- Affordable Learning Solutions (developed by California State University)
CSU’s Affordable Learning Solutions enables faculty to choose and provide more affordable, quality educational content for their students.
By reducing CSU student course material expenses, more students acquire the course materials they need to succeed and benefit from their CSU learning experience.
Now, CSU faculty and students have greater access to quality free and low-cost learning materials through a variety of ALS programs and partnerships.
- Archive of Flat World Knowledge Textbooks
This site is an archive of FWK textbooks, collected in November, 2012, before FWK dropped their free access in Jan 2013. All of these books were gathered from the publicly accessible, Creative Commons CC-BY-NC-SA licensed content.
This site is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Flat World Knowledge.
- BC Campus: OpenEd
On this site we have a curated collection of open textbooks that align with the top 40 highest enrolled 1st and 2nd year post-secondary subject areas in British Columbia. But there are many other places to find open textbooks that have already been developed and are ready for adaptation or adoption. The following resources contain existing open texts and other teaching resources that are openly-licensed and free for educators to use and adapt to their own needs.
Online collection of free open textbooks and ebooks on many subjects.
- Boundless Online Textbooks
- C-K 12 Textbooks
CK-12 provides open-source content and technology tools to help teachers provide learning opportunities for students globally. Free access to high-quality, customizable educational content in multiple modalities suited to multiple student learning styles and levels will allow teachers, students and others to innovate and experiment with new models of learning. CK-12 helps students and teachers alike by enabling rapid customization and experimentation of teaching and learning styles.
- College Open Textbooks
The Community College Open Textbooks Collaborative is funded by The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation. This collection of sixteen educational non-profit and for-profit organizations, affiliated with more than 200 colleges, is focused on driving awareness and adoptions of open textbooks to more than 2000 community and other two-year colleges. This includes providing training for instructors adopting open resources, peer reviews of open textbooks, and mentoring online professional networks that support for authors opening their resources, and other services.
- Flat World Knowledge
Written by the industry's top authors, our textbooks are helping improve teaching and learning at more than 2,500 leading colleges and universities worldwide.
- Global Text Project (University of Georgia)
We publish open content electronic textbooks that are freely available from this website. We focus on content development and Web distribution, and we will work with relevant authorities to facilitate dissemination by other means when bandwidth is unavailable or inadequate. The goal is to make textbooks available to the many who cannot afford them.
- Intute: Mathematics
Intute: Mathematics provides free access to high quality resources on the Internet. Each resource has been evaluated and categorised by subject specialists based at UK universities.
No new resources are being added to the catalogue, but existing resources will be checked and broken links will be fixed until July 2011.
- National Academies Press
The National Academies Press (NAP) was created by the National Academy of Sciences to publish the reports of the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council, all operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative information on important matters in science and health policy. The institutions served by the NAP are unique in their ability to attract leading experts in many fields to join panels and committees charged with providing policy advice on some of the nation’s most pressing scientific, technical, and health-related issues.
- OER Commons
Open access educational resources and textbooks.
- Open Course Library
The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts. Some of our materials (also called open educational resources, or OER) are paired with low cost textbooks ($30 or less). Many of the courses can be taught at no cost to students. Unless otherwise noted, all materials are shared under a Creative Commons (CC BY) license.OCL courses and materials have undergone testing for accessibility and have been designed using the industry-standard Quality Matters (QM) rubric for assessing the quality of online courses.
- Open Textbook Library
Open textbooks are real, complete textbooks licensed so teachers and students can freely use, adapt, and distribute the material. Open textbooks can be downloaded for no cost, or printed inexpensively.
This library is a tool to help instructors find affordable, quality textbook solutions. All textbooks in this library are complete and openly licensed. Partners include University of Minnesota and BC [British Columbia] Campus.
- OpenCourseWare Consortium
The OpenCourseWare Consortium is a worldwide community of hundreds of higher education institutions and associated organizations committed to advancing OpenCourseWare and its impact on global education.
- OpenStax CNX
OpenStax believes that everyone has something to learn, and everyone has something to teach.
Frustrated by the limitations of traditional textbooks and courses, Dr. Richard Baraniuk founded OpenStax (then Connexions) in 1999 at Rice University to provide authors and learners with an open space where they can share and freely adapt educational materials such as courses, books, and reports.
Today, OpenStax CNX is a dynamic non-profit digital ecosystem serving millions of users per month in the delivery of educational content to improve learning outcomes.
There are tens of thousands of learning objects, called pages, that are organized into thousands of textbook-style books in a host of disciplines, all easily accessible online and downloadable to almost any device, anywhere, anytime.
The best part? Everything is available for free thanks to generous support from Rice University and several philanthropic organizations.
- OpenStax College
OpenStax College offers students free textbooks that meet scope and sequence requirements for most courses. These are peer-reviewed texts written by professional content developers. Adopt a book today for a turnkey classroom solution or modify it to suit your teaching approach. Free online and low-cost in print, OpenStax College books are built for today’s student budgets.
- Textbook Revolution
Textbook Revolution is a student-run site dedicated to increasing the use of free educational materials by teachers and professors. We want to get these materials into classrooms. On this site you'll find links and reviews of textbooks and select educational resources. Some of the books are PDF files, others are viewable online as e-books, or some are simply web sites containing course or multimedia content.
- The Orange Grove: Florida's Digital Repository
The Orange Grove repository, is Florida's digital repository for instructional resources. The repository provides an environment for educators to search for, use, remix, share, and contribute educational resources. The repository can also be integrated with your Learning Management Systems (e.g., Blackboard, Desire 2 Learn, Canvas) . A joint initiative of the University Press of Florida and The Orange Grove, Florida’s Digital Repository. The goal of this partnership is to reduce the cost of books to students by offering texts that are affordable, accessible, and adaptable to reader preferences.
- Writing Spaces
Writing Spaces is an open textbook project for college-level writing studies courses. Each volume in the Writing Spaces: Readings on Writing series contains peer-reviewed collections of essays about writing—all composed by teachers for students—with each book available for download for free under a Creative Commons license.