General Directories and LinksOpen Access JournalsSubscription Journals and PublicationsBooks on Teaching and Learning
OrganizationsConferencesListservs and Bulletin Boards
Instructional Materials and Teaching ModulesOnline Collections and Open Textbook ResourcesTeaching and Learning BlogsVideos, Webinars, Podcasts, and AppsVirtual Libraries
Access and Retention in Higher EducationActive-Learning and Project-Based LearningAdaptive LearningClassroom Response SystemsFaculty DevelopmentGlobal EducationHigher Education (Policy and Administration)Instructional DesignIntellectual Property and CopyrightNon-Cognitive Variables in LearningVendors of Emerging Technologies
Highlights of Great Resources Pages from TLCsDirectory of TLCs in United States by State (A-G)Directory of TLCs in United States by State (H-M)Directory of TLCs in United States by State (N-P)Directory of TLCs in United States by State (Q-Z)Teaching and Learning Centers in Canada
Intellectual Property (IP) Agreements at USM InstitutionsUSM Resource PagesUSM Teaching and Learning CentersInnovation at USM
Map of State Higher Education Systems
Structure of the LibGuideGuide to Editing the LibGuide: Logging InEditing the LibGuide: Editing Rich Text BoxesEditing the LibGuide: Editing Links and Lists BoxesAdding Books to a “Books from the Catalog” boxResizing Page ColumnsReordering/Moving PagesReordering Boxes Within and Between PagesAdding a PageReusing a PageAdding a Box to a PageUploading Images to the LibGuideEditing Page InformationEditing Box InformationChanging the LibGuide's Style
This is the "Grants and Funding Opportunities" page of the "Resources on Teaching and Learning in Higher Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Links to resources on teaching and learning in Higher Education, including journals, publications, conferences, directories, and links to other resource pages.
Last Updated: Jul 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ischoool.umd.edu/teachandlearn Print Guide RSS Updates

Grants and Funding Opportunities Print Page
  Search: 
 

Sources of funds

  • Alfred P. Sloan Foundation STEM Higher Education Grants
    The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation is unique among foundations in its focus on science and technology. We believe that the scholars and practitioners in scientific and technical fields are chief drivers of the nation's prosperity. Grants in the Science Education program area promote access to the scientific enterprise, provide information about scientific and technical careers, and encourage innovation to the structure of scientific training. The Foundation does not make grants to projects aimed at pre-college students.
  • APSA Funding
    APSA sponsors several programs to support individual research and training endeavors

    APSA also maintains lists of non-APSA sources of funding opportunites for study and research in political science and related disciplines. The links below reference programs that are NOT APSA programs.
  • Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation
    The Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation is committed to ensuring that all students have the opportunity to receive a high-quality education. We have two programs that work in concert toward this goal: College-Ready Education, which aims to ensure that all students graduate from high school prepared to succeed in college and in a career; and Postsecondary Success, whose goal is to dramatically increase the number of young people who obtain a postsecondary degree or certificate with labor-market value. Areas of intersection include practical approaches and policy strategies to better align K-12 standards—including the Common Core State Standards—with higher-education standards.
  • Enduring Questions Course Development Grants, National Endowment for the Humanities
    The NEH Enduring Questions grant program supports faculty members in the teaching and development of a new course that will foster intellectual community through the study of an enduring question. This question-driven course will encourage undergraduates and teachers to grapple with a fundamental concern of human life addressed by the humanities, and to join together in a deep and sustained program of reading in order to encounter influential thinkers over the centuries and into the present day.

    What is an enduring question? The following list is neither prescriptive nor exhaustive but serves to illustrate.

    What is good government?
    Can war be just?
    What is friendship?
    What is evil?
    Are there universals in human nature?
    What are the origins of the universe?
  • Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation-Higher Education Initiatives
  • Ford Foundation-Higher Education for Social Justice grants
    Despite some progress worldwide over the past few decades in making higher education more accessible, disparities persist in student access to and graduation from two- and four-year colleges and universities. These disparities limit the workforce opportunities, democratic participation and life chances of students from poor, marginalized backgrounds. Our work seeks to generate policy and institutional reforms that improve standards of teaching and learning and that remove the barriers to successful participation in higher education.
  • GetEdFunding
    GetEdFunding is a free and fresh grant finding resource, dedicated to helping educators and institutions identify the funding they need in budget-tight times. GetEdFunding hosts a collection of more than 1,500 grants and opportunities culled from federal, state, regional and community sources and is available to public and private, preK–12 schools, districts and educators, higher education institutions, and nonprofit organizations that work with them.
  • Henry Luce Foundation - Higher Education Grants
    The creation of new intellectual resources at colleges and universities is a central theme for much of the Luce Foundation’s work, most of which takes place through thematic programs (such as American art, East Asia, or Theology) or special initiatives. From to time to time, however, grants are also considered for projects that are in keeping with the Foundation’s purposes but fall outside the boundaries of its other activities.
  • Institute of Education Sciences Postsecondary and Adult Education Grant
    The Postsecondary and Adult Education topic supports research to improve the reading, writing, and numeracy skills of learners in adult education programs; the enhancement of targeted learning outcomes of postsecondary students; and the increase in access to, persistence in, and completion of postsecondary education. The long-term outcome of this research will be an array of tools and strategies (e.g., practices, assessments, programs, policies) that have been documented to be effective for improving education outcomes of adult learners (i.e., students at least 16 years old and outside of the K–12 system) and postsecondary students at the college level.
  • Institute of International Education
    A list of the current sponsors and partners.
  • Lumina Foundation
    Lumina Foundation believes that education provides the basis for individual opportunity, economic vitality and social stability. With its partners, Lumina strives to meet workforce demands and close gaps in attainment for groups not historically well-served by higher education. Lumina’s overarching goal is to increase the higher education attainment rate of the United States to 60 percent by 2025.This will represent an increase of 23 million graduates above current levels of production. While our mission focuses on both student access and success in higher education, our emphasis is on attainment, defined as completing post-secondary certificates, associate and baccalaureate degrees and credentials. - See more at: http://www.luminafoundation.org/grants.html#sthash.BgY39suo.dpuf
  • National Science Foundation Department of Research on Learning in Formal and Informal Settings
    DRL invests in projects to improve the effectiveness of STEM learning for people of all ages. Its mission includes promoting innovative research, development, and evaluation of learning and teaching across all STEM disciplines by advancing cutting-edge knowledge and practices in both formal and informal learning settings. Grant programs include:

    The Research and Evaluation on Education in Science and Engineering (REESE) program aims at advancing research at the frontiers of STEM learning, education, and evaluation, and at providing the foundation knowledge necessary to improve STEM teaching and learning at all educational levels and in all settings.

    The Informal Science Education (ISE) program builds on educational research and practice and seeks to increase interest in, engagement with, and understanding of STEM by individuals of all ages and background
  • National Science Foundation Division of Graduate Education
    The Division of Graduate Education (DGE), in collaboration with the Division of Research on Learning in Formal and Informal Settings (DRL) and the Division of Human Resource Development (HRD), in the Directorate for Education and Human Resources (EHR) calls your attention to an opportunity to request support for research projects focused on STEM graduate education and postdoctoral training. This opportunity is embedded in the Research and Evaluation on Education in Science and Engineering (REESE) Solicitation (NSF 12-552), the Alliances for Graduate Education and the Professoriate (AGEP) Solicitation (NSF 12-554), and Advancing Informal STEM Learning (AISL) Solicitation (NSF 12-560).
  • National Science Foundation Division of Undergraduate Education
  • NIFA/USDA Higher Education Challenge Grants
    Offered by the National Institute of Food and Agriculture of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Projects supported by the Higher Education Challenge Grants Program will: (1) address a State, regional, national, or international educational need; (2) involve a creative or non-traditional approach toward addressing that need that can serve as a model to others; (3) encourage and facilitate better working relationships in the university science and education community, as well as between universities and the private sector, to enhance program quality and supplement available resources; and (4) result in benefits that will likely transcend the project duration and USDA support.
  • Social Science Research Council Grants
    The SSRC pursues its mission by working with practitioners, policymakers, and academic researchers in the social sciences, related professions, and the humanities and natural sciences. With partners around the world, we build interdisciplinary and international networks, link research to practice and policy, strengthen individual and institutional capacities for learning, and enhance public access to information. We award fellowships and grants, convene workshops and conferences, conduct research and participate in research consortia, sponsor scholarly exchanges, and produce print and online publications.
  • The Dow Chemical Co.
    The Dow Chemical Co. supports many school districts/school boards and efforts in and around communities in which Dow is located with cash or product donations, research grants, in-kind services, or volunteered times. Dow prioritizes its areas for K-12 education funding to: math and science; teacher training; and parental involvement. Qualified K-12 programs, whether national, state or local, will benefit Dow communities and/or promote systemic education reform in math and science. Dow prefers to award grants to school systems, rather that individual schools.
  • The Goldman Sachs Foundation
    Grants given to support and promote the innovation and excellence in elementary, secondary and higher education worldwide. Funding priorities are determined by a periodic assessment of needs and opportunities in the field of education. Current priorities are to enhance academic performance and prospects for life achievement of students at the secondary school level, to develop the abilities of promising high potential youth, and to support high quality education for young people in business and entrepreneurship. In addition, the foundation supports successful efforts based in public and alternative school settings to enhance teacher training, improve school structure and operations, and advance school reform efforts. Given on a national basis; no grants are awarded to individuals.
  • The J. P. Morgan Chase Foundation Educational Grants
    Through grants and sponsorships, the Foundation enhances educational initiatives for public education, from early childhood programs to pre-collegiate schooling, that 1) Provide young people with financial literacy skills they need to succeed in work and in life; 2) Support child care and early childhood programs; 3) Support education initiatives designed to prepare students for and gain access to college; 4) Support professional development of teachers and staff; and 5) Engage students in the arts and/or technology. In addition, the Foundation promotes partnerships among schools, parents and community agencies in low-income areas designed to bring enhanced programming and services for young people, teachers and community residents alike to encourage community-based schools and bridge the digital divide. Giving is on a national basis in areas of company operations, with emphasis on AZ, CA, the tri-state CT, NJ, and NY area, DE, FL, IL, LA, MA, NY, OH and TX.
  • The John D. & Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation: Digital Media & Learning
    MacArthur is exploring how digital media are changing the way young people learn, play, socialize, and participate in civic life. The goal is to make education more powerful for all students by creating more opportunities for more youth to engage in learning that is relevant to their lives and prepares them for success in school, the workplace, and their community.
  • The NEA Foundation
    ption The NEA Foundation provides grants to improve the academic achievement of students in U.S. public schools and public higher education institutions in any subject area(s). The proposed work should engage students in critical thinking and problem solving that deepen their knowledge of standards-based subject matter. The work should also improve students' habits of inquiry, self-directed learning, and critical reflection. Proposals for work resulting in low-income and minority student success with honors, advanced placement, or other challenging curricula are particularly encouraged. Applicants must be practicing U.S. public school teachers in grades PreK–12, public school education support professionals, or faculty or staff at public higher education institutions.
  • The Spencer Foundation
    The Foundation's investigator-initiated research grants are organized under four areas of inquiry that identify broad topics we believe have fundamental and abiding importance for educational improvement.

    The Relation Between Education and Social Opportunity

    Organizational Learning in Schools, School Systems, and Higher Education Systems

    Teaching, Learning, and Instructional Resources

    Purposes and Values of Education
  • The Teagle Foundation Teaching and Learning Grants
    This program aims to improve student learning by stimulating fresh thinking about the goals of liberal education and generating practical knowledge and know-how that can be widely used in classrooms and on campuses. We encourage our Teaching and Learning work primarily through Requests for Proposals that:

    Encourage in-depth analysis of issues of high importance for liberal education, with the ultimate goal of improving and enlivening the educational experience of undergraduate students in the liberal arts;
    Expand the empirical base upon which the understanding of such issues depends;
    Develop collegial relationships and networks among participants from different institutions and / or among different constituencies on a single college campus;
    Produce work that can be circulated so that findings and results can be integrated into the practice of higher education.
  • Toyota USA Foundation
    The Foundation's partnerships with national nonprofit organizations include programs that address issues such as family literacy, K-12 education, technical and higher education, as well as environmental education. Some emphasis is placed on improving the teaching and learning of mathematics and science.
  • U.S. Department of Education
    Grants awarded to give selected State educational agencies (SEAs) and local educational agencies (LEAs) greater flexibility in the use of Federal funds to (1) improve and be accountable for the academic achievement of all students, especially disadvantaged students; (2) improve teacher quality and subject-matter mastery, especially in mathematics, reading, and science; (3) better empower parents, educators, administrators, and schools to address effectively the needs of their children and students; and (4) narrow achievement gaps between the lowest- and highest-achieving groups of students so that no child is left behind.
  • William T. Grant Foundation
    Since 1936, the William T. Grant Foundation has remained dedicated to understanding human behavior through research, the original goal of our founder, William Thomas Grant. We are—and always have been—deeply committed to supporting research that is practical and impactful. As a private grantmaking institution, the Foundation funds high-quality empirical research, with the ultimate aim of improving the lives of young people ages 5 to 25 in the United States. In 2013, we awarded more than $10 million in grants to researchers, policymakers, and practitioners invested in the future of U.S. youth.
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip