General Directories and LinksOpen Access JournalsSubscription Journals and PublicationsBooks on Teaching and Learning
OrganizationsConferencesListservs and Bulletin Boards
Instructional Materials and Teaching ModulesOnline Collections and Open Textbook ResourcesTeaching and Learning BlogsVideos, Webinars, Podcasts, and AppsVirtual Libraries
Access and Retention in Higher EducationActive-Learning and Project-Based LearningAdaptive LearningClassroom Response SystemsFaculty DevelopmentGlobal EducationHigher Education (Policy and Administration)Instructional DesignIntellectual Property and CopyrightNon-Cognitive Variables in LearningVendors of Emerging Technologies
Highlights of Great Resources Pages from TLCsDirectory of TLCs in United States by State (A-G)Directory of TLCs in United States by State (H-M)Directory of TLCs in United States by State (N-P)Directory of TLCs in United States by State (Q-Z)Teaching and Learning Centers in Canada
Intellectual Property (IP) Agreements at USM InstitutionsUSM Resource PagesUSM Teaching and Learning CentersInnovation at USM
Map of State Higher Education Systems
Structure of the LibGuideGuide to Editing the LibGuide: Logging InEditing the LibGuide: Editing Rich Text BoxesEditing the LibGuide: Editing Links and Lists BoxesAdding Books to a “Books from the Catalog” boxResizing Page ColumnsReordering/Moving PagesReordering Boxes Within and Between PagesAdding a PageReusing a PageAdding a Box to a PageUploading Images to the LibGuideEditing Page InformationEditing Box InformationChanging the LibGuide's Style
This is the "Virtual Libraries" page of the "Resources on Teaching and Learning in Higher Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Links to resources on teaching and learning in Higher Education, including journals, publications, conferences, directories, and links to other resource pages.
Last Updated: Jul 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ischoool.umd.edu/teachandlearn Print Guide RSS Updates

Virtual Libraries Print Page
  Search: 
 

Virtual Libraries and Collections

  • American Memory, Library of Congress
    American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
  • American Museum of Natural History
  • Archives of Maryland Online, Maryland State Archives
    The ongoing Maryland State Archives publication series, Archives of Maryland Online, currently provides access to over 471,000 historical documents that form the constitutional, legal, legislative, judicial, and administrative basis of Maryland's government. Online access enables users to research such topics as Maryland's constitutions and constitutional conventions' proceedings, session laws, proceedings of the General Assembly, governors' papers, and military records. This project allows the Archives to place into electronic form and preserve for future generations records that are scattered among a number of repositories and that often exist only on rapidly disintegrating paper.
  • Digital Public Library of America
    The DPLA is leading the first concrete steps toward the realization of a large-scale digital public library that will make the cultural and scientific record available to all.
  • DocsTeach, National Archives' (US) Teacher Resources

    Want to create custom activities for the classroom?
    Share your activities with students by using DocsTeach Classrooms?
    Use lessons that other educators have created?
    Explore, bookmark, and share primary sources from the National Archives?
  • English Short-Title Catalog (1473-1800)
    The English Short-Title Catalog (ESTC) is a vast database designed to include a bibliographic record, with holdings, of every surviving copy of letterpress produced in Great Britain or any of its dependencies, in any language, worldwide, from 1473-1800. In order to increase access to these items, we include references to microfilm, digital, and other facsimile versions. All of our records are fully searchable online.

    The ESTC is the joint effort of the British Library, the American Antiquarian Society, the ESTC/NA, and our many contributing libraries throughout the world.
  • English Short-Title Catalog (1473-1800)
    The English Short-Title Catalog (ESTC) is a vast database designed to include a bibliographic record, with holdings, of every surviving copy of letterpress produced in Great Britain or any of its dependencies, in any language, worldwide, from 1473-1800. In order to increase access to these items, we include references to microfilm, digital, and other facsimile versions. All of our records are fully searchable online.

    The ESTC is the joint effort of the British Library, the American Antiquarian Society, the ESTC/NA, and our many contributing libraries throughout the world.
  • Films on Demand: Digital Educational Video
    This is an online collection of digitized film and video that is available through the UMCP Libraries Research Port.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
  • HathiTrust
    HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.

    The partners ensure the reliability and efficiency of the digital library by relying on community standards and best practices, developing policies and procedures to manage content and services at scale, and maintaining a modular, open infrastructure.
  • Heritage West
    Heritage West is a database that brings together thousands of digital objects from the collections of museums, libraries, historical societies and archives from throughout the Western United States. Included in this database are photos, documents, artifacts, costumes, diaries, oral histories and manuscripts representing the West's cultural, scientific and historic heritage.
  • Highlights, British Museum (UK)
    Divided by theme, this Highlights website explores the historical and cultural context of over 4,000 objects in the collections of the British Museum in London.
  • Internet Archive
    The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.

    Founded in 1996 and located in San Francisco, the Archive has been receiving data donations from Alexa Internet and others. In late 1999, the organization started to grow to include more well-rounded collections. Now the Internet Archive includes: texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages in our collections, and provides specialized services for adaptive reading and information access for the blind and other persons with disabilities.
  • Library of Congress' Teachers' Page
    The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching.

    Find Library of Congress lesson plans and more that meet Common Core standards, state content standards, and the standards of national organizations.
  • Making of America Books
    Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The book collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books with 19th century imprints. For more details about the project, see About MoA.
  • Maryland Historical Society, Collections Online
    Welcome to the Maryland Historical Society’s Collections Online Database. Browse through both Museum Department collections and the Special Collections Department of the H. Furlong Baldwin Library by subject or by medium. Here you will see paintings, photographs, manuscripts, decorative arts pieces, lithographs, and more.

    With well over one million items housed at MdHS, this database contains merely a fraction of what can be found in the combined collections. Information contained in the records of the Collections Online Database is subject to change as a result of ongoing research.
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, NY, Collections Database
    View more than 257,000 objects that have been digitized in the collections of the Metropolitan Museum of Art in NY.
  • NASA Multimedia Galleries
    Maintained by the National Air and Space Agency. An online collection of space images, videos, podcasts, and 3-D resources.
  • National Science Digital Library
    Funded by the National Science Foundation. NSDL Science Literacy Maps help teachers connect concepts, standards, and NSDL educational resources by providing a way to see and discover how scientific concepts relate to one another.
  • Online Archive of California, California Digital Library
    The External linkOnline Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to primary sources—including manuscripts, photographs, artwork, scientific data and more—through more than 38,000 collection guides and 200,000 digitized images and documents.

    Analogous to catalog records for books, collection guides (also known as finding aids) are the descriptive records used to find, understand, and locate archival resources and unique materials. They help users learn more about the scope of a collection so they know if it is likely to meet their research needs.

    The content on the OAC is contributed by more than 200 archives, special collections, libraries, historical societies, and museums at all 10 UC campuses and across California that house the original materials.
  • Open Video Project
    The Open Video Project is sponsored by UNC Chapel Hill and is a shared digital video collection. Video clips in a variety of genres are available. The purpose of the Open Video Project is to collect and make available a repository of digitized video content for teaching and research.
  • Perseus Digital Library
    Since planning began in 1985, the Perseus Digital Library Project has explored what happens when libraries move online. Two decades later, as new forms of publication emerge and millions of books become digital, this question is more pressing than ever. Perseus is a practical experiment in which we explore possibilities and challenges of digital collections in a networked world. For the mission of Perseus and its current research, see here.

    Our flagship collection, under development since 1987, covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. We are applying what we have learned from Classics to other subjects within the humanities and beyond. We have studied many problems over the past two decades, but our current research centers on personalization: organizing what you see to meet your needs.
  • PhysTEC Digital Library
    The PhysTEC Library is the world's largest collection of digital resources related to physics teacher preparation. It includes important articles, reports, websites, conference presentations, and videos. Many of the resources have been created by leaders of PhysTEC Supported Sites or others in the teacher preparation community.
  • Project Gutenburg
    Project Gutenberg offers over 45,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.

    We carry high quality ebooks: All our ebooks were previously published by bona fide publishers. We digitized and diligently proofread them with the help of thousands of volunteers.

    No fee or registration is required, but if you find Project Gutenberg useful, we kindly ask you to donate a small amount so we can buy and digitize more books. Other ways to help include digitizing more books, recording audio books, or reporting errors.

    Over 100,000 free ebooks are available through our Partners, Affiliates and Resources.
  • Repositories of Primary Sources
    A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar. All links have been tested for correctness and appropriateness. Compiled by Terry Abraham at the University of Idaho.
  • Smithsonian Institution Collections Search Center
    Search over 8.6 million catalog records of museum objects, and library & archives materials. More than 1,200,000 of these records contain online images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other online resources.
  • University of Michigan Digital Library Text Collections

    UMDL Texts is the central access point for electronic books and journals provided by the University of Michigan Digital Library Production Service.

    Some collections at this site are restricted to use by authorized users only (i.e., University faculty, staff, students, etc... ).
  • University of Oxford Text Archive
    The University of Oxford Text Archive develops, collects, catalogues and preserves electronic literary and linguistic resources for use in Higher Education, in research, teaching and learning. The OTA also gives advice on the creation and use of these resources, and is involved in the development of standards and infrastructure for electronic language resources.
  • Wright American Fiction
    Lyle H. Wright, a librarian at the Huntington Library in San Marino, CA, created a bibliography of American fiction from the years 1851–1875, published as American Fiction 1851–1875: A Contribution Toward a Bibliography (San Marino, CA: The Huntington Library, 1957; revised 1965). He listed a total of 2,923 titles in adult fiction, including "novels, novelettes, romances, short stories, tall tales, tract-like tales, allegories, and fictitious biographies and travels, in prose" (from the introduction), and inventoried 18 American libraries for holdings. This compilation is part of his three-volume set listing American fiction from 1774 through 1900, and is considered the most comprehensive bibliography of American adult fiction of the 18th and 19th centuries.
  • WWW Virtual Library
    Started by the creator of HTML and the web, Tim Berners-Lee, the WWW Virtual Library is an online catalogue to web sites offering a variety of resources in a wide assortment of disciplines. It is run by volunteers who compile pages of key links for particular areas in which they are expert.
 
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip