General Directories and LinksOpen Access JournalsSubscription Journals and PublicationsBooks on Teaching and Learning
OrganizationsConferencesListservs and Bulletin Boards
Instructional Materials and Teaching ModulesOnline Collections and Open Textbook ResourcesTeaching and Learning BlogsVideos, Webinars, Podcasts, and AppsVirtual Libraries
Access and Retention in Higher EducationActive-Learning and Project-Based LearningAdaptive LearningClassroom Response SystemsFaculty DevelopmentGlobal EducationHigher Education (Policy and Administration)Instructional DesignIntellectual Property and CopyrightNon-Cognitive Variables in LearningVendors of Emerging Technologies
Highlights of Great Resources Pages from TLCsDirectory of TLCs in United States by State (A-G)Directory of TLCs in United States by State (H-M)Directory of TLCs in United States by State (N-P)Directory of TLCs in United States by State (Q-Z)Teaching and Learning Centers in Canada
Intellectual Property (IP) Agreements at USM InstitutionsUSM Resource PagesUSM Teaching and Learning CentersInnovation at USM
Map of State Higher Education Systems
Structure of the LibGuideGuide to Editing the LibGuide: Logging InEditing the LibGuide: Editing Rich Text BoxesEditing the LibGuide: Editing Links and Lists BoxesAdding Books to a “Books from the Catalog” boxResizing Page ColumnsReordering/Moving PagesReordering Boxes Within and Between PagesAdding a PageReusing a PageAdding a Box to a PageUploading Images to the LibGuideEditing Page InformationEditing Box InformationChanging the LibGuide's Style
This is the "Subscription Journals and Publications" page of the "Resources on Teaching and Learning in Higher Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Links to resources on teaching and learning in Higher Education, including journals, publications, conferences, directories, and links to other resource pages.
Last Updated: Jul 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ischoool.umd.edu/teachandlearn Print Guide RSS Updates

Subscription Journals and Publications Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subscription Journals

These journals or series are by subscription only for online and/or print access.

  • Academe
    The bimonthly magazine of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP). It analyzes higher education issues from faculty members' perspectives. The magazine begins with an incisive round-up of news affecting professors. Feature articles examine tenure, affirmative action, part-time faculty appointments, distance education, intellectual property, and other timely academic issues. Investigative reports on violations of academic freedom and tenure are regular components. Current issues available for free online, back issues through Jstor. Print subscription available and included with membership.
  • Active Learning In Higher Education  
      
    Active Learning in Higher Education is an international, peer reviewed publication for all those who teach and support learning in higher education and those who undertake or use research into effective learning, teaching and assessment in universities and colleges. The journal is devoted to all aspects of development, innovations and good practice in higher education teaching and learning, including the use of information and communication technologies and issues concerning the management of teaching and learning.
  • American Educational Research Journal
    The American Educational Research Journal (AERJ) publishes original empirical and theoretical studies and analyses in education. The editors seek to publish articles from a wide variety of academic disciplines and substantive fields; they are looking for clear and significant contributions to the understanding and/or improvement of educational processes and outcomes. Manuscripts not appropriate for submission to this journal include essays, reviews, course evaluations, and brief reports of studies to address a narrow question. It is published online by subscription by Sage Journals. The journal is produced by the American Educational Research Association.
  • American Journal of Distance Education
    The American Journal of Distance Education is the internationally recognized journal of research and scholarship in the field of American distance education established with the mission of disseminating information about research and scholarship in the Americas. Distance education explores topics central to teaching-learning relationships where the actors are geographically separated and communication takes place through technologies such as audio and video broadcasts, teleconferences and recordings, printed study guides, and multimedia systems. The principal technology of current research interest is the Internet, and subfields of distance education such as online learning, e-learning, distributed learning, asynchronous learning, and blended learning are of particular interest to the journal. Published by Taylor and Francis Online.
  • American Journal of Education
    The American Journal of Education seeks to bridge and integrate the intellectual, methodological, and substantive diversity of educational scholarship, and to encourage a vigorous dialogue between educational scholars and practitioners. AJE publishes research, theoretical statements, philosophical arguments, and critical syntheses of a field of educational inquiry. It is published by the University of Chicago Press for the Penn State College of Education, and is available by subscription only.

  • Arts and Humanities in Higher Education
    Arts and Humanities in Higher Education is an international peer reviewed journal. It publishes articles, reviews and scholarly comment relating to the arts and humanities in higher education. Online access. Pay for subscription.
  • ASHE Higher Education Report
    Since 1983, the ASHE Higher Education Report Series (formerly ASHE-ERIC) has been providing researchers, scholars, and practitioners with timely and substantive information on the critical issues facing higher education. Each monograph presents a definitive analysis of a higher education problem or issue, based on a thorough synthesis of significant literature and institutional experiences. Topics range from planning to diversity and multiculturalism, to performance indicators, to curricular innovations. A publication of the Association for the Study of Higher Education. Published six times a year in print and digital format by Wiley/Jossey-Bass.
  • Assessment and Evaluation in Higher Education
    Assessment & Evaluation in Higher Education is an established international peer-reviewed journal which publishes papers and reports on all aspects of assessment and evaluation within higher education. Its purpose is to advance understanding of assessment and evaluation practices and processes, particularly the contribution that these make to student learning and to course, staff and institutional development. It is published by Taylor and Francis Online and is available by paid subscription only.
  • Assessment Update: Progress, Trends, and Practices in Higher Education
    Assessment Update is dedicated to covering the latest developments in the rapidly evolving area of higher education assessment. Assessment Update offers all academic leaders up-to-date information and practical advice on conducting assessments in a range of areas, including student learning and outcomes, faculty instruction, academic programs and curricula, student services, and overall institutional functioning. For over 20 years, this periodical has kept the field abreast of the latest trends and best practices in assessing higher education. Edited by a well known leader in the field, Assessment Update is an award-winning bi-monthly publication. Published by Wiley Online Library.
  • British Journal of Educational Technology (BJET)
    The British Journal of Educational Technology provides readers with the widest possible coverage of developments in international educational and training technology. BJET is a primary source for academics and professionals in learning technology. Articles cover the whole range of education and training, concentrating on the theory, applications and development of learning technology and communications. There is a particular interest in the application of new information and communications technologies. Published by Wiley Online Library. Subscriptions available in print and digital format.
  • Change: the Magazine of Higher Learning
    Change is a magazine dealing with contemporary issues in higher learning. It is intended to stimulate and inform reflective practitioners in colleges, universities, corporations, government, and elsewhere. Using a magazine format rather than that of an academic journal, Change spotlights trends, provides new insights and ideas, and analyzes the implications of educational programs, policies, and practices. Change , which is published six times a year, is intended for individuals responsible for higher learning in college, university, and other settings, including faculty, administrators, trustees, state and federal officials, and students, as well as corporation, union, and foundation officers. It is edited or peer-reviewed and is available by subscription from Taylor and Francis Online.
  • Chronicle of Higher Education
    The No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. Paid digital and print subscriptions. Some content available for free online.
  • Cognition and Instruction
    Published by Taylor and Francis Online.
    Among education journals, Cognition and Instruction ’s distinctive niche is rigorous study of foundational issues concerning the mental, socio-cultural, and mediational processes and conditions of learning and intellectual competence. For these purposes, both “cognition” and “instruction” must be interpreted broadly. The journal preferentially attends to the “how” of learning and intellectual practices. A balance of well-reasoned theory and careful and reflective empirical technique is typical, as is analysis of process data in addition to outcome measures. The study of learning in engineered and ecologically valid circumstances is highly valued, but so is laboratory study that can be seen as necessary to reach fundamental principles that manifestly apply in the "real world" of learning and intellectual performance.
  • College Teaching
    Published by Taylor and Francis Online. Subscription only. College Teaching publishes peer-reviewed articles on how instructors across all academic disciplines can improve student learning. Each issue includes practical ideas and new strategies for successful teaching. Topics may range from research on teaching methods, educational technologies, classroom management, and assessment and grading, to faculty development, course design, and interdisciplinary teaching. The Quick Fix page presents easily implemented techniques for dealing with common problems. Commentaries provide thoughtful reflections on teaching. As a source of the best and latest scholarship on teaching and learning, College Teaching offers ideas that can be implemented in the next class meeting as well as inspiration that can promote effective teaching semester after semester.
  • Community College Journal
    The Community College Journal features articles by leading experts, opinions that put the news in perspective, coverage of higher education issues, and profiles of the field's leaders. Published by the American Association of Community Colleges. Digital access comes with membership. Paid print subscription.
  • Community College Journal of Research and Practice
    The only two-year college journal that is international in scope and purpose, Community College Journal of Research and Practice is published twelve times per year. The journal is a multidisciplinary forum for researchers and practitioners in higher education and the behavioral and social sciences. It promotes an increased awareness of community college issues by providing an exchange of ideas, research, and empirically tested educational innovations. Published by Taylor and Francis Online.
  • Community College Review
    Community College Review (CCR) has led the nation for 40 years in the publication of scholarly, peer-reviewed research and commentary on community colleges. CCR publishes articles on all aspects of community college administration, education, and policy, both within the American higher education system as well as within the higher education systems of other countries that have similar tertiary institutions. Published by Sage Journals.
  • Computers and Education: An International Journal
    Computing and communication technology continue to make an ever-increasing impact on all aspects of cognition, education and training, from primary to tertiary and in the growing open and distance learning environment. The journal is an established technically-based, interdisciplinary forum for communication in the use of all forms of computing in this socially and technologically significant area of application and will continue to publish definitive contributions to serve as a reference standard against which the current state-of-the-art can be assessed.
  • Computers in Education Journal
    The Computers in Education Journal is published by the Northeast Consortium for Engineering Education on behalf of the Computers in Education Division of the American Society for Engineering Education.
    The Computers in Education Journal serves engineering, mathematics, and science faculties who wish to improve the quality of instruction through the use of computers.
  • Education and Information Technologies
    This is the official journal of the IFIP Technical Committee on Education. It covers the complex relationships between information and communication technologies and education. The journal provides perspectives at all levels, from the micro of specific applications or instances of use in classrooms to macro concerns of national policies and major projects; from classes of five year olds to adults in tertiary institutions; from teachers and administrators, to researchers and designers; from institutions to open, distance and lifelong learning. This breadth of coverage allows Education and Information Technologies to examine fundamental issues at all levels, discuss specific instances and cases, draw inference and probe theory. This journal is embedded in the research and practice of professionals.
  • Educational Researcher
    Educational Researcher publishes scholarly articles that are of general significance to the education research community and that come from a wide range of areas of education research and related disciplines. Published nine times a year, ER aims to make major programmatic research and new findings of broad importance widely accessible. It is an online subscription publication of Sage Publications and is produced by the American Educational Research Association..
  • Educational Technology and Research Development
  • Educational Technology Research and Development
    Educational Technology Research and Development is the only scholarly journal in the field focusing entirely on research and development in educational technology. It is published by Springer Journals and produced by the Association for Educational Communications and Technology.
  • Harvard Educational Review
    The Harvard Educational Review (print ISSN 0017-8055, online ISSN 1943-5045) is a scholarly journal of opinion and research in education. It provides an interdisciplinary forum for discussion and debate about the field's most vital issues. Since its founding in 1930, HER has become one of the most prestigious education journals, with circulation to policymakers, researchers, administrators, and teachers. It is produced by the Harvard Graduate School of Education.
  • Higher Education
    Recognized as the leading international journal on higher education studies, this publication examines educational developments throughout the world in universities, polytechnics, colleges, and vocational and education institutions. It reports on developments in both public and private higher education sectors.Higher Education features contributions from leading scholars from different countries who tackle the problems of teachers as well as students, and of planners as well as administrators. It presents authoritative overview articles, comparative studies and analyses of particular problems or issues.While each higher education system has its own distinctive features, common problems and issues are shared internationally by researchers, teachers and institutional leaders. Higher Education offers opportunities for the exchange of research results, experience and insights, and provides a forum for ongoing discussion between experts. Published by Springer Link.
  • Higher Education in Europe
    The journal deals with major problems and trends in contemporary higher education. It presents information, interpretations, and criticism in regard to current developments in the field. While focusing primarily on Europe and North America within the context of the other activities of the Centre, it regularly features contributions from other regions of the world as well. Published by Taylor and Francis Online.
  • Higher Education Quarterly
    Higher Education Quarterly publishes international articles concerned with policy, strategic management and ideas in higher education. A substantial number of papers report research findings in ways that highlight their relevance to senior managers and policy makers at institutional, national and international levels, and to academics who are not necessarily specialists in the academic study of higher education. The journal places particular emphasis on comparative material as opposed to single institution or local case studies. Published by Wiley Online Library.
  • Higher Education Research and Development
    Higher Education Research & Development (HERD) is an international peer-reviewed journal, established in 1982 as the principal learned journal of the Higher Education Research and Development Society of Australasia (HERDSA). It is a subscription publication available from Taylor and Francis Online.
  • Higher Education: Handbook of Theory and Research
    Annual print/ebook published annually by Springer for the Association for the Study of Education (ASHE)
  • Innnovations in Education and Teaching International
    Innovations in Education and Teaching International (IETI), is the journal of the Staff and Educational Development Association (SEDA). As such, contributions to the Journal should reflect SEDA’s aim to promote innovation and good practice in higher education through staff and educational development and subject-related practices. Contributions are welcomed on any aspect of promoting and supporting educational change in higher and other post-school education, with an emphasis on research, experience, scholarship and evaluation, rather than mere description of practice.
  • Innovation Abstracts
    Each week faculty, administrators, and staff at NISOD-member colleges receive Innovation Abstracts, NISOD's flagship teaching and learning publication, written by and for community and technical college practitioners. Innovation Abstracts authors share their best ideas about programs, projects, and strategies that improve students' higher education experiences. A full academic year's collection of Innovation Abstracts features a wide array of topics with each issue having something for everyone. (NISOD is the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development).
  • Innovation in Education and Training International
    Innovations in Education and Teaching International (IETI), is the journal of the Staff and Educational Development Association (SEDA). As such, contributions to the Journal should reflect SEDA’s aim to promote innovation and good practice in higher education through staff and educational development and subject-related practices. Contributions are welcomed on any aspect of promoting and supporting educational change in higher and other post-school education, with an emphasis on research, experience, scholarship and evaluation, rather than mere description of practice. It is available by subscription from Taylor and Francis Online.
  • Innovative Higher Education
    Innovative Higher Education is a publication of the Institute of Higher Education at the University of Georgia that has been published since 1975. It is a refereed scholarly journal with a distinguished and internationally known editorial review board.
  • Instructional Science
    Instructional Science promotes a deeper understanding of the nature, theory, and practice of the instructional process and resultant learning. Published papers represent a variety of perspectives from the learning sciences and cover learning by people of all ages, in all areas of the curriculum, and in informal and formal learning contexts. Emphasizing reports of original empirical research, the journal stands out by providing space for full and detailed reporting of major studies. These include studies addressing learning processes, learning technology, learner characteristics, and learning outcomes. Regardless of the topic, all papers published in the journal make a contribution to the science of instruction by drawing out the instructional implications of new research on learning. Most years, Instructional Science publishes a guest-edited thematic special issue. Recent issues have explored cognitive load theory, networked learning, and web-based instruction. Published by Springer.
  • International Journal for Academic Development
    The International Journal for Academic Development is the journal of the International Consortium for Educational Development. The purpose of the journal is to enable academic/educational developers in higher education across the world to exchange ideas about practice and extend the theory of educational development, with the goal of improving the quality of higher education internationally. The editors welcome for review original contributions on any aspect of academic/educational development in higher and other post-school education (including staff development, educational development, instructional development and faculty development) and closely related topics. Because the main readership for the journal is academic/educational developers, it is important to make explicit the implications of any article for them. It is available by subscription from Taylor and Francis Online.
  • International Journal of Educational Research
    Reports of high quality educational research involving any discipline and methodology will be welcome. The journal's purpose is to enable researchers throughout the world to engage more easily with findings and issues which are relevant to their own interests. Published by Science Direct.
  • International Journal of University Teaching and Faculty Development
    Published four times per year, the International Journal of University Teaching and Faculty Development is an international and multidisciplinary Journal concerned with teaching for students at university level and faculty development. The Journal will look at how teaching and research can be brought into a closer relationship. The Journal welcomes research-based articles on the practice of higher education, specifically those manuscripts that span a wide range of teaching and faculty development issues and trends occurring internationally. Published by Nova Publishers.
  • International Journal on E-Learning (IJEL) - Corporate, Government, Healthcare, & Higher Education
    Advances in technology and the growth of e-learning to provide educators and trainers with unique opportunities to enhance learning and teaching in corporate, government, healthcare, and higher education. IJEL serves as a forum to facilitate the international exchange of information on the current research, development, and practice of e-learning in these sectors.
    Led by an Editorial Review Board of leaders in the field of e-Learning, the Journal is designed for the following audiences: researchers, developers, and practitioners in corporate, government, healthcare, and higher education. IJEL is a peer-reviewed journal. Published by the Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education.
  • International Review of Education
    The International Review of Education provides scholarly information on policy issues, educational trends, and learning innovations. It serves educational institutes, teacher-training organizations, and ministries as well as non-governmental organizations and individuals in all countries. The International Review of Education – Journal of Lifelong Learning (IRE) is edited by the UNESCO Institute for Lifelong Learning and published by Springer. UIL is a global centre of excellence for lifelong learning and learning societies, and welcomes high-quality contributions from specialist scholars and professionals from all countries and regions of the world.
  • Internet and Higher Education
    The Internet and Higher Education, a is quarterly journal devoted to addressing contemporary issues and future developments related to online learning, teaching, and administration on the Internet in post-secondary settings. It is a peer-reviewed journal intended to be a vehicle for scholarly presentation and dissemination of contributions, theoretical and applied, significantly addressing innovative deployments of Internet technology in instruction and reporting on research to demonstrate the effects of the Internet and information technology (IT) on instruction in various contexts in higher education. It is published by Elsevier.
  • Journal for the Art of Teaching
    Published by Florida International University's Center for the Advancement of Teaching. The Journal for the Art of Teaching is a publication by faculty about teaching and learning. Each issue is focused on a single general topic. The subscription is free to FIU community members and $10 for outside subscriptions.
  • Journal of Applied Research in Higher Education (JARHE)
  • Journal of Classroom Interaction
    Online and print subscription journal published by the College of Education at the University of Houston. The Journal of Classroom Interaction is an academic journal that has been in publication for 40 years. The Journal is a semi-annual publication devoted to empirical investigations and theoretical papers dealing with observation techniques, research on student and teacher behavior, and other issues relevant to the domain of classroom interaction.
  • Journal of College and Character
    Journal of College and Character is a professional journal that examines how colleges and universities influence the moral and civic learning and behavior of students. The journal publishes scholarly articles and applied research on issues related to ethics, values, and character development in a higher education setting.
    Published quarterly, the journal encourages the submission of manuscripts from around the world and from a wide range of academic and professional fields, including higher education, student affairs, psychology, religion, sociology, business, social work, philosophy, law, and education. Journal of College and Character is co-edited by Jon C. Dalton and Pamela C. Crosby. Dalton, a leader in the field of higher education and student affairs, is professor emeritus of higher education and former director of the Hardee Center for Leadership and Ethics in Higher Education at The Florida State University. It is a subscription journal published by
  • Journal of Computing in Higher Education
    Journal of Computing in Higher Education, JCHE, publishes original research, literature reviews, implementation and evaluation studies, and theoretical, conceptual, and policy papers that contribute to our understanding of the issues, problems, and research associated with instructional technologies and educational environments. JCHE publishes well-documented articles and provides a comprehensive source of information on instructional technology integration. Priority is given to the publication of rigorous, original manuscripts concerning research and integration of instructional technology in higher education. JCHE provides perspectives on the research and integration of instructional technology in higher education. Published by Springer.
  • Journal of Curriculum Studies
    Journal of Curriculum Studies publishes original refereed contributions on all aspects of curriculum studies (including those derived from historical, philosophical, comparative and policy-related investigations), pedagogic theory, teacher education and development, assessment and evaluation, and the present state of schooling. In keeping with its international character, Journal of Curriculum Studies especially welcomes articles which extend the perspectives of curriculum beyond national boundaries.
  • Journal of Developmental Education (JDE)
    The JDE is the official publication of the National Association for Developmental Education (NADE), a separate entity from the NCDE. NADE is the largest professional association for developmental educators. The JDE is published as a forum for educators concerned with the practice, theory, research, and news of the postsecondary developmental and remedial community. Its content focuses on basic skills education and includes topics such as developmental writing, developmental mathematics, reading, tutoring, assessment and placement, and program evaluation.
  • Journal of Educational Multimedia and Hypermedia (JEMH)
    JEMH is designed to provide a multi-disciplinary forum to present and discuss research, development and applications of multimedia and hypermedia in education. The main goal of the Journal is to contribute to the advancement of the theory and practice of learning and teaching using these powerful and promising technological tools that allow the integration of images, sound, text, and data. Published by the Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education (AACE).
  • Journal of Faculty Development
    Reporting the latest in professional development activities at the 2-year college, 4-year college, and university levels. Published by New Forums Press.
  • Journal of Further and Higher Education
    Published by the University and College Union (UK), the Journal of Further and Higher Education is an international, peer-reviewed journal which publishes articles and book reviews representing the whole field of post-16 education and training. Topic areas include management and administration, teacher education and training, curriculum, staff and institutional development, and teaching and learning strategies and processes. The journal encourages debate on contemporary pedagogic issues and professional concerns within the UK and abroad. The journal is committed to promoting excellence in these fields by providing a forum for the debate and evaluation of a wide range of pedagogic issues and professional concerns. Published by Taylor and Francis Online.
  • Journal of General Education: A Curricular Commons of the Humanities and Sciences
    Journal of General Education: A Curricular Commons of the Humanities and Sciences is devoted to the ideas and ideals of scholarship that enlighten the understanding of curriculum that reaches beyond disciplinary and professional concentrations to provide an undergraduate educational commons. The journal’s research, essays, forums and reviews engage academic communities and others in deliberations about general education experiments and innovation, as well as considerations of general education assessment, history, philosophy and theoretical perspective. It is published online by subscription by Penn State University Press.
  • Journal of Higher Education
    Bimonthly online journal published by Ohio State University Press for the the Association for the Study of Education (ASHE)
  • Journal of Instructional Psychology
    The Journal of Instructional Psychology publishes original articles dealing with issues related to instruction and educational management and gives preferences to manuscripts focusing on bilingual and multicultural issues, at-risk youth, and educational technology. Published by Project Innovation.
  • Journal of The First-Year Experience and Students in Transition
    The Journal of The First-Year Experience and Students in Transition is a semiannual refereed journal providing current research on the first college year and other significant student transitions. The primary purpose of the Journal is to disseminate empirical research findings on student transition issues that inform practice in all sectors of postsecondary education. It is published by the National Resource Center for The First-Year Experience & Students in Transition at the University of South Carolina.
  • Journal on Centers for Teaching and Learning
  • Journal on Excellence in College Teaching
  • Learning and Instruction
    As an international, multi-disciplinary, peer-refereed journal, Learning and Instruction provides a platform for the publication of the most advanced scientific research in the areas of learning, development, instruction and teaching. The journal welcomes original empirical investigations. The papers may represent a variety of theoretical perspectives and different methodological approaches. They may refer to any age level, from infants to adults and to a diversity of learning and instructional settings, from laboratory experiments to field studies. The major criteria in the review and the selection process concern the significance of the contribution to the area of learning and instruction. Published by Elsevier for the European Association for Research on Learning and Instruction (EARLI).
  • Learning and Teaching The International Journal of Higher Education in the Social Sciences
    Learning and Teaching (LATISS) is a peer-reviewed journal that uses the social sciences to reflect critically on learning and teaching in the changing context of higher education. The disciplines covered include politics and international relations, anthropology, sociology, criminology, social policy, cultural studies and educational studies. Recent topics include curriculum innovation, students’ academic writing, PhD research ethics, neo-liberalism and academic identity, and marketisation of higher education. Published by Berghahn.
  • Learning Communities Journal
  • Learning, Media, and Technology
    Learning, Media and Technology is an international, peer-reviewed journal that aims to stimulate debate on the interaction of innovations in learning and educational theory, practices, media and educational technologies. Media and technologies are interpreted in the broadest sense, to encompass the internet and online resources, digital broadcasting, and other new and emerging formats, as well as the traditional media of print, broadcast television and radio. Published by Taylor and Francis Online.
  • Liberal Education
    Liberal Education, the flagship journal of the Association of American Colleges and Universities, expresses the voices of educators, faculty, administrators, and others who are working to enrich liberal learning and undergraduate education. The national forum about liberal education, the journal covers a full range of topics related to teaching and learning, leadership, faculty innovation, and institutional change. Both theoretical and practical articles can be found in the various sections of each issue, providing the latest research and the best thinking about liberal learning and featuring best practices at public and private colleges, community colleges, and universities of every type and size. It is a subscription publication of the American Association of Colleges and Universities.
  • National Teaching and Learning Forum
    Published six times during the academic year, the National Teaching & Learning Forum covers the breadth of college teaching and learning issues including learning theory, class management, pedagogical innovation, technology and more. With regular features and progressive coverage of developments as they happen, the Forum builds and supports an ongoing conversation about teaching and learning on campus. It is published by Wiley Online Library and is available by paid subscription only.
  • New Directions for Community Colleges
    Essential to the professional libraries of presidents, vice presidents, deans, and other leaders in today's open-door institutions, New Directions for Community Colleges provides expert guidance in meeting the challenges of their distinctive and expanding educational mission. Published by Wiley Online in association with the ERIC Clearinghouse for Community Colleges.
  • New Directions for Higher Education
    This quarterly journal is filled with the latest developments in higher education. Each volume in the series is a completely self-contained, fully indexed edited collection featuring contributions from some of the top minds in the field. Published by Wiley.
  • New Directions for Teaching and Learning
    New Directions for Teaching and Learning continues to offer a comprehensive range of ideas and techniques for improving college teaching based on the experience of seasoned instructors and the latest findings of educational and psychological researchers. Online access. Pay for subscription. Published by Wiley Online.
  • Online Classroom
    Online Classroom is the newsletter of choice for those who want to stay abreast of the rapidly evolving world of online teaching. Published monthly by Magna Publications.
  • Open Learning: The Journal of Open and Distance Learning
    This is a leading international journal in the field of open, flexible and distance learning. Open Learning is widely subscribed to and read throughout the world by those in specialist distance education institutions, and also by those using distance, flexible and technology based forms of learning in conventional education and training contexts. Readers are drawn from all levels of education and training both in the private and public sectors and from academic, administrative and technical functions. Published by Taylor and Francis Online.
  • Oxford Review of Education
    The Oxford Review of Education is a well established journal with an extensive international readership. It is committed to deploying the resources of a wide range of academic disciplines in the service of educational scholarship, and the Editors welcome articles reporting significant new research as well as contributions of a more analytic or reflective nature. Published by Taylor and Francis Online.
  • PRIMUS Problems, Resources, and Issues in Mathematics Undergraduate Studies
    PRIMUS: Problems, Resources, and Issues in Mathematics Undergraduate Studies is a refereed journal devoted to dialogue and exchange of ideas among those interested in teaching undergraduate mathematics. This includes those who prepare students for college level mathematics, those who teach college level mathematics, and those who receive students who have been taught college level mathematics. Published by Taylor and Francis Online.
  • Psychology Learning and Teaching
    Psychology Learning and Teaching (PLAT) is an international peer-reviewed journal devoted to enhancing knowledge of how to improve learning and teaching of psychology. To this purpose, PLAT publishes research articles, reviews, target articles and corresponding comments as well as reports on good and innovative learning, teaching and assessment practices. Through PLAT, it is hoped to establish a culture of scholarship in relation to teaching and learning in psychology and related areas. Published in the UK by Symposium Journals.
  • Quarterly Review of Distance Education: Research that Guides Practice
    The Quarterly Review of Distance Education is a rigorously refereed journal publishing articles, research briefs, reviews, and editorials dealing with the theories, research, and practices of distance education. The Quarterly Review defines distance education as institutionally-based formal education in which the learning group is separated and interactive technologies are used to unite the learning group. The journal is published by Information Age Publishing.
  • Research in Higher Education
    Research in Higher Education publishes empirical studies that enhance our understanding of an educational institution or allow comparison among institutions. It focuses on post-secondary education, including two-year and four-year colleges, universities, and graduate and professional schools. Papers in the journal assist faculty and administrators in making more informed decisions about current or future operations and in improving the efficiency and effectiveness of an institution. Among the topics covered in the journal are administration and faculty; curriculum and instruction; student characteristics; alumni assessment; recruitment and admissions; prediction and student academic performance; campus climate; and retention, attrition, and transfer. The journal also publishes brief methodological notes. It is published by Springer for the Association for Institutional Research (AIR).
  • Research into Higher Education Abstracts
    Research into Higher Education Abstracts, published on behalf of the Society for Research into Higher Education, exists to propagate knowledge about, and encourage discussion of, significant research into higher education. Published by Taylor and Francis Online.
  • Review of Education
    Review of Education is an international peer reviewed journal for the publication of major and substantial articles of interest to researchers in education and is expected to become a major focal point for the publication of educational research from throughout the world. It is one of the journals in the major portfolio of publications produced by the British Educational Research Association.
  • Review of Educational Research
    The Review of Educational Research (RER, quarterly, begun in 1931; approximately 640 pp./volume year) publishes critical, integrative reviews of research literature bearing on education. Such reviews should include conceptualizations, interpretations, and syntheses of literature and scholarly work in a field broadly relevant to education and educational research. RER encourages the submission of research relevant to education from any discipline, such as reviews of research in psychology, sociology, history, philosophy, political science, economics, computer science, statistics, anthropology, and biology, provided that the review bears on educational issues. RER does not publish original empirical research unless it is incorporated in a broader integrative review. It is produced by the American Educational Research Association.
  • Review of Higher Education
    The official journal of the Association for the Study of Higher Education (ASHE), The Review of Higher Education provides a forum for discussion of issues affecting higher education. The journal advances the study of college and university issues by publishing peer-reviewed articles, essays, reviews, and research findings. Its broad approach emphasizes systematic inquiry and practical implications. Considered one of the leading research journals in the field, The Review keeps scholars, academic leaders, and public policymakers abreast of critical issues facing higher education today. Published by the John Hopkins University Press and available online through Project Muse.
  • Review of Research in Education
    Review of Research in Education (RRE), published annually, provides an overview and descriptive analysis of selected topics of relevant research literature through critical and synthesizing essays. Articles are usually solicited for specific RRE issues. There may also be calls for papers. RRE promotes discussion and controversy about research problems in addition to pulling together and summarizing the work in a field. It is produced by the American Educational Research Association.
  • Studies in Higher Education
    Studies in Higher Education is a leading international journal publishing research-based articles dealing with higher education issues from either a disciplinary or multi-disciplinary perspective. Empirical, theoretical and conceptual articles of significant originality will be considered. The Journal welcomes contributions that seek to enhance understanding of higher education policy, institutional management and performance, teaching and learning, and the contribution of higher education to society and the economy. Comparative studies and analysis of inter-system and cross-national issues are also welcomed, as are those addressing global and international themes. The Journal will publish annually two special issues on topics of international significance to higher education. It is published by Taylor and Francis Online for the Society for Research into Higher Education.
  • Teachers College Record: The Voice of Scholarship in Education
    The Teachers College Record is a journal of research, analysis, and commentary in the field of education. It has been published continuously since 1900 by Teachers College, Columbia University. Covers many topics in education, including higher education and technology. Has both online ($15/year) and annual ($145/year) subscription.
  • Teaching in Higher Education
    Teaching in Higher Education is an international, peer-reviewed journal. The journal addresses the roles of teaching, learning and the curriculum in higher education in order to explore and clarify the intellectual challenges which they present. The journal is interdisciplinary and aims to open up discussion across subject areas by involving all those who share an enthusiasm for learning and teaching. Online access. Pay for subscription. Published by Taylor and Francis Online.
  • Tech & Learning: Ideas and Tools for Ed Tech Leaders
    Technology & Learning magazine is circulated to over 80,000 elementary, middle, and high school teachers, technology coordinators, and administrators at the building, district, and state levels. We publish articles that encourage educators to think about new approaches to teaching and new ways to use technology in the classroom. We cover all aspects of educational technology: hardware, software, and the Web. Online subscription is free upon signup for US residents. Paid print subscription available.
  • The Educational Forum
    The Educational Forum , published quarterly by Kappa Delta Pi, the International Honor Society in Education, solicits manuscripts that challenge existing ideological and theoretical boundaries on national and international educational issues. Through the inclusion of compelling, thought-provoking perspectives, The Educational Forum intends to serve as a catalyst for stimulating and encouraging dialogue and for transforming the thinking about education. While themes are outlined periodically for upcoming issues, the editorial board of the journal welcomes, at any time, submissions on diverse, substantive topics that contribute to the advancement of education. It is published by Taylor and Francis Online and is available by subscription only.
  • The Journal of Educational Research
    The Journal of Educational Research is a well-known and respected periodical that reaches an international audience of educators and others concerned with cutting-edge theories and proposals. For more than 100 years, the journal has contributed to the advancement of educational practice in elementary and secondary schools by judicious study of the latest trends, examination of new procedures, evaluation of traditional practices, and replication of previous research for validation. The journal is an invaluable resource for teachers, counselors, supervisors, administrators, curriculum planners, and educational researchers as they consider the structure of tomorrow's curricula. Special issues examine major education issues in depth. Topics of recent themes include methodology, motivation, and literacy. Published by Taylor and Francis Online.
  • The Teaching Professor
    Published 10 times per year, The Teaching Professor is a lively, practical newsletter with a singular purpose: to provide ideas and insights to educators who are passionate about teaching. For 25 years, The Teaching Professor has been edited by Maryellen Weimer, Ph.D., professor emerita of teaching and learning, winner of Penn State's Milton S. Eisenhower award for distinguished teaching, and author of many books on teaching and learning. Under her auspices, each issue delivers thought-provoking and inspirational articles. Published by Magna Publications.
  • To Improve the Academy
    Print publication (transitioning to online) of the POD Network
  • Women in Higher Education
    Women in Higher Education is a monthly practitioner’s news journal, designed to help smart women on campus get wise about how gender affects their being successful in the male-dominated world of higher education. Its goals are to enlighten, encourage, empower and enrage women on campus. By sharing problems and solutions, women can learn to talk back, refuse to accept blame and quit taking guff from people who are less enlightened. Online subscription is $37/year and print $40/year.
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip