-348.

Poole, D. (2012). The Impact of Anonymous and Assigned Use of Student Response Systems on Student Achievement. Journal of Interactive Learning Research, 23(2), 101-112. Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/38614.

Powell, S., Straub, C., Rodriguez, J. & VanHorn, B. (2011). Using Clickers in Large College Psychology Classes: Academic Achievement and Perceptions. Journal of Scholarship of Teaching and Learning, 11(4), 1-11. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/54812.

Price, J., Pierson, E. & Light, D. (2011). Using Classroom Assessment to Promote 21st Century Learning in Emerging Market Countries. In S. Barton et al. (Eds.), Proceedings of Global Learn 2011 (pp. 419-429). AACE. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/37206.

Robertson BJ, Baskauf S. Evaluating the Effectiveness of Clickers in a Biology Lab. (2009)TAR Project Poster, Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning (CIRTL.  http://www.cirtl.net/files/Robertson TAR Clicker Poster.pdf

Roschelle, J., Penuel, W. R., & Abrahamson, L. (2004). The Networked Classroom. Educational Leadership, 61(5), 50-54.Available through Academic Search Premier, http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy-um.researchport.umd.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=12182263&site=ehost-live

Roschelle, J. J. (2003). Keynote paper: Unlocking the learning value of wireless mobile devices. Journal Of Computer Assisted Learning, 19(3), 260. doi:10.1046/j.0266-4909.2003.00028.x. Available from UMD Libraries Research Port through Education Research Complete, http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy-um.researchport.umd.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ehh&AN=10723914&site=ehost-live

Rubner, G. (2011). Mobile Phone-Based Classroom Response System. In T. Bastiaens & M. Ebner (Eds.), Proceedings of World Conference on Educational Multimedia, Hypermedia and Telecommunications 2011 (p. 2539). Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/38216.

Salemi, M.K. (2009). Clickenomics: Using a Classroom Response System to Increase Student Engagement in a Large-Enrollment Principles of Economics Course. Journal of Economic Education, 40(4), 385-404. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/103918.

Samuel, J. & Hinson, J. (2009). Just-in-Time Assessments: Tools & Techniques to Promote Student Reflection, Deeper Thinking, and Long-term Knowledge Retention in the Online Classroom. In T. Bastiaens et al. (Eds.), Proceedings of World Conference on E-Learning in Corporate, Government, Healthcare, and Higher Education 2009 (pp. 1911-1916). Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/32741.

Shapiro, A. & Gordon, L. (2013). Classroom Clickers Offer More than Repetition: Converging Evidence for the Testing Effect and Confirmatory Feedback in Clicker-Assisted Learning. Journal of Teaching and Learning with Technology 2 (1)), 15-30. http://jotlt.indiana.edu/article/view/3248

Simelane, S., Mji, A. & Mwembakana, J. (2011). Clicker-technology Teaching Strategy and Students Approaches to Learning in Syncronized Activities. In Proceedings of World Conference on E-Learning in Corporate, Government, Healthcare, and Higher Education 2011 (pp. 1708-1713). Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/38968.

Slykhuis, D. & Krall, R. (2011). Teaching Science with Technology: A decade of research. In M. Koehler & P. Mishra (Eds.), Proceedings of Society for Information Technology & Teacher Education International Conference 2011 (pp. 4142-4151). Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/36982.

Song, L. & Roush, C. (2010). Students’ Perspectives on Using Clickers in Classroom Instruction. In D. Gibson & B. Dodge (Eds.), Proceedings of Society for Information Technology & Teacher Education International Conference 2010 (pp. 2887-2890). Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/33804.

Sullivan, R. (2009). Principles for Constructing Good Clicker Questions: Going beyond Rote Learning and Stimulating Active Engagement with Course Content. Journal of Educational Technology Systems, 37(3), 335-347. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/72159.

Tawa, K., Sheridan, D. & Gardner, L. (2011). A Layered Model for Extensible Mobile PRS - Using Design Science Research Methodology to Improve the use of Mobile Technology. In Proceedings of World Conference on E-Learning in Corporate, Government, Healthcare, and Higher Education 2011 (pp. 1737-1746). Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/38973.

Terrion, J.L. & Aceti, V. (2012). Perceptions of the Effects of Clicker Technology on Student Learning and Engagement: A Study of Freshmen Chemistry Students. Research in Learning Technology, 20(2),. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/54984.

Thinley, P. (2013). Tablets as Disruptive Interactive Learning Innovation in Teaching and Learning Environment. In . Jan Herrington et al. (Eds.), Proceedings of World Conference on Educational Multimedia, Hypermedia and Telecommunications 2013 (pp. 2315-2319). Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/112294.

Towns, M.H. (2010). Crossing the Chasm with Classroom Response Systems. Journal of Chemical Education, 87(12), 1317-1319. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/51855.

Vail-Smith, K., Blumell, C. & Elmore, B. (2006). Using a "Classroom Response System" to Improve Active Student Participation in a Large Sexual Health Class. American Journal of Sexuality Education, 1(2), 47-54. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/72070.

Walgren, J. (2011). Innovative Use of a Classroom Response System during Physics Lab. Physics Teacher, 49(1), 30-32. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/51132.

White, P., Syncox, D. & Alters, B. (2011). Clicking for Grades? Really? Investigating the Use of Clickers for Awarding Grade-Points in Post-Secondary Education. Interactive Learning Environments, 19(5), 551-561. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/50458.

White, P.J.T., Delaney, D.G., Syncox, D., Akerberg, O.A. & Alters, B. (2011). Clicker Implementation Models. Educause Quarterly, 34(4),. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/110778.

Wilcox BR, Hoekstra A. (2011). 42 Digital Devices and Distraction: Student Behavior and Learning Outcomes. CIRTL Forum 2011: Teaching, Learning and Research: Preparation of the Nation’s Future Faculty. Poster: http://www.cirtl.net/files/W_H_CIRTL_Poster_2011_Final_2.pdf

Zingaro, D. (2010). Experience Report: Peer Instruction in Remedial Computer Science. In Proceedings of World Conference on Educational Multimedia, Hypermedia and Telecommunications 2010 (pp. 5030-5035). Chesapeake, VA: AACE. Retrieved February 13, 2014 from http://www.editlib.org/p/36184.

Links to other resources

  • "Clickers"-Agile Learning: Derek Bruff's Blog on Teaching and Technology
    Classroom response systems, or “clickers,” are instructional technologies that enable teachers to rapidly collect and analyze students’ responses to multiple-choice and free-response questions during class. I am interested in helping college and university instructors explore types of questions and activities that take advantage of these technologies to productively transform the way they use class time. To that end, I’ve listed below a number of resources relevant to teaching with classroom response systems.

    General Resources
    Blog Posts
    Book Resources
    Teaching Math with Clickers
  • 'Clickers' as Catalysts for Transformation of Teaching: Two-Minute Teaching Podcast
    Podcast developed by CIDER (Center for Instructional Development and Educational Research) at Virginia Tech University in Blacksburg, VA.
  • An Overview of Clickers and Their Uses (video series)
    The University of California-Merced's Center for Research on Teaching Excellence produced this series of online videos about using clickers in the classroom.
  • Audience Response Systems, Case Study Videos from MERLOT's ELIXR Project
    Case stories from various institutions involved in the Texas Faculty Development Network (TFDN) will showcase a variety of Audience Response Systems uses including “clicker” devises for multiple choice test taking, surveys, and reflective learning.
  • Audience Response Systems, Turning Technologies
    Founded in 2002, Turning Technologies is headquartered in Youngstown, Ohio. The company began with three goals in mind: to make response technology more affordable, user-friendly, and better documented so that users could easily grasp its benefits. Products include polling solutions (TurningPoint, Triton, RemotePoll, and QuestionPoint), Response Solutions (ResponseWare, ResponseCards), and presenterware.
  • Catalyzing Class Interactions with Audience Response Systems (Clickers): the Good, the Bad, and the RFID
    Tom Harmon, Professor of Engineering at the University of California-Merced, discussed what's involved in setting up an audience response system (clickers) and how it can be used to build interactivity into presentations. Seminar participants had a hands-on opportunity to use clickers during the presentation! Produced by the University of California-Merced's Center for Research on Teaching Excellence. Originally presented on 2/3/2009.
  • Classroom Response System (“Clickers”) Bibliography
    A bibliography of articles on classroom response systems (CRSs) developed by Derek Bruff, Director of the Vanderbilt Center for Teaching at Vanderbilt University in Tennessee. Most of the articles present some form of research on the effectiveness or impact of CRSs on student learning. The first group of articles are not discipline-specific; the later articles are grouped by discipline.
  • Classroom Response Systems "Clickers" by Derek Bruff, Director of Vanderbilt University's Center for Teaching
    Welcome to the Center for Teaching’s introduction to teaching with classroom response systems (“clickers”). On this page you’ll find strategies for using clickers in your teaching, as well as logistical information on using clickers with your courses at Vanderbilt. For a more complete treatment of the former, see my book, Teaching with Classroom Response Systems: Creating Active Learning Environments, available in the CFT library. I also blog regularly about classroom response systems on my personal blog, Agile Learning.
  • Classroom Response Systems "Clickers" guide, Cal Poly Pomona
    Online guide to clickers developed by the Faculty Center for Professional Development at California Polytechnic University, Pomona.
  • Clicker Resources, Carl Wieman Science Education Initiative (SEI) at the University of British Columbia
    Includes clicker resource guide in PDF form and links to videos and podcasts, clicker question collections, and articles.
  • Clickers (Teaching and Learning)
    Developed by the Centre for Teaching, Learning, and Technology at the University of British Columbia. Includes bibliography on clickers.
  • Clickers @ UMD
    Information on using TurningPoint CRS technology at the University of Maryland at College Park. Maintained by the Division of Information Technology.
  • Clickers and Classroom Dynamics by Derek Bruff
    Classroom response systems create new opportunities for managing student discussions and assessing student learning. On website of the National Education Association.
  • Clickers: Personal Response Systems, CTE, UNC-Charlottes
    A resource page about clickers in the classroom, including links to video tutorials for TurningPoint, a CRS system also currently used by the University of Maryland.
  • ExitTicket Student Response System
    Free classroom response system app for teachers.
  • IClicker (vendor for student response systems)
  • IClicker Audio Response System
    Short video about how to use IClicker, a popular CRS. Video produced by the University of California-Irvine's Teaching, Learning, and Technology Center.
  • Interfacing Clickers and/or Smart Phones w/ Online Survey (The IDEA Center)
    Online forum thread with information on clickers.
  • Learning Catalytics
    A “bring your own device” student engagement, assessment, and classroom intelligence system.
  • PollEverywhere
    On the surface, Poll Everywhere is a simple application that works well for live audiences using mobile devices like phones. People participate by visiting a fast mobile-friendly web page for your event, sending text messages, or using Twitter. Instructions are displayed on-screen. The poll that is embedded within the presentation or web page will update in real time. Advanced uses include texting comments to a presentation, texting questions to a presenter, web voting, and SMS interactivity in print, radio, and TV.
  • Professor Eugene Nothnagel Discusses Clickers
    Online video produced by ITeach (Instructional Technology) at the University of California-Riverside.
  • Q&A [Classroom Response Tool]: Supporting Engagement and Peer Learning in a Classroom Setting
    Classroom response software under development by the Human Computer Interaction Laboratory (HCIL) at the University of Maryland.

    Description from website: We are investigating the use of technology to support active student engagement and peer learning in the classroom. We have created a tool called Q&A that allows instructors to pose a question to their students. The students then use Q&A to submit their responses and help aggregate the class' responses. This activity only takes a few minutes, engages the entire class, and the results serve as a starting point for further discussion.
  • Socrative
    Socrative is a smart student response system that empowers teachers to engage their classrooms through a series of educational exercises and games via smartphones, laptops, and tablets.
  • Teaching with Clickers
    An online guide to using clickers in the classroom, produced by the staff of the Center for Research on Learning and Teaching at the University of Michigan.
  • Teaching with IClicker, Center for Teaching Excellence, Texas Christian University
    An online guide to teaching with the CRS system IClickers. Includes tutorials, videos, and resources.
  • Teaching with Personal Response Systems ('clickers')
    Resource page on the website of the Derek Bok Center for Teaching and Learning at Harvard University. Includes a video demonstrating the use of clickers in the classroom.
  • Tips for Using Clickers in the Classroom
    Overview of using clickers in the classroom. Written by Terri Tarr and revised by Jennifer Beasley. Developed for the Center for Teaching and Learning at Indiana University-Purdue University, Indianapolis.
  • Turning Technologies User Guide and Manuals
    User guides for a widely-used classroom response system software.
 

Books in UMD Catalog

Cover Art
Audience Response Systems in Higher Education - Banks, David A. (Editor)
Call Number: UMCP McKeldin Stacks LB2395.7 .B319 2006
ISBN: 1591409470
Publication Date: 2006-02-28
"This book discusses the importance of creating Audience Response Systems (ARS) to facilitate greater interaction with participants engaged in a variety of group activities, particularly education"

Cover Art
Teaching with Classroom Response Systems - Bruff, Derek
Call Number: LB1027.23 .B78 2009
ISBN: 9780470288931
Publication Date: 2009-02-17
"There is a need in the higher education arena for a book that responds to the need for using technology in a classroom of tech-savvy students. This book is filled with illustrative examples of questions and teaching activities that use classroom response systems from a variety of disciplines (with a discipline index). The book also incorporates results from research on the effectiveness of the technology for teaching. Written for instructional designers and re-designers as well as faculty across disciplines."

Cover Art
Clickers in the Classroom - Duncan, Douglas; Mazur, Eric
ISBN: 0805387285
Publication Date: San Francisco : Pearson Education, ©2005.

Cover Art
Increasing Student Engagement and Retention Using Classroom Technologies - Wankel, Charles (Editor, Contribution by); Patrick Blessinger (Editor)
Call Number: UMCP EBook; Shady Grove Lib LB2395.7 .I53 2013
ISBN: 9781781905111
Publication Date: 2013-02-15
Classroom mediated discourse technologies are reshaping and reframing the practice of teaching and learning in higher education. This volume critically examines new research on how classroom mediation technologies like Learning Catalytics are being used in higher education to increase learner engagement and social leaning in the classroom.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip