- Academic Exchange Quarterly
Academic Exchange Quarterly, begun ten years ago as a traditional publishing print-format journal with key editors from the same college, will celebrate its 10th anniversary in Fall 2007. Currently, articles from Academic Exchange Quarterly are available in four formats: print, online, digital, and HTML version. Due to this journal's virtual organizational structure, AEQ editors and authors come from all fifty states and forty-four foreign countries.
- Across the Disciplines: A Journal of Language, Learning, and Academic Writing
Across the Disciplines is the result of a merger between two peer-reviewed, academic journals: Language and Learning Across the Disciplines and Academic.Writing. The mission of Academic.Writing, an online journal that was published from 2000 through 2003, was to provide information for - and an opportunity for interaction among - scholars interested in writing, speaking, and otherwise communicating across the curriculum (CAC). Language and Learning Across the Disciplines, a print journal published from 1994 to 2003, was a more traditional journal that focused on writing in the disciplines. In late 2002, when Academic.Writing shifted from being the "container" for the WAC Clearinghouse and became, instead, one of the publications available on the newer WAC Clearinghouse Web site, the scope of the journal shifted from a repository of all forms of information about communication across the curriculum to a more standard academic journal.
- Australasian Journal of Educational Technology
The Australasian Journal of Educational Technology is the journal of ascilite, the Australasian Society for Computers in Learning in Tertiary Education. It aims to promote research and scholarship on the integration of technology in tertiary education, promote effective practice, and inform policy. Full PDFs of articles may be downloaded from the website.
- Campus Technology
Each issue contains feature articles, case studies, product reviews and profiles of technology use at the individual, departmental, and institutional level. Featured topics include advanced networking, administrative systems, portals, security, electronic publishing, presentation technologies, course management systems, technology infrastructure and strategic IT planning. Online version is free but you have to sign up.
- Canadian Journal of Higher Education (CJHE)
- Canadian Journal on the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
The Canadian Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (CJSoTL) is the official, trans-disciplinary, peer-reviewed, electronic publication of the Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education
. CJSoTL/RCACEA seeks to advance the scholarship of teaching and learning in Canadian post-secondary institutions. It therefore provides an avenue for a wide range of educators, including faculty members, administrators, academic librarians, educational developers, learning resource specialists, and graduate students, to discuss ways of enhancing student learning experiences through systematic inquiry into teaching and learning in all disciplines.
- Collected Essays on Learning and Teaching (CELT)
Collected Essays on Learning and Teaching (CELT) publishes peer-reviewed scholarly and practice-based articles associated with the annual conference of the Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (STLHE)
. Now in its sixth volume, the intent is to challenge conference presenters to convert the essence of their peer-reviewed sessions into essay form for a wide readership interested in teaching improvement practices in higher education.
- Currents in Teaching and Learning
Currents in Teaching and Learning is a peer-reviewed, open access, electronic journal that fosters exchanges among reflective teacher-scholars across the disciplines. Published twice a year, Currents seeks to improve teaching and learning in higher education with short reports on classroom practices as well as longer research, theoretical, or conceptual articles, and explorations of issues and challenges facing teachers today. It is published by the Center for Teaching and Learning
at Worcester State University.
- EDUCAUSE Review Online
EDUCAUSE Review® Online (ISSN 1945-709X) is the association's open-access digital flagship publication for the higher education IT community. EDUCAUSE Review (ISSN: 1527-6619), the association's award-winning print magazine (22,000 distributed copies), takes a broad look at current developments and trends in information technology, how they may affect the college/university as an institution, and what these mean for higher education and society. (Also has print edition).
- Electronic Journal of e-Learning (EJEL)
The Electronic Journal of e-Learning (EJEL) provides perspectives on topics relevant to the study, implementation and management of e-Learning initiatives. EJEL has published regular issues since 2003 and averages between 3 and 4 issues a year.
The journal contributes to the development of both theory and practice in the field of e-Learning. The Editorial team consider academically robust papers and welcome empirical research, case studies, action research, theoretical discussions, literature reviews and other work which advances learning in this field. All papers are double-blind peer reviewed.
- Essays on Teaching Excellence
- European Journal of Open, Distance and E-Learning
This refereed online journal on distance and e-learning publishes the accounts of research, development and teaching in its most inclusive definition, exploring the potential of electronic publishing. It is published by the European Distance and E-Learning Network (EDEN)
. EURODL is free to readers and contributes to the Open Content movement. Subscribers can follow the availability of new journal issues and related news from EDEN by the regular e-mail notification and RSS as well as get access to interactive services such as commenting and discussion board. Subscription is possible by joining the EURODL mailing list. You will receive notification on the availability of new journal issues and related news from EDEN
- Faculty Focus: Higher Ed Teaching Strategies from Magna Publications
Through its free e-newsletter and dedicated website, Faculty Focus publishes articles on effective teaching strategies for the college classroom — both face-to-face and online. Faculty Focus was created in 2003 by Magna Publications.
Faculty Focus is edited by Mary Bart. Mary joined Magna in 2008 and also manages the company’s social media presence. Mary got her start in journalism as a reporter and managing editor at a small community newspaper in upstate New York and later served at the editor-in-chief of Counseling Today, the monthly magazine of the American Counseling Association. In addition to her editorial experience, Mary worked in public relations and marketing for seven years.
- Higher Ed Impact Article Archive
This is not a peer-reviewed journal but an online magazine produced by Academic Impressions (AI), a consulting company that provides services to colleges and universities. AI maintains an archive of its free online articles on topics on higher education issues and technologies.
- Higher Education in Review
Higher Education in Review (HER) is an independent, refereed journal published by graduate students of the Higher Education Program at the Pennsylvania State University
. The Journal is distributed to over 30 higher education graduate programs nation-wide and is electronically available, free of charge, on our website. Authors must be currently-enrolled graduate students or have written their manuscript while still in graduate school. Graduate students from a variety of disciplines and fields (e.g., education, sociology, economics, law, and psychology) are encouraged to submit their work for consideration. Submissions are accepted year-round.
- Higher Education Perspectives
Higher Education Perspectives is a student-led, peer-reviewed journal that examines all aspects of higher education within Canada and internationally. It is published by the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE)
at the University of Toronto.
- IHE Report
- Inside Higher Ed
Inside Higher Ed is the online source for news, opinion and jobs for all of higher education. Whether you're an adjunct or a vice president, a grad student or an eminence grise, we've got what you need to thrive in your job or find a better one: breaking news and feature stories, provocative daily commentary, areas for comment on every article, practical career columns, and a powerful suite of tools to help higher education professionals get jobs and colleges identify and hire employees.
Inside Higher Ed was founded in 2004 by three executives with decades of expertise in higher education journalism and recruitment. We believed that higher education was evolving quickly and radically, and that the time was right for new models of providing information and career services for professionals in academe.
- InSight: A Journal of Scholarly Teaching
InSight: A Journal of Scholarly Teaching is a scholarly publication designed to highlight the work of postsecondary faculty. It is a refereed scholarly journal published annually by the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning (CETL)
at Park University in Missouri.
- Interdisciplinary Journal of E-Learning and Learning Objects (IJELLO)
The academically peer refereed Interdisciplinary Journal of E-Learning and Learning Objects (IJELLO) - formerly Interdisciplinary Journal of Knowledge and Learning Objects - endeavors to provide readers around the world with the widest possible coverage of developments in E-Learning and Learning Objects, as shown in our mission statement. . IJELLO is an interdisciplinary forum that publishes high quality articles on theory, practice, innovation, and research that cover all aspects of E-Learning and Learning Objects. IJELLO is published in print annually in a single volume by subscription and its articles also appear online free of charge as soon as they are accepted. This arrangement provides authors with the widest possible readership while ensuring that their papers are fully accepted as bona fide. Published by the Informing Science Institute
- Interdisciplinary Journal of Problem-Based Learning
The Interdisciplinary Journal of Problem-based Learning (IJPBL) publishes relevant, interesting, and challenging articles of research, analysis, or promising practice related to all aspects of implementing problem-based learning (PBL) in K–12 and post-secondary classrooms.
IJPBL is an Open Access journal. This means that it uses a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access. Readers may freely read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of articles. It is published by the Teaching Academy at Purdue University
- International Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching & Learning (IJSTL)
- International Journal of Instructional Technology and Distance Learning
- International Journal of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (IJTLHE)
- Journal for Academic Excellence
Publishes scholarship of teaching and learning research; book reviews on scholarly works on higher education administration or issues, college teaching, or adult learning; literature reviews that synthesize issues in higher education; and essays or personal reflections on classroom incidents with evidence- or theory-based interpretations. Published by the Center for Academic Excellence
at Dalton State University (Georgia).
- Journal of Educational Technology & Society
Educational Technology & Society is a quarterly journal (January, April, July and October). Educational Technology & Society seeks academic articles on the issues affecting the developers of educational systems and educators who implement and manage such systems. It is a free, open access journal published online by the International Forum of Educational Technology & Society
- Journal of Asynchronous Learning Networks (JALN)
Published by the Sloan-C Consortium. The aim of the Journal of Asynchronous Learning Networks is to describe original work in asynchronous learning networks (ALN), including experimental results. Our mission is to provide practitioners in online education with knowledge about the very best research in online learning. Papers emphasizing results, backed by data are the norm. Occasionally, papers reviewing broad areas are published, including critical reviews of thematic areas. Papers useful to administrators are welcome. JALN is published 4 times a year, and entire issues are published from time-to-time around a single topic or disciplinary areas. Calls for papers for special issues include specific due dates, but general submissions are accepted year-round. . The Journal adheres to traditional s
- Journal of Career Education Principles and Practices (JCEPP)
The Journal of Career Education Principles and Practices is an online, peer-reviewed journal published bi-annually by the Center for Teaching and Learning at Keiser University. It is designed to publish articles, essays, and discussions regarding the principles and practices specific to career education. These areas include teaching and learning, student services, financial services, enrollment management, accreditation, and management and leadership.
- Journal of College Teaching and Learning
The Journal of College Teaching & Learning (TLC) welcomes articles in all areas of K-12 through college level teaching, learning, and administration. This journal publishes papers that significantly contribute to the understanding of all aspects of teaching and learning issues and related fields. Using a wide range of research methods including statistical analysis, analytical work, case studies, field research and historical analysis, articles examine significant research questions from a broad range of perspectives. The intent of TLC is to publish papers that significantly contribute to the knowledge of teaching & learning at all levels. It is free and open access and is sponsored by the Clute Institute
- Journal of Educators Online
Journal of Educators Online is an online double-blind peer review scholarly journal in the broad area of Computer Mediated Learning (CML) which includes distance, online, electronic, virtual, distributed, blended and mobile learning. Computer-mediated learning occurs when an individual interactively learns (formally or informally, synchronously or asynchronously) about material via computer means where the learning materials and pedagogy are developed to take advantage of the available technologies.
- Journal of Interactive Media in Education (JIME)
JIME is an open access online journal in educational technology that focuses on the implications and use of digital media in education. It aims to foster a multidisciplinary and intellectually rigorous debate on both the theory and practice of interactive media in education. JIME was launched in September, 1996.
- Journal of Interactive Online Learning
The Journal of Interactive Online Learning focuses on providing a venue for manuscripts, critical essays, and reviews that encompass disciplinary and interdisciplinary perspectives in regards to issues related to higher-level learning outcomes.
The Journal of Interactive Online Learning is published by a joint effort of The University of Alabama, the University of Texas at Tyler, and Miami University, as well as faculty from other institutions.
The Journal of Interactive Online Learning is a scholarly, peer-reviewed online journal which offers free access to its readers. Copyright is maintained by JIOL.
- Journal of International Education Research (JIER)
The Journal of International Education Research (JIER) welcomes articles in all areas of international education research. Formerly titled College Teaching Methods & Styles Journal. This journal publishes papers that significantly contribute to the understanding of all aspects of international education teaching and learning issues. Using a wide range of research methods including statistical analysis, analytical work, case studies, field research and historical analysis, articles examine significant research questions from a broad range of perspectives. Published online by the Clute Institute
- Journal of Pedagogic Development
The Journal of Pedagogic Development (JPD) is developed in the Centre for Learning Excellence at the University of Bedfordshire in Luton, England. It was launched at the University of Bedfordshire conference (5/6 July 2011) and its focus is on teaching, learning and assessment. (ISSN 2047-3265 for all issues.)
- Journal of Teaching and Learning with Technology (JoTLT)
The Journal of Teaching and Learning with Technology (JoTLT) is an international journal dedicated to exploring efforts to enhance student learning in higher education through the use of technology. The journal is published by the Faculty Colloquium on Excellence in Teaching (FACET)
at the Indiana University System. Register on the journal website for free access to current and past articles.
- Journal of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (JoSoTL)
- Journal of University Teaching and Learning Practice
The Journal of University Teaching and Learning Practice is a tri-annual, peer-reviewed journal publishing papers that add significantly to the body of knowledge describing effective and innovative teaching and learning practice in the higher education environment. The Journal aims to provide a forum for educational practitioners in a wide range of disciplines to communicate their teaching and learning outcomes in a scholarly way. Its purpose is to bridge the gap between journals covering purely academic research and more pragmatic articles and opinions published elsewhere. Published by the University of Wollongong
- Learning and Teaching in Higher Education (LATHE)
LATHE is an interdisciplinary refereed journal providing an accessible international forum for scholarly debate related to learning, teaching and assessment in higher education. LATHE aims to serve as an effective dissemination mechanism for pedagogic research and development through the publication of scholarly articles, book reviews and case studies of effective practice which promote innovative teaching, learning and assessment approaches that may be considered for adoption or adaptation by academics worldwide. It is published online by the University of Gloucestershire (UK).
- MERLOT Journal of Online Learning and Teaching (JOLT)
The MERLOT Journal of Online Learning and Teaching (JOLT) is a peer-reviewed, open-access, online publication that aims to promote scholarship in the use of the Internet and web-based multimedia resources in higher education. The first issue appeared online in July 2005 and included a number of invited papers from various disciplines. The journal is now published quarterly in March, June, September, and December. The publisher of JOLT is MERLOT
, an initiative of the California State University Office of the Chancellor
that provides a free and open online community of resources designed primarily for faculty, staff, and students from universities and colleges around the world to share their learning materials and pedagogy.
- MountainRise: The International Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
- National Teaching and Learning Forum Newsletters
- New Directions in Teaching and Learning in the Physical Sciences
New Directions is a showcase to disseminate innovation and research in the teaching of physical sciences in higher education. It promotes developments to practitioners and the wider community by the publication of short reports and reviews, and encourages evidence based teaching by publishing research articles, particularly those in the early stages of development. Published by the Higher Education Academy
- Online Journal of Distance Learning Administration
The Online Journal of Distance Learning Administration is a peer-reviewed electronic journal offered free each quarter over the World Wide Web. The journal welcomes manuscripts based on original work of practitioners and researchers with specific focus or implications for the management of distance education programs.
- Reflections from the Classroom
- Statistics Education Research Journal (SERJ)
SERJ is a peer-reviewed electronic journal of the International Association for Statistical Education (IASE) and the International Statistical Institute (ISI). SERJ is published twice a year and is free. It is published by the International Association for Statistics Education
A good syllabus is a piece of original scholarship; a great one is also an art form. A research or theory paper go through peer review process to be recognized and validated; the same process should be available to course materials. This is a small step towards taking college as seriously as we take research. The journal publishes original syllabi, assessment instruments, assignments and activities, and articles related to college teaching.
- Talon Tips, Kennesaw State University Distance Learning Center (Georgia)
KSU’s Talon Tips is designed to offer collaborative and developmental resources for faculty to share best practices in distance learning. The newsletter includes pedagogical techniques, technical tips and tricks, and other valuable insights offered by those who actively participate in a virtual environment.
- Teaching and Learning Magazine
Teaching & Learning magazine, published twice a year (in spring and fall) by the Office of the Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education, features stories about innovative teaching and learning at Indiana University Bloomington. Stories cover the entire campus and reflect the perspectives of both teachers and students.
- Teaching Center Journal (Washington University)
Online journal produced by the Teaching Center at Washington University in St. Louis, Missouri.
- Teaching Matters
- The International HETL Review
- The International Review of Research in Open and Distance Learning
The International Review of Research in Open and Distance Learning (www.irrodl.org) is a refereed, open access e-journal that disseminates original research, theory, and best practice in open and distance learning worldwide. IRRODL is available free-of-charge to anyone with access to the Internet.
- The Journal of Asynchronous Learning Networks (JALN)
The aim of the Journal of Asynchronous Learning Networks is to describe original work in asynchronous learning networks (ALN), including experimental results. Our mission is to provide practitioners in online education with knowledge about the very best research in online learning. Papers emphasizing results, backed by data are the norm. Occasionally, papers reviewing broad areas are published, including critical reviews of thematic areas. Papers useful to administrators are welcome. JALN is published 4 times a year, and entire issues are published from time-to-time around a single topic or disciplinary areas. Calls for papers for special issues include specific due dates, but general submissions are accepted year-round. . The Journal adheres to traditional standards of double-blind peer review. PDFs of articles available for free download online.
- The Journal of Distance Education / Revue de l'Éducation à Distance
The Journal of Distance Education is an international publication of the Canadian Network for Innovation in Education (CNIE). Its aims are to promote and encourage scholarly work in e-learning and distance education and provide a forum for the dissemination of international scholarship. Original material in either English or French is invited in three broad categories: (a) Scholarly articles and research papers that focus on issues related to e-learning and distance education; (b) Reports that highlight unique solutions to critical problems, short descriptions of work underlying new or innovative programs or contemporary events, and brief notes on research in progress; and (c) Dialogues devoted to the discussion or debate of issues in e-learning and distance education that may arouse controversy. Also included here will be papers written in reply to articles published in earlier issues of the Journal.
- The Learning MarketSpace
The Learning MarketSpace is a semi-annual electronic newsletter published by the National Center for Academic Transformation (NCAT) that examines issues related to the development and implementation of redesigned learning environments. The newsletter is published in April and October.
- The Scholarship of Teaching (now suspended)
- The Teaching Forum
The Former Newsletter of the Vanderbilt University Center for Teaching. Past issues of The Teaching Forum are archived here.
- Transformative Dialogues: Teaching and Learning Journal
Transformative Dialogues (TD) is a forum for conversations intended to foster the improvement of teaching and learning in post-secondary education. It is a free, online, open access publication of the Kwantlen Polytechnic University in Canada. TD facilitates the multi-disciplinary intellectual debate and inquiry, exchange of ideas, actions, and results of innovative and professional practice in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning. These conversations are intended to span a wide range of reflections on the processes of teaching and learning ranging from the scholarly to scholarship. The international dialogues are focused on improving faculty and, therefore, student learning, and critical thought processes in their current and future lifelong learning. The editorial board recognizes that scholarship may play out differently in different disciplines, but, as Ernest Boyer pointed out in Scholarship Reconsidered (1992), the basic principles should be consis