General Directories and LinksOpen Access JournalsSubscription Journals and PublicationsBooks on Teaching and Learning
OrganizationsConferencesListservs and Bulletin Boards
Instructional Materials and Teaching ModulesOnline Collections and Open Textbook ResourcesTeaching and Learning BlogsVideos, Webinars, Podcasts, and AppsVirtual Libraries
Access and Retention in Higher EducationActive-Learning and Project-Based LearningAdaptive LearningClassroom Response SystemsFaculty DevelopmentGlobal EducationHigher Education (Policy and Administration)Instructional DesignIntellectual Property and CopyrightNon-Cognitive Variables in LearningVendors of Emerging Technologies
Highlights of Great Resources Pages from TLCsDirectory of TLCs in United States by State (A-G)Directory of TLCs in United States by State (H-M)Directory of TLCs in United States by State (N-P)Directory of TLCs in United States by State (Q-Z)Teaching and Learning Centers in Canada
Intellectual Property (IP) Agreements at USM InstitutionsUSM Resource PagesUSM Teaching and Learning CentersInnovation at USM
Map of State Higher Education Systems
Structure of the LibGuideGuide to Editing the LibGuide: Logging InEditing the LibGuide: Editing Rich Text BoxesEditing the LibGuide: Editing Links and Lists BoxesAdding Books to a “Books from the Catalog” boxResizing Page ColumnsReordering/Moving PagesReordering Boxes Within and Between PagesAdding a PageReusing a PageAdding a Box to a PageUploading Images to the LibGuideEditing Page InformationEditing Box InformationChanging the LibGuide's Style
This is the "Instructional Materials and Teaching Modules" page of the "Resources on Teaching and Learning in Higher Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Links to resources on teaching and learning in Higher Education, including journals, publications, conferences, directories, and links to other resource pages.
Last Updated: Jul 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ischoool.umd.edu/teachandlearn Print Guide RSS Updates

Instructional Materials and Teaching Modules Print Page
  Search: 
 

Online Instructional Materials

See also Highlights of Great Resources Pages of TLCs for more resources

  • Affordable Learning Solutions (developed by California State University)
    CSU’s Affordable Learning Solutions enables faculty to choose and provide more affordable, quality educational content for their students.

    By reducing CSU student course material expenses, more students acquire the course materials they need to succeed and benefit from their CSU learning experience.

    Now, CSU faculty and students have greater access to quality free and low-cost learning materials through a variety of ALS programs and partnerships.
  • ARIADNE
    ARIADNE is a European foundation that maintains the world's largest repository of online learning resources with more than 600,000 resources and 800,000 additional available through federated searches.
  • BioInteractive: Free Resources for Science Teachers and Students
    Developed by Howard Hughes Medical Institute. Free resources for science teachers and students, including animations, short films, and apps.
  • California Learning Resource Network
    In December of 1999, the California Department of Education awarded the SETS (Statewide Education Technology Services) Learning Resource contract to Stanislaus County Office of Education as LEA (Local Education Agency), with partner county offices of education in Humboldt, Kings, Orange, Sacramento, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, and San Diego. CLRN provides educators with a "one-stop" resource for critical information needed for the selection of supplemental electronic learning resources aligned to the State Board of Education academic content standards.
  • ChemCollective: Virtual Lab
    As a project in the National Science Digital Library (NSDL), the ChemCollective's goals are to support a community of instructors interested in improving chemistry education through interactive and engaging online activities. Interactive exercises can allow students to explore and reinforce fundamental concepts in contexts that are increasingly complex, realistic, and engaging. Our goal is to create flexible, interactive learning environments where college and high school students can approach chemistry more like practicing scientists.
  • CK-12
    CK-12 provides open-source content and technology tools to help teachers provide learning opportunities for students globally. Free access to high-quality, customizable educational content in multiple modalities suited to multiple student learning styles and levels will allow teachers, students and others to innovate and experiment with new models of learning. CK-12 helps students and teachers alike by enabling rapid customization and experimentation of teaching and learning styles.
  • DocsTeach, National Archives' (US) Teacher Resources

    Want to create custom activities for the classroom?
    Share your activities with students by using DocsTeach Classrooms?
    Use lessons that other educators have created?
    Explore, bookmark, and share primary sources from the National Archives?
  • EDSITEment: The Best of Humanities on the Web, National Endowment for the Humanities
    EDSITEment is a partnership among the National Endowment for the Humanities, Verizon Foundation, and the National Trust for the Humanities.

    EDSITEment offers a treasure trove for teachers, students, and parents searching for high-quality material on the Internet in the subject areas of literature and language arts, foreign languages, art and culture, and history and social studies.

    All websites linked to EDSITEment have been reviewed for content, design, and educational impact in the classroom. They cover a wide range of humanities subjects, from American history to literature, world history and culture, language, art, and archaeology, and have been judged by humanities specialists to be of high intellectual quality. EDSITEment is not intended to represent a complete curriculum in the humanities, nor does it prescribe any specific course of study.
  • Educational Technology and Mobile Learning
    Website maintained by Med Kahrbach offering a plethora of downloadable resources for teaching, including posters, Ipad apps, teacher guides, and information on using YouTube.
  • HippoCampus
    HippoCampus is a project of the Monterey Institute for Technology and Education (MITE). The goal of HippoCampus is to provide high-quality, multimedia content on general education subjects to high school and college students free of charge.
  • JORUM
    Jorum is the place where you will find free open educational resources (OER) shared and created under CC licenses by those who teach in or create content for the further and higher education communities in the UK.


    Funded by Jisc, we are the UK's largest OER repository, and our collections grow daily.
  • Kentucky Learning Depot
    The Kentucky Learning Depot is Kentucky’s P-20 repository for quality digital learning content. This is about educators connecting with content to build a learning community. For a quick introduction, click on “Get to know Depot” video link on the left.
  • Library of Congress' Teachers' Page
    The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching.

    Find Library of Congress lesson plans and more that meet Common Core standards, state content standards, and the standards of national organizations.
  • LORN-Learning Object Repository Network
    LORN allows teachers and trainers to find and use online training resources from across the Australian vocational education and training (VET) sector.

    Resources are provided by the repositories whose logos feature above.
  • MERLOT II (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching)
    MERLOT is a program of the California State University system in partnership with higher education institutions, professional societies and industries. It is an online repository of peer-reviewed instructional materials submitted by postsecondary educators and made available to other faculty for inclusion in their course materials.
  • Minnesota Online Digital Exchange (MODE)
    Welcome to the Minnesota Online Digital Exchange (MODE) Project Implementation site. This project site was developed to plan, train, and get the word out about an exciting opportunity for faculty and others to find, develop, and share digital learning content.
    MODE was developed with a focus on exchanging and promoting shared high-quality digital learning content across our Minnesota State Colleges and Univerisities system. MODE can support and provide access to digital content to support learning and course development across the system in—

    Credit
    Noncredit
    Customized training
  • MIT Open Course Ware
    MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
  • National Digital Learning Resources
    An Irish online national learning repository. The NDLR mission is "to promote and support Higher Education sector staff in the collaboration development and sharing of learning resources and associated teaching practices".

    A key impact of the NDLR service is to support greater collaboration in developing and sharing of digital teaching resources and associated teaching experience across all subject disciplines and communities of academics and to promote good practice use and re-use of existing resources. By being empowered by the support of communities of academics, staff from different disciplines can share effort and expertise as they raise the bar collectively for how they support their students learning, embed research in their teaching and potentially embracing partnerships with research and industry, both in Ireland and Internationally.
  • National Endowment for the Arts
    A federal agency that funds projects in the visual and performing arts. Although NEA's website does not have a repository of learning materials per se, it does feature a number of blogs, podcasts, slideshows, and videos on its website.
  • National Repository of Online Courses
    The National Repository of Online Courses (NROC) is a growing library of high-quality online course content for students and faculty in higher education, high school and Advanced Placement.
  • National Science Digital Library
    Funded by the National Science Foundation. NSDL Science Literacy Maps help teachers connect concepts, standards, and NSDL educational resources by providing a way to see and discover how scientific concepts relate to one another.
  • NCLOR (North Carolina Learning Object Repository)
    Our repository collects documents, audio/video clips, simulations, learning modules, assessments, and more – virtually any type of learning resource that can be digitized and processed. Teachers from around the state can then search the NCLOR, find resources appropriate to the classes they are teaching, and use them as is or modify them to suit their needs. This concept of sharing and reusing is the core of the NCLOR philosophy. Teachers can become more productive and can save a lot of time.
  • OER Commons
    Open access educational resources and textbooks.
  • Open Learning Initiative (OLI), Carnegie Mellon University
    The Open Learning Initiative (OLI) is a grant-funded group at Carnegie Mellon University, offering innovative online courses to anyone who wants to learn or teach. Our aim is to create high-quality courses and contribute original research to improve learning and transform higher education.
  • OpenLearn/The Open University
    The OU was founded to open up higher education to all, regardless of their circumstances or where they live. We have students of all ages and backgrounds: school students wanting experience of university-level study, school leavers who choose to begin their careers while they study for a degree, people wanting to develop or update their skills, or change career entirely, and retired people wanting to explore new interests and keep mentally active. The Open University’s Strategic Plan 2012-15 is the means by which we secure The Open University’s Mission and thrive as a University within the new Higher Education environment across the four nations of the UK and internationally.
  • OpenStax CNX
    OpenStax believes that everyone has something to learn, and everyone has something to teach.

    Frustrated by the limitations of traditional textbooks and courses, Dr. Richard Baraniuk founded OpenStax (then Connexions) in 1999 at Rice University to provide authors and learners with an open space where they can share and freely adapt educational materials such as courses, books, and reports.

    Today, OpenStax CNX is a dynamic non-profit digital ecosystem serving millions of users per month in the delivery of educational content to improve learning outcomes.

    There are tens of thousands of learning objects, called pages, that are organized into thousands of textbook-style books in a host of disciplines, all easily accessible online and downloadable to almost any device, anywhere, anytime.

    The best part? Everything is available for free thanks to generous support from Rice University and several philanthropic organizations.
  • PBS LearningMedia
  • PhET: Interactive Science Simulations
    Fun, interactive, research-based simulations of physical phenomena from the PhET™ project at the University of Colorado.
  • PRIMO Peer-Reviewed Instructional Materials Online Database (Formerly Internet Education Project)
    PRIMO is a means to promote and share peer-reviewed instructional materials created by librarians to teach people about discovering, accessing and evaluating information in networked environments. The Committee hopes that publicizing selective, high quality resources will help librarians to respond to the educational challenges posed by still emerging digital technologies. Developed by the Association of College and Research Libraries.
  • Problem-Based Learning Clearinghouse
  • STAR Software Tools (MIT)
    The STAR program at MIT seeks to bridge the divide between scientific research and the classroom. Understanding and applying research methods in the classroom setting can be challenging due to time constraints and the need for advanced equipment and facilities. The multidisciplinary STAR team collaborates with faculty from MIT and other educational institutions to design software exploring core scientific research concepts. The goal of STAR is to develop innovative and intuitive teaching tools for classroom use.

    All of the STAR educational tools are freely available. To complement our educational software, the STAR website contains curriculum components/modules which can facilitate the use of STAR educational tools in a variety of educational settings. Students, teachers, and professors should feel welcome to download software and curriculum modules for their own use. We welcome your comments and feedback as you explore these educational tools.
  • Syllabus
    (This is an online journal but provides free assignments, activities, and syllabi). A good syllabus is a piece of original scholarship; a great one is also an art form. A research or theory paper go through peer review process to be recognized and validated; the same process should be available to course materials. This is a small step towards taking college as seriously as we take research. The journal publishes original syllabi, assessment instruments, assignments and activities, and articles related to college teaching.
  • TED
    TED is a non-profit organization that began as a conference on Technology, Entertainment and Design. It's mission - provide access to "ideas worth spreading." The web site offers a collection of talks given around the world by prominent, creative people on a wide variety of topics. The site could serve as a resource for videos that you could use in preparing course material or that you could have your students view.
  • TED-Ed: Lessons Worth Sharing
    TED-Ed’s commitment to creating lessons worth sharing is an extension of TED’s mission of spreading great ideas. Within TED-Ed’s growing library of lessons, you will find carefully curated educational videos, many of which represent collaborations between talented educators and animators nominated through the TED-Ed platform. This platform also allows users to take any useful educational video, not just TED's, and easily create a customized lesson around the video. Users can then distribute TED-Ed lessons, publicly or privately, and track their impact on the world, a class, or an individual student. This platform is also the home to TED-Ed Clubs -- an exciting new program that aims to stimulate and celebrate the best ideas of students around the world.
  • The Orange Grove: Florida's Digital Repository
    The Orange Grove repository, is Florida's digital repository for instructional resources. The repository provides an environment for educators to search for, use, remix, share, and contribute educational resources. The repository can also be integrated with your Learning Management Systems (e.g., Blackboard, Desire 2 Learn, Canvas) . A joint initiative of the University Press of Florida and The Orange Grove, Florida’s Digital Repository. The goal of this partnership is to reduce the cost of books to students by offering texts that are affordable, accessible, and adaptable to reader preferences.
  • WAC (Writing Across the Curriculum) Clearinghouse. Colorado State University
    The WAC Clearinghouse is supported by Colorado State University. The Clearinghouse provides instructors who include writing components in their classes free access to a wide variety of communication and writing across the curriculum materials: professional journals, books, and other resources.

    In addition, it offers a database-driven research exchange platform for an international network of members.
  • WeBWork
    WeBWorK is an open-source online homework system for math and sciences courses. WeBWorK is supported by the Mathematical Association of America and the National Science Foundation and comes with a National Problem Library (NPL) of over 20,000 homework problems. Problems in the NPL target most lower division undergraduate math courses and some advanced courses. Supported courses include college algebra, discrete mathematics, probability and statistics, single and multivariable calculus, differential equations, linear algebra and complex analysis.
  • WISC-Online
    Wisc-Online is a digital library of Web-based learning resources called "learning objects." The digital library of objects has been developed primarily by faculty from the Wisconsin Technical College System (WTCS) and produced by multimedia technicians who create the learning objects.

Self-Study Resources

  • ChemCollective: Virtual Lab
    As a project in the National Science Digital Library (NSDL), the ChemCollective's goals are to support a community of instructors interested in improving chemistry education through interactive and engaging online activities. Interactive exercises can allow students to explore and reinforce fundamental concepts in contexts that are increasingly complex, realistic, and engaging. Our goal is to create flexible, interactive learning environments where college and high school students can approach chemistry more like practicing scientists.
  • MyOpenMath
    MyOpenMath runs on the free, open source, IMathAS platform, providing free hosted use of this platform in support of free, open textbooks. The intent is to provide classroom use of the platform, without any added cost to students, for schools unable to host their own install of the IMathAS platform, and to provide students self-study opportunities.

Online Teaching Modules

 

  • Academic Earth
    A consortium of universities offer free online lectures/course materials in multiple subjects. Academic Earth believes everyone deserves access to a world-class education, which is why we continue to offer a comprehensive collection of free online college courses from the world's top universities. And now, we take learning outside the classroom with our original series of thought-provoking videos, designed to spark your intellectual curiosity and start a conversation. Watch, learn, share, debate. After all, only through questioning the world around us, can we come to better understand it.
  • Course Guidebooks (for teaching professional development courses on teaching)
    The seven course guidebooks were developed by CIRTL (Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning), a network of 23 institutions working on issues related to STEM education at colleges and universities. CIRTL has guidebooks that can be used in teaching courses to faculty and graduate students on such topics as Creating a Collaborative Learning Environment, Effective Teaching with Technology, and Instructional Materials Development Course.
  • Course Organization and Planning Online Module
    Developed by the Center for Teaching and Learning at Indiana University-Purdue University, Indianapolis, this is an online module that will help faculty in development of an online course.
  • History Matters: The U.S. Survey Course on the Web
    Welcome to History Matters, a project of the American Social History Project/Center for Media and Learning of the City University of New York and the Center for History and New Media at George Mason University with funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities, the W. K. Kellogg Foundation, the Rockefeller Foundation, and the Visible Knowledge Project.
  • Implementing Your Design Online Module
    Developed by the Center for Teaching and Learning at Indiana University-Purdue University, Indianapolis, this guide teaches faculty how to develop and implement online courses. This step-by-step guide covers Course Design and Activities, Content Delivery Activities, and Learning/Assessment Activities.
  • Instructional Development Manual
    Online manual developed by the Walter H. Adams Center for Teaching Excellence at Abilene Christian University.
  • Khan Academy
    Khan Academy is an organization on a mission. We're a not-for-profit with the goal of changing education for the better by providing a free world-class education for anyone anywhere.

    All of the site's resources are available to anyone. It doesn't matter if you are a student, teacher, home-schooler, principal, adult returning to the classroom after 20 years, or a friendly alien just trying to get a leg up in earthly biology. Khan Academy's materials and resources are available to you completely free of charge.
  • Open Course Library
    The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts. Some of our materials (also called open educational resources, or OER) are paired with low cost textbooks ($30 or less). Many of the courses can be taught at no cost to students. Unless otherwise noted, all materials are shared under a Creative Commons (CC BY) license.OCL courses and materials have undergone testing for accessibility and have been designed using the industry-standard Quality Matters (QM) rubric for assessing the quality of online courses.
  • Open Learning Initiative (OLI), Carnegie Mellon University
    The Open Learning Initiative (OLI) is a grant-funded group at Carnegie Mellon University, offering innovative online courses to anyone who wants to learn or teach. Our aim is to create high-quality courses and contribute original research to improve learning and transform higher education.
  • Publications-Center for Faculty Excellence, UNC-Chapel Hill
    This series of monographs addresses topics related to teaching strategies and instructional methods. Written for faculty and teaching assistants, the monographs contain relevant research, summaries of current practice, and practical suggestions for teaching in a variety of disciplines.
  • Resources, Faculty Teaching and Resource Portal, Texas A & M University
    Comprehensive "how to" guide for teaching and learning in higher education developed by the Center for Teaching Excellence at Texas A & M University. Includes modules on assessment, course design, blended learning, teaching with technology, and many other topics.
  • The Syllabus Institute
    The Syllabus Institute strives to provide a syllabus stomping ground to the academic community with in‑depth and interactive resources relating to trends, best practices, accessibility, policy, solutions, and news in education. We are passionate about the dynamic role of the syllabus, and it’s time to build a knowledge base and community around it.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip